We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a business overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“More than just a business overnighter”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This relatively small hotel delivers very good service - friendly and helpful staff, quiet top floor with spacious rooms overlooking the yacht Marina (although the interlinking door toa neighbour room allowed too much tv noise through). Usual facilities, and a decent breakfast. Evening meal in restaurant rather limited in choice and taste. I didn't try the spa. There appeared to be a charge for wi-fi, but on request this was available free - reception said they were in process of changing over. Not too soon.You have to cross an extremely busy dual carriageway to walk into the centre (10 mins).

Room Tip: Go for top floor and ask for a quiet room without an interlinking door which, even when shut, allows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments with reference to our staff, we pride ourselves on the service we offer to our guests & always put our guest’s needs first.

We now also offer free WiFi to our IHG Reward members so please speak to reception who can join you as a member to receive this instantly in the future.

We appreciate all feedback from our guest’s, I will pass on your comments regarding the interlinking neighbours door to the relevant department for any possible solution.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    320
    138
    58
    16
See reviews for
152
282
32
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Bartolomeu de Messines, Portugal
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good Business friendly hotel right on the Marina
Room was quite large with a small balcony overlooking the marina.
Did not eat dinner at the hotel but breakfast was fine and the staff all very helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBridgend_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you also for your kind comments with reference to our staff, we pride ourselves on the service we offer to our guests & always put our guest’s needs first.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I chose the Holiday inn for a weekend visit to see family because it was only slightly more expensive than my usual choice of the Premier Inn at Kingswood, it also included breakfast for both of us for both days. Firstly the staff were uniformly exellent. Helpful and friendly at every point of contact. So why is this not a glowing review? Well a couple of constructive criticisms, the hotel is looking a bit dated and needs a refurb, especially the rooms. Its by no means bad but is a bit dated with the bathroom especially needing an update. Secondly we arrived late and just wanted to relax and have a couple of drinks before bed, there was a wedding reception on in the restaurant and it was very noisy and busy with only two bar staff serving drinks. I have no objection to a wedding reception but they could have a dedicated room and bar or a smaller and seperate lounge for regular guests. On the plus side the location is great and the breakfast very good value for money. So all in all not bad at all in the value department, i would have expected a bit better from the Holiday Inn brand though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

I appreciate your kind comments with reference to our staff, we pride ourselves on the service we offer to our guests, and I will ensure these comments get passed on to them.

We always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs, so please except my apologies for any inconvenience caused, I will pass on your comments to the relevant departments as all feedback is welcome.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night visiting our grandchildren,had a lovely room which looked newly decorated over looking the Marina
Would like say a big thank you to Sarah in the restaurant, as my husband was not well and she made him a hot toddy of lemon and honey and gave him some to bring home.
We will be returning in August for 2 nights

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank logburnerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel, especially Sarah who you personally mentioned . We are glad we could go that extra mile to make your husband feel better.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in August.

Thank You for Choosing the Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Kind regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in an executive room for three nights and generally impressed with the room and the breakfast. Nice touches included fantastic reception staff, free car parking, Starbucks coffee at breakfast and complimentary cadburys chocolate and water in the fridge in the room.

The only downside was that our evening was spoiled by a wedding party - they had apparently not paid for exclusive use of the bar but some of their family took it upon themselves to evict us. The hotel tried, but didn't really have anywhere to send us except a soulless unmanned room.

However, the hotel were sympathetic and the reception staff couldn't have been anymore understanding and we were offered a free future stay.

One more tip for the hotel - you need to remind your contractors that they are working in a hotel. Before 9am on Sunday morning we were woken by two young male contractors working in a neighbouring room, one of whom was doing an impression up and down the corridor of how he had to run away from someone despite the fact that his pants were round his ankles. I wouldn't have been impressed by this display at the best of times - but waking my whole family up early when they were supposed to be catching up on sleep from the night before was more than just a little bit annoying. You would have thought it would of been obvious that people may be sleeping in a hotel - but clearly not!!

Ultimately a very good hotel indeed, but let down by other people.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank katelouise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear katelouise_11,

Thank you for your review. Firstly it was great to read that you were impressed with your stay and that you enjoyed your executive room.

I was sorry to hear that your visit was affected by the wedding in the hotel and I apologise for the inconvenience. However I was pleased to read that your problem was dealt with by our staff.

I was also sorry to hear that you were disturbed by our contractors. I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have spoken with the relevant management and this is being investigated.

I hope that your experience does not affect your overall impression of the hotel and hope to welcome you back to Hull soon.

Kind regards,

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant with friends, on a Groupon deal. We were shown to a table overlooking the marina. All four of us enjoyed the dishes we chose, and the house wine.What impressed us most about our visit we're all the staff we encountered . They were welcoming,friendly,attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal here with us and thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.


Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Approaching the Hull Holiday Inn from the west can be a bit frustrating: it appears on the wrong side of the dualled A63 and you wonder how you are going to get there. Carry on to the next roundabout, return down the other carriageway and you are soon there with easy access into the convenient and ample parking. Check in was polite, friendly and quick (as was the check out the next day).

We opted for a ‘Double Marina View Non Smoking’ room at £110.50, including parking and breakfast. The room with view carries a premium of about 16% over a standard room, which we thought was worthwhile and good value overall. The room itself was spacious and light, with a large double bed, comfortable sofa, practical desk and chair and well-appointed bath/shower/loo. Kettles, cups, tea, coffee etc. were provided – but no biscuits (management please note). The room was clean and well presented.

We didn’t have a main meal in the restaurant, but the breakfast was very adequate and up to what one expects of main chain hotels. There were brownie points for: a nice marina side location; the friendly staff identifying guests by name, not just a room number; and the option of freshly cooked eggs in addition to what was on the hot buffet.

A pleasant place to stay handy for a stroll around the marina; and nip across that dual carriageway and you are in the centre of Hull, which is gearing itself up for the City of Culture in 2017.

Room Tip: Worth opting for a Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Brian_Human,

I would like to thank you for your comprehensive review of the hotel. I am sorry you had trouble finding the hotel and thank you for your directions. The hotel also has a rear entrance located on commercial road.

It was great to read that you liked your upgraded marina view room. And it was great to hear you liked the extra touches we provide at breakfast.

I hope you choose to visit the hotel again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hull Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Property: Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Address: Castle Street | North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel enjoys an excellent location close to East coast seaside resorts, and is an excellent base for visiting other major cities such as York, Leeds and also local attractions such as The Deep. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, our Executive Marina view rooms, which some boast balconies ideal for evening drinks. Facilities including 100 fully air conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people and a Spirit Heath and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel has 4 meeting rooms that will cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is available at the hotel. Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including The Deep, Beverley Race Course, Hull's Museums and the KC Stadium. This hotel is pet friendly, the kids eat free and is fully non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hull Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Hull Marina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing