We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay before visit to The Deep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We booked this as it was part of a deal we had with the Deep. It was excellent value of money. The room was enormous with fantastic views of the marina which was very picturesque. The heat/cool of the room was fine, no problems, plenty of hot water and good bathroom facilities.

The kids used the pool which had some swimming lessons going on for about half an hour of their swim but to be fair the lesson didn't affect the kids enjoyment and they didn't stop my kids going in the pool because of the lesson.

We didn't eat in the hotel save for breakfast which was excellent, fresh and plentiful. The kids loved the pancake machine.

The staff were very accommodating and sang happy birthday to my son at breakfast. the reception staff were great and helped me out with an item I had forgotten to bring without any questions.

I would recommend the HI Hull Marina for anyone staying in the area, great location, easy to find and exceptionally good quality at a great price.

Well done to all staff, keep up the good work

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vikspool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Vikspool,

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs, so I am pleased you found our staff very friendly & helpful.

I'm also glad to hear you were able to use our outstanding facilities, and your children as many do had fun using the pancake machine.

Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel, it is really appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.


Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

If you're looking for city centre hotel in Hull which somehow avoids the problems you associate with city centre hotels - such late night noise and traffic - then look no further. This hotel is ideally located just a few minutes walk from the city centre, right next to the marina - and many rooms have a superb view of the water and boats. If you book in advance - as we did - it's also excellent value, and cheaper than other similar hotels nearby.

The facilities are good - the gym is well-equipped and the pool and sauna are more than adequate. The bar is a little pricey, but the restaurant itself services decent grub. The rooms are furnished to the standard you'd expect, and are clean, light and of a decent size.

I must also single out the staff for praise as they were friendly, considerate and professional at all times. We stayed over a weekend when a wedding was taking place in the hotel, and the staff made sure that all the non-wedding guests had rooms as far away as possible from the function rooms and the rooms of wedding guests - to limit any disruption. In the end it was a well-behaved wedding, but we really appreciated the thought.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DavidMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear David Moose,

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments with reference to our staff, we pride ourselves on the service we offer to our guests & always put our guest’s needs first.

It really matters to us that all our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and I am glad to hear that your room, our fantastic location and facilities met your expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel, it is really appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.


Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at this Holiday Inn while on business in Hull over a weekend
This hotel is well located in marina/docklands part of Hull, close to the main town and near to the pubs and restaurants located in the marina itself.

While not being overly familiar with the Holiday Inn offering this hotel came across as very good, with a number of strengths to put it out at the front of Hulls meagre hotel offering:
Location is very good, quiet and close to town. Also not too far from the main railway station, I walked
A very spacious hotel with good public areas, restaurant and bar
Easy and secure parking
Total hotel wireless (although you must register with IHG (Intercontinental) Group to get access, small palaver)
Has a well equipped gym and small pool on site. Stretching area very limited.
Modern and upto date rooms
Lovely breakfast area, with top breakfast offering to match, loved the Pan Cake machine☺Breakfast also available outside on the marina if weather permitting

Very few grips with this place..
No specialist teas at Breakfast, seemed to be builders tea or nothing
Lifts can be very busy, would makes sense to label the stairs clearly so people on 1st and 2nd floor might use the stairs instead, and ease congestion
Bar - would be good to have some guest local ales on tap

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toolbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and I am glad that you liked your room, our fantastic location and enjoyed your breakfast.

All feedback is appreciated; I will pass on your comments to the relevant departments as this will enable us to better our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.


Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hull is a little gem for a short break. I would never have guessed it had so much to offer. We checked into the Holiday inn with a room overlooking the marina. When the sun shone over the water and some very desirable boats it looked like thesouth of France!
The service was first class and after a swim we had a few drinks inthe bar (not cheap) and then out for lunch. We took advice and made our way to the Minerva pub. The food was delicious and very reasonable. We went onto visit all kinds of free museums and attractions as listed at the touris information centre. Our party of four spent the night at a bozzer called the Bonny Boat. Very friendly with a great atmosphere (from what I can remember)
The following day we made our way to The Deep, the queues were so long we hopped on a Noddy Train for a tour of the attractions. This was the highlight of the weekend. Mel the tour guide, comedian, historian, singer and dancer kept us amused and enthralled for well over 40 minutes, all for £3.00 each.
In conclusion, went to Hull, was: well fed, well "watered" educated, amused, entertained and looking forward to doing the same next year.

Room Tip: Request a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments with reference to our staff, we pride ourselves on the service we offer to our guests & always put our guest’s needs first.

We are glad we were able to make your visit one to remember.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.


Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had our wedding reception here on Saturday 23.8.14 and what can I say everything was amazing, The staff where so friendly and helpful in every way they couldn't have done enough for us everyone who attended the wedding commented on how organised it was.. We also stayed over the night and have to say it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in the rooms where so comfortable and clean and the breakfast the following morning was excellent.. We didn't want our day to end would highly recommend this hotel to others.. Would like to say a massive Thank you to all the staff in particular Ashleigh and Andrew who took care of us on our special day

Room Tip: I would recommend any of the rooms as also family and friends stayed other and all commented on ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel whilst holding your wedding here.

We are so very pleased your special day was perfect as we pride ourselves on the service we offer to weddings and we have many happy Brides & Grooms, so to hear your day was made so special is fantastic news to us.

Your comments have been passed onto the staff especially Ashleigh and Andrew who you personally mentioned, and CONGRATULATIONS again on becoming Mr & Mrs we wish you all the happiness for the future.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future, so please do let us know if we can be of an assistance to you.

Thank You for Choosing the Holiday Inn Hull Marina


Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Try and get a room overlooking the marina, but if not, the bar and outdoor seating do, and it's gorgeous.
About 10 minutes' walk from The Deep across a loch and then along the sea wall. We went to the Deep for an evening meal (dining with sharks), but you have to book ahead.
We didn't eat there as breakfast is about £15 each. there are places nearby to eat. About 5 minute's drive on the A63 out of town gets you to St Andrew's Quay retail park. There you'll find a MacDonalds and next to the estuary is a Frankie and Bennys (£5 breakfast).
The hotel is nice, as is the pool and gym. Clean and well-furbished. My room was quite big with a double bed, settee, and a separate dressing area. Two friends stayed in an accessible room which was really long and a massive bathroom - plenty of room for the wheelchair to get around. they also had a balcony, but it was tiny, and no furniture out there. it did overlook the marina though.
I was concerned that my friend in a wheelchair was booked into a room on the first floor and the Reception staff didn't inform her of the evacuation process. We had to ask later. We were told we'd have to wait in the refuge area, but no further details given. A big safety risk if people don't know what to do.
When we went to bed, I could make out which songs were being played in the function room, I rang Reception and they said they'd have a word with the DJ. Amazingly the volume dropped within a few minutes. My friends were in the room above the main door to the outdoor seating area (and popular smoker's area). As there was a function on, they could hear the door banging at regular intervals and people talking loudly til late.
Staff were helpful and really friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hondabird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs, so I am pleased you found our staff very friendly & helpful. I am also pleased to hear we rectified the noise levels to your satisfaction; we aim to keep our non-wedding guests just as happy as those attending the weddings here.

I will pass on your comments regarding the evacuation procedure for wheelchair users to the relevant departments for review; we appreciate all feedback as it enables us to better our standards we offer our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.


Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in two rooms over a week or so in June when in Hull due to a family illness. The rooms were both roomy and clean. I have stayed here twice before for overnight trips. The bathroom is well provisioned and the towels are nice and fluffy.

The location at the Marina is pleasant. I still can't get over how nice an area it is to explore.

The breakfast is a buffet style but is well laid out and so avoids the scrum of some buffets. There is even a pancake machine which is definitely worth a try. We ate our breakfast outside most mornings which meant we could have the dog with us. A couple of the waiting staff got used to us and headed out with water for the dog and to serve us straight away. A good sign. They also told us that we could eat inside with the dog if we wanted.

Room service was good and delivered on time. Getting through to them via the telephone system was a bit of a challenge. This happened to me on a previous trip as well. So we called reception and got them to connect us.

We didn't use the leisure facilities during this stay. But I have on my previous two visits and have found the pool to be quiet as long as you avoid the time of the swimming lessons. The sauna is a great treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JaneInBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear JaneInBrighton,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs and aim high to deliver a great guest experience so I am pleased you found our staff very friendly & helpful, this has been communicated back to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Kind regards

Sarah Whitfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#10 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,361 reviews
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hull Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Address: Castle Street | North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £58 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel enjoys an excellent location close to East coast seaside resorts, and is an excellent base for visiting other major cities such as York, Leeds and also local attractions such as The Deep. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, our Executive Marina view rooms, which some boast balconies ideal for evening drinks. Facilities including 100 fully air conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people and a Spirit Heath and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel has 4 meeting rooms that will cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is available at the hotel. Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including The Deep, Beverley Race Course, Hull's Museums and the KC Stadium. This hotel is pet friendly, the kids eat free and is fully non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hull Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Hull Marina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing