We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service”
Review of Lantern

Lantern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$57
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a great evening with the family at the Lantern we had booked and ordered our meals prior
to our arrival had a few drinks at the bar which can get a bit busy,when seated at the table the starters were served promptly with a nicely timed interval before main courses which were cooked to perfection.
The owners and staff do there very best to make your time there enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    35
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

we were in Hull for a bank holiday weekend. trying to find a restaurant open on a Monday bank holiday was a bit of a chore to be honest.
The decor is rather dated, however the food was fabulous even if every side order you want with your main course has to be paid for.
We couldn't fault any of it. Charming staff with time to chat and quality food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bomber127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and great service. truly fantastic”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Had another great meal in the Lantern after spending the day at the Hull Freedom festival. My wife had Avocado and prawns, with me having the superb garlic mushrooms with us both having probably the largest halibut we have ever eaten!

The food is authentic, great portions, cooked to perfection by the owner who knows his way around the kitchen. The serving staff continually ensure your food is to your satisfaction, topping up wine and water as if by ESP!

Some reviewers may wish for 'foam' and a 'tasting menu', but I cannot recall having found any other restaurant that continues to provide food of quality and quantity like this one.

It may not be chic but its friendly, comfortable and well priced. It is also immaculately clean.

Newcomers need to ask for advice and they will get it from Nikki who is incredibly friendly !

Will be back soon. 49 years young!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDLNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The service was excellent, within 10 minutes of arrival we had ordered our meal and was sat down tucking in to a very ample starter. The steaks were both cooked to perfection and the portion sizes were very good and was excellent value for money. Although their was an issue with the meal it was re-cooked within 10 minutes and the staff were more than apologetic. Overall the staff were very polite and welcoming, the service was brilliant, you won't find a better steak for miles.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great Steaks, Great Service & Well Worth The Money!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived without a reservation and was greeted to a busy, small bar where a few families were mingling together so we decided to stand at the bar as we were all men and although it was cramped we didn't really notice as we was always getting our beers topped whenever the emptied and was taken to our table in a rather short time, of course when there is 4 men to be catered for the orders going to be rather large but within been seated we was greeted with our starters! The Red Snapper looked absolutely great whilst I had the Spaghetti Bolognaise which was large enough to be served as a main was lovely and tasteful, rich and tomatoey! If you are to attend this place be aware it is only a small kitchen so waiting may be a issue if full but being aware of this I didnt even notice or check the time because our 4 Steaks ( 3porterhouse, 1 sirloin) was probally the best steak I have ever eaten, staff always checking our drinks and enquiring about sauces and everything ! It was Great Night ! And Credit to the Staff !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TB2917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lantern also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing