We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed a few times on Business, not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stayed a few times on Business, not value for money”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is an over priced Hotel. It is clean, the staff are awesome but it really is not worth the money.

I had to stay one night at the Holiday Inn Express for one night as I made a mistake with my booking and had free wi-fi and a good room for half the price. Moving down to the Marina the room was better, but not worth the cost the wi fi was charged for.

The breakfast was very good

I will not be staying there again as the rates are to high and charging wi fi is adding insult to injury.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina facing room. Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    326
    139
    58
    16
See reviews for
158
290
33
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over Christmas 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and accomodating, we were able to check in early, departure does not need to be before 12.00. The car park is large and free. The hotel sits in a perfect location on the marina and 5 minutes into Hull. I would recommend this hotel and Hull is a nice city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

When visiting our daughter in Hull, we usually stay at a hotel a couple of miles along the road, which although classed as a budget hotel, always offers stylish, comfortable and warm accommodation. Perhaps I was expecting more from the Holiday Inn, but this was not to be. On the day of our arrival, admittedly the weather had suddenly turned cold outside, but it was the end of November so not entirely unexpected. Our room was cold and unwelcoming on arrival. We managed to work out the heating controls and eventually the room warmed up. We then went down to the restaurant for dinner and were immediately hit by the cold. We noticed other people dining in fleeces and complaining about the temperature, so we were certainly not the only ones feeling the freeze. We had to go and get our coats and sit in the restaurant wearing them, and the food was not worth the chill or the price. The following morning we went down for breakfast and the plates for the hot buffet were cold. The hot food was cold by the time we got it back to our table, so we just decided that cold was obviously the theme of the weekend. Have to agree with other comments about the coffee (or lack of refills). We ate out on the Saturday and I have to say that by the Sunday things had vastly improved - the room was warm, the breakfast was hot and even the plates were warm! Maybe we just got there on the wrong day. On a positive note, the hotel was immaculately clean and the staff were all excellent - fortunately their welcome and enthusiasm was much warmer than the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanmac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitfis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Hull Marina,I am really concerned to read that your stay was not up to our normal high standard. Unfortunately we did have some problems with our heating systems over the period of your stay, which as you saw where fixed the following day. There can however be no excuse for cold plates, please be assured that this has been dealt with. We have also now changing how we do coffee on a weekend to ensure that there is always a plentiful supply in the restaurant. I have however noted your positive comments about the cleanliness of the Hotel and the the staff. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback, and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the holiday inn in HULL for 3nights this weekend and i expected just basic rooms ,food, attention etc...... so i was very happy to find we were in a very nice room with a very comfortable bed, we were given complimentary bottles of water/some chocolates each day , also as much tea/coffee as we wanted,only had to call front desk if we ran out , the view from our room was of the marina and was lovely ,,although we didnt have an evening meal in the restuarant we did have our lunch in the bar which was also very nice and not to expensive,, the breakfast was very good , great selection,, well worth what we paid for our stay,,

Room Tip: If you want a lovely view of the marina make sure you request it as some of the rooms also face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginasuckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitfis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Hull Marina, I am really pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night to meet up with family. What should have been a pleasant evening meal was spoilt by one of the meals being overcooked with no offer made to serve another dish as an alternative. This issue was resolved by the hotel management but annoyingly when checking out I had been charged £5 for parking when other family members were not charged at all. On querying this charge I was promised a refund but despite a follow up telephone call and e mail the promised refund has not materialised. While overall I was satisfied with the amenities provided by the hotel this lack of customer care has deterred me from staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbugs915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitfis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay here at the Hotel.I would like to offer my personal apologies for the level of service you received, this is totally unacceptable, and certainly is not our normal standard. I understand that our Rooms Division Manager has spoke to you and sorted the refund, and also a further gesture of goodwill.
Please be assured that corrective training has taken please with the individuals concerned. Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

After a long drive a cheery welcome and a quiet room, plus a cheerful barman. What more do you need? It is a small pain having to drive past the hotel to come back, but..everything went very well and the girls at the desk were very helpful with a small query I had. Only complaint- the coffee at breakfast - will call again when the weather warmer!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitfis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about the Hotel, I am pleased to read that you had a good welcome at the Hotel, I have also noted your comment about the breakfast coffee and will discuss this with the team. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back ( I note when the weather is warmer ) to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed for the fourth time for a few days at this hotel on a business trip. A very average room costs well over £100. OK - there are other benefits - like cheerful and helpful staff, a good bar and restaurant, pool and gym. However, I am appalled at the cost of wi-fi access (£16.50 per 24 hours or £5 per hour!). Interestingly, the Holiday Inn Express, in my view a comparable hotel in the city centre, makes no charge for internet usage. Nowadays, to charge for internet usage when one is already paying quite a whack for normal hotel facilities is reflective of a cheese-paring attitude by management, bordering on rip-off. I, and many other clients have complained about this on previous visits. When are they going to get the message? When we finally stop patronising this hotel? When they go out of business? Think about it, Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitfis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Hull Marina,I am pleased to read your comments about the staff and the facilities. I have noted our comments about the Internet and will forward these to the appropriate person. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,265 reviews
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hull Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Property: Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Address: Castle Street | North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel enjoys an excellent location close to East coast seaside resorts, and is an excellent base for visiting other major cities such as York, Leeds and also local attractions such as The Deep. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, our Executive Marina view rooms, which some boast balconies ideal for evening drinks. Facilities including 100 fully air conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people and a Spirit Heath and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel has 4 meeting rooms that will cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is available at the hotel. Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including The Deep, Beverley Race Course, Hull's Museums and the KC Stadium. This hotel is pet friendly, the kids eat free and is fully non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hull Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Hull Marina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing