We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

A very good hotel with excellent friendly staff. The breakfast and buffet lunch provided was good again service excellent, friendly without being intrusive.

The room was fine, although the furniture was a little tired and the bed not the most comfortable.

Massively disappointed that a hotel is still charging for wi-fi and the extortionate rate of £5 per hour, simply ridiculous when 95% of hotels provide it free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garytw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read that you had a good stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and i am pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast.

We have just had 76 bedrooms refurbished but we are still continuing to complete all of the remaining rooms, I am sorry your stay was not in a newly refurbished room so please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Also our high speed WiFi is charged at £16 for 24 hours, and shorter packages are available, we would also like to inform you that we now do offer free WiFi to our IHG Reward Gold & Platinum members and from July 1st 2014 free WiFi will be inclusive to all members of our free to join IHG Rewards Club. So we hope this will help you in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future, and thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    302
    131
    56
    14
See reviews for
147
266
31
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is living in the dark ages, £5.00 per hour for wifi, with no 24 hour rate. Room was shabby, toilet roll holder kept falling off. Door did not shut correctly, and only 5 channels on free tv. Would not recommend this hotel in any way.

Room Tip: At least get one that looks over the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay or like your room, we have corrected the 2 small maintenance issues you notified us of & checked the TV to have all free-view chanels working & avaliable. Also our high speed WiFi is charged at £16 for 24 hours, and shorter packages are available, we would also like to inform you that we now do offer free WiFi to our IHG Reward Gold & Platinum members and from July 1st 2014 free WiFi will be inclusive to all members of our free to join IHG Rewards Club, so we hope this will help you in the future.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us at The Holiday Inn Hull Marina again soon.

Thank you once again for your review
With Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I recently held a conference at the Hotel and had the pleasure to deal with the lovely Laurren. From the first phone call to final email she was a joy to work with.

Laurren ensured the conference porter was on hand throughout the day and that he assisted to our every need. The day ran to perfection thanks to this lady.

The meeting room was very pleasant and just what we were looking for. WiFi is a bit fiddly but once you get used to it iys fine. Food from the Restaurant on the day was sublime, so much choice and variety a definite improvement on my previous visits and great views of the boats.

My team stayed the night before and had some re decorated rooms. They smell of paint but the rooms are very good, the the addition of more plug sockets went down a storm.

I will hopefully be working in Yorkshire again and will definitely come back to the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bd1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent conference you held here at The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.
I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel & thank you for your comments, we do always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs, so I am pleased you found our staff very friendly & helpful especially Laurren who you personally mentioned, this has been communicated back to her with sincere thanks.
I am also very delighted to read you enjoyed your food & found there to be a great choice with our new 'food for thought' menus within our meetings packages, and also your delegates had a nice comfortable nights sleep & liked our newly refurbished bedrooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future, so please do let us know if we can help organise anything for you in the future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina
With Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, exiled Welshman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just had a weekend away at Hull with a coach company. Stayed at the hotel and it was excellent and the best hotel Ive stayed at with National Holidays. The room was big, decor excellent, clean and soundproof. The staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent, l had a portion of gnochi with a main course evening meal and it was very good. Breakfast first class to. (I had not been to Hull since l spent the first year of my life there )

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms, as they have a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel, it really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and I am glad that you liked your room, enjoyed your meals & breakfast and also found our staff to be very friendly & helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future, and do hope you don't leave it as long to your return to Hull next time

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina
With Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We recently got married here on the 8th February and I cannot praise the Holiday Inn highly enough for everything that they did to make our day perfect. Ashleigh the wedding coordinator was extremely good from start to finish and even though it felt like I emailed her about 500 times with questions, nothing was ever too much trouble for her. The hotel itself is very clean, really comfortable and the views from the restaurant overlooking the marina where we had our wedding reception were beautiful. The Myton Suite is perhaps looking a bit tired but considering we only had the ceremony in that room it really didn't matter. The food was superb, and the breakfast on the morning of the wedding and the day after was particularly good. The day ran absolutely perfectly, nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff, our executive room where we stayed the night of the wedding and the night before was spotlessly clean and really comfortable, and I have recommended this hotel many times since - thank you so much for giving us such a fantastic day - all of our guests commented it's one of the best weddings they've ever been to xx

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather7191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel whilst holding your wedding here. We are so very pleased your special day was perfect as we pride ourselves on the service we offer to weddings and we have many happy Brides & Grooms, so to hear your day was made so special is fantastic news to us. Your comments have been passed onto the staff especially Ashleigh who you personally mentioned, and CONGRATULATIONS again on becoming Mr & Mrs we wish you all the happiness for the future.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future, so please do let us know if we can be of an assistance to you.

Thank You for Choosing the Holiday Inn Hull Marina
With Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Having just had a weekend at the Holiday Inn at Hull Marina I feel I must comment on the excellence and friendliness of the staff. The receptionists, the bar staff, the restaurant staff were all helpful and could not do enough for us without being overbearing, it made our stay very pleasant. We had a large room overlooking the Marina(room 101) with all the facilities you would need. The food we were served in the restaurant was well cooked well served and tasty. The next time I am in Hull this will be the Hotel i will be staying. Proper customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments with reference to our staff, we pride ourselves on the service we offer to our guests & always put our guests needs first, so I am very happy to hear these comments & that you enjoyed your meals & room whilst staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina
With Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I would like to start by expressing my sincere thanks to the staff for their diligence and professionalism, I recently had my wedding at this hotel and throughout every step of the process, From the initial meeting to the follow up call afterwards the staff went above and beyond what I would have expected from a chain hotel. The wedding team in particular deserve a special thank you, every request or issue was dealt with promptly and with the up most professionalism.
The food served at the wedding reception was exceptional! We had family staying at the venue before and after the wedding, they had said that throughout their stay the food was impeccable.
We were given a complementary room as part of the wedding package which was very comfortable, clean and kept to a very high standard with a stunning view of the marina.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparky8sqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel. We pride ourselves on the service we offer to weddings and have many happy Brides & Grooms so I am delighted to read your special day was delivered perfectly for you with the highest of professionalism, and all of your guests had a fantastic day including the ones who stayed with us before the big day. I will personally pass your comments on to our staff and the wedding team so thank you once again and CONGRATULATIONS to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future and please do let us know if you would like to return on your anniversary we would be happy to help with any special requests you may have.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina
With Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hull Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Property: Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Address: Castle Street | North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel enjoys an excellent location close to East coast seaside resorts, and is an excellent base for visiting other major cities such as York, Leeds and also local attractions such as The Deep. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, our Executive Marina view rooms, which some boast balconies ideal for evening drinks. Facilities including 100 fully air conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people and a Spirit Heath and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel has 4 meeting rooms that will cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is available at the hotel. Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including The Deep, Beverley Race Course, Hull's Museums and the KC Stadium. This hotel is pet friendly, the kids eat free and is fully non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hull Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Hull Marina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing