We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

The hotel is overlooking the marina & a short walk into town, across a busy road, which I couldn't hear any traffic noise from my room. Pleasant stay, staff very friendly especially at breakfast when Maureen was very helpful. Didn't like the very dusty wall behind the bed & the springs which could be felt through the bed, but otherwise the room was good for an overnight stay. The staff were friendly from reception, housekeeping & breakfast staff. Breakfast was buffet style & reasonable quality with all you could ask for, The toaster only toasted one side but this was not a real problem, more of a talking point!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furyyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    302
    131
    56
    14
See reviews for
147
266
31
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Very un-friendly for families who dare to have more than one child!
I would review the hotel in full but I have just tried for the third time in 2 years to book a room with Holiday Inn (InterContinentalGroup) to be told our family is just too large. My wife and I have two boys (6and 3) and a baby under one. We have said that we'd bring our own cot, the boys could "top to tail" if the sofa bed in the family rooms are just single and offered to upgrade. All our offers and please for help as a family of five from ICG are flatly rebuffed with the offer of 2 non connecting rooms and no advice as to why my wife and I should want to spend the weekend appart from each other. A very poor show indeed Holiday Inn, 0 out of 5 for families. Travelogde here we come (highly reccomended for families)!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

I booked a night in a Marina-facing room for an overnight stay arriving on a Sunday.
Things did not get off a good start. Checking in at 6:30 pm, we were told that the room was still being serviced. Since check-in time is 2pm this is really not to be expected. To be fair, we were kept waiting less than 10 minutes, but having had a long and tiring day, all we really wanted to do was get to the room, shower and relax, sitting in the reception or bar area is hardly the same. There is an offer which allows Sunday guests to extend to 4pm and take Sunday lunch for £20 per couple and whilst this is good for those who want to take advantage, housekeeping seems to be struggling to get rooms ready for guests arriving on Sunday afternoon/evening.
Having got over that glitch, check-in was efficient. The room was standard for Holiday Inn - all the basics were there, it was a good size, clean and in good order and the bed comfortable. We had a nice view over the Marina – which was definitely worth the small supplement - although the weather perhaps didn’t show it at its best.
We booked dinner in the restaurant. There is a good menu priced at £20 for three courses. Each course was well presented with well-cooked and good quality food. The service was attentive and with a smile. The restaurant is light and airy with tables looking out along the marina.
Breakfast the next morning was the usual buffet. Although the hotel was busy, there were plenty of tables, and vacated tables were being quickly cleared and re-laid. The staff seemed to be on top of replenishing items and there were no “gaps” on the buffet and also the hot food felt fresh and had not been standing for a while.
From the bar area you can get out on the marina which is excellent for a stroll to digest breakfast; it’s a pity there no coffee shop or similar on the marina and the hotel is the only source of food without walking into the town.
There’s a big car park which felt secure.
All in all, this was an excellent overnight stay and we would definitely return if we needed to stay in Hull again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

have just got back from a weekend break at this lovely hotel.couldnt have asked for a better located hotel for all the attractions in Hull,minutes from shops,the deep,museums and marina on its doorstep.The staff must be the friendliest we have ever encountered nothing was too much trouble and they even seem to "enjoy" their jobs everyone has a smiling face.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bev-geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Spent 3 nights here on business trip. An okay hotel.

I liked the view, and the room was very comfortable.

Given it was winter, I was planning on having some quiet nights in after work, and catching up on some movies - but the in-house movie system didn't work the entire time I was there (and the staff didn't seem overly concerned about this)

Restaurant is very depressing. Few windows and dimly lit. Breakfast made me feel like it was 1978. Business centre and internet access was lame.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Riding, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

This is a friendly hotel which clearly tries to offer value for money. Its situation at the side of the Marina but within a short distance of the (largely pedestrianised) city centre is just about ideal. Those rooms facing the water have a good view of the many boats with, in the distance, one of Hull's major attractions, The Deep. The place is very clean and the breakfast offering good. The main car park is guarded by rising steel barriers and is approached by a roundabout on the A63. Follow your satnav very carefully !
The hotel, like Hull itself, is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

stayed here for 2 nights on the stay 2 nights for £104 with breakfast both mornings and dinner the first evening. we took my parents with us. we choose this hotel as a base, we had evening meal the first night at the hotel it was ok, it included 3 courses and we paid the extra for the bottles of wine, the room we ate in wasnt the main dining room because there was a wedding on,had a drink in bar area after very nice with loverly view. bedrooms quite nice also with good view of the marina. breakfast the following morning very good help yourself buffet style.afer our day out ate our evening meal in the bar area from the bar menu very good food (prefered it to the resteraunt menu)
the swimming pool is very good quite warm towels provided.
the area outside the hotel is loverly. the marina makes aloverly walk down to the sea front (the humber) its all been done up with decking areas mini piers and sitting areas the flowers ,
across the road from the hotel is the princess quay shopping centre with all your usual shops but very nice. hull looks as though it is being done up with lots of money being spent on it.
while we were there we had a day in briglington (very nice about 1 hour away)and on our way home we drove across the humber bridge and went to cleethopes which i have been to many times before but this time it looked very posh along the sea front .
i would recommend this hotel, the staff and the outlook from hotel we will go back next time theres a good offer on because there are so many things we still havent seen in that area, hotel ideal if your doing p&o boat across to holland.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hull Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Property: Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Address: Castle Street | North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel enjoys an excellent location close to East coast seaside resorts, and is an excellent base for visiting other major cities such as York, Leeds and also local attractions such as The Deep. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, our Executive Marina view rooms, which some boast balconies ideal for evening drinks. Facilities including 100 fully air conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people and a Spirit Heath and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel has 4 meeting rooms that will cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is available at the hotel. Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including The Deep, Beverley Race Course, Hull's Museums and the KC Stadium. This hotel is pet friendly, the kids eat free and is fully non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hull Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Hull Marina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing