We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located above average chain hotel (but maybe best not go in winter unless a well hard northerner)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
saarfen-d'on-sea
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Conveniently located above average chain hotel (but maybe best not go in winter unless a well hard northerner)”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel is ideally placed for visiting central Hull which is just 50 yards away on the other side of a busy through road. Not that road noise is noticeable, at least on the marina side of the hotel. Rooms are what you'd expect from a H.I.: clean, good size, comfortable beds, kettle with tea/coffee, reasonably updated bathrooms with individual toiletries, TV etc, oh and an empty minibar(!). There is adequate parking provision which is a chargeable extra on weekdays, and an on-site leisure centre which I didn't use. The dining room is south-facing overlooking the boats in the old dock and cheeringly bright and sunny (at least on the morning I stayed). Staff at reception and at breakfast were very attentive and helpful which was just as well since (a) each mug of breakfast coffee has to be requested, and (b) I needed an explanation as to why the bathroom heating was switched off in subzero January temperatures. The apologetic receptionist explained that H.I. elf'n saftee is concerned people can burn themselves on hot towel rails (but not apparently that they might freeze their nuts off). If I wanted to climb out of a hot bath into the freezing cold banya-style I'd probably go for the authentic experience somewhere closer to St Petersburg than Hull. Though to be fair I was offered an electric heater - er, for the bathroom!! no thanks.
Otherwise I really enjoyed my stay because of the good value, central location, room quality (though not the meat-safe bathroom), the staff, ambience, and breakfast too. In fact I have already booked a longer stay later this year, but his time it will be summer and I'll bring a warm robe just in case.
And please HIHM, if the tea-drinkers can get a pot for breakfast, how about a cafetiere or a coffee jug for us coffee fans? I'm not the first to comment on this.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are away from the road and overlook the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheepskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our hotel, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed many elements of your stay and that you are coming back to stay with us later this year.
I would like to apologise for your room being cold during your stay, we have, as our receptionist explained, turned off the towel rails in the bathrooms, but during your stay we unfortunately had performance issues with our main heating system due to the unusually cold weather. This is a problem we do not normally have an I apologise it affected your stay, I can assure you that all measures have been taken to ensure others don't encounter the same problem in the future.
With regards to your comment regarding coffee refills at breakfast, you are right you are not the first to bring this up on this website.I have tasked our newly appointed restaurant manager to ensure that this comment does not appear here in the future and I know that he is doing all he can to make sure that it doesn't.
Again, I would like to thank you for your feed back, we need our guests to let us know where we can improve our services to meet and exceed their expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    322
    139
    58
    16
See reviews for
155
286
32
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here on a business trip in January, the rooms are spacious, the staff are great and the facilities are spot on. We also loved the location, its near the shopping centre and city centre , well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We used the restuarant at the Marina Holiday Inn and evening meal. From the moment we arrive we were treated curtiously . Once seasted our server Mark arrived and carefully went through the menu using his obvios knowledge to inform us of the merits of each dish. We both decided on steak and were asked how we would like it to appear once cooked . He went on to describe varios options - the one we choose was no pink colour ,but still moist. Something I have not been help with before in any restuarant and I have dined in quite a few round the world. While we waited for our food to arrive Mark kept an eye on us and with his friendly banter kept us amuse and entertained. When the food arrived it was superb and just as Mark had advised. We had a really pleasant evening that was made even better by Mark. He is a real gem. Something the Marina Holiday Inn I hope treasures. If you like good food well prepared and delivered with style this is the place to come. I hope that you get Mark as your server!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

we decided to have lunch in a hotel in hull because my son was being conferred with a degree at hull university on friday the 27th of january. I booked a table in the restaurant for 12:30 on the friday. On arrival at 12:30 the the woman behind the bar asked us to sit in the lounge and we would be attended to.I went to the bar to get drinks but was told she was busy and would get our drinks as soon as possible. After half a hour the restaurant manager came to take our drinks order and direct us to our table.A painter had to move his dust sheets out of the way to allow us into the restaurant At 1:0 pm we were served with our drinks and later our order for our meal was taken. After a long delay the starter arrived with an apology for the delay. After another very long wait the main meal arrived with another apology for the delay. Finally the sweets arrived with more apologies from the staff.We would have liked coffee to finish the meal but thought the evening dinners might be coming into the restaurant before we had got our coffee. There was only one other table occupied in the whole of the restaurant so I can`t see that the staff had too many people to look after ?
To add insult to injury we were charged £9 service charge.
We left at 3:30 after the longest lunch I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your feed back regarding your lunch with us on 20/01/2012, I am very sorry that your experience was not up t our usual high standard. I have no excuse or reason why your lunch with us was so poor and I believe that the standard of service you have received to be unacceptable. I have fed back your comments to the restaurant manager and his team to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Again thank you fr your constructive feedback, it is only through our guest comments that we know when we are delivering the great service we aim to give. I hope that you will give us chance to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Hull in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights in January on a great deal booked directly with Holiday Inn.
Arrived late on a cold and windy night but got a warm welcome from the receptionist and where soon in our room which, as requested, overlooked the Marina. The booking staff obviously pay attention to small details as we'd mentioned when booking that our son was boat made... so in the room was a lovely personalised greeting letter and a gift of a handmade wooden model boat for him- just brilliant.

We didn't use the restaurant but the prices looked reasonable and if the food and service came close to the breakfast food and service you won't go far wrong.

The gym is fairly well equipped, if not overly large, and the swimming pool small but big enough for a splash around to start your day off. Again though, the friendly and helpful staff were a credit to the hotel.

Having only booked it as we wanted a cheap weekend away, and because a weekend in Hull sounded so daft to be honest, we ended up finding a gem of a hotel and a great little town too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is an over priced Hotel. It is clean, the staff are awesome but it really is not worth the money.

I had to stay one night at the Holiday Inn Express for one night as I made a mistake with my booking and had free wi-fi and a good room for half the price. Moving down to the Marina the room was better, but not worth the cost the wi fi was charged for.

The breakfast was very good

I will not be staying there again as the rates are to high and charging wi fi is adding insult to injury.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina facing room. Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over Christmas 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and accomodating, we were able to check in early, departure does not need to be before 12.00. The car park is large and free. The hotel sits in a perfect location on the marina and 5 minutes into Hull. I would recommend this hotel and Hull is a nice city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
648 reviews
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hull Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Property: Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Address: Castle Street | North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel enjoys an excellent location close to East coast seaside resorts, and is an excellent base for visiting other major cities such as York, Leeds and also local attractions such as The Deep. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, our Executive Marina view rooms, which some boast balconies ideal for evening drinks. Facilities including 100 fully air conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people and a Spirit Heath and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel has 4 meeting rooms that will cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is available at the hotel. Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including The Deep, Beverley Race Course, Hull's Museums and the KC Stadium. This hotel is pet friendly, the kids eat free and is fully non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hull Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Hull Marina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing