We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello and goodbye.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearson Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingston-upon-Hull
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pearson Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hello and goodbye.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

About 20 of us booked here for a University Reunion mainly on the promise made to me in February that the bar would remain open as long as we wanted. It didn't. I'm fairly sure that the amount of money we'd have spent over the two nights would have meant a healthy profit for the hotel.

Room Tip: Get one that gets serviced as clean towels are nice and a working cistern that refills in less than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    13
    14
    10
See reviews for
11
20
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked a double room online, the day we were intending to stay. I rang to check our confirmation at tea-time and the staff were happy to accommodate our late arrival (22:30).

At £49 for the room including B&B it was a reasonably priced to book via the web, prices quoted in the hotel were £10-15 higher per room, although the website does say from £49.

The hotel is situated at the North East end of Pearson Park in Hull. This is close to both Beverley Road (a main road into the city), "The Avenues" a conservation area with lots of Victorian style houses and Princes Avenue with an eclectic mix of bars and restaurants.

We were visiting friends and know the area well, but the hotel and Pearson Park itself are not the easiest to gain access to by car if you don't know the route. Parking outside the hotel is plentiful, with both a car park and on-street parking.

Our room (number 19) overlooked the park and was large and clean with an en-suite with a bath with a shower over. All the regular amenities were provided - hair dryer, kettle etc, although we did have to hunt for a bath towel and found one in the wardrobe!

We couldn't fault the place for being clean and tidy, with the guy in charge being welcoming and friendly. Other staff were a little tardy when it came to service e.g. there was no hint of a smile and no ice at the bar, although the bar still looked interestingly busy at 23:00 for a hotel away from the city centre.

The breakfast was decent, with a choice of cereals, toast and a Full English. There were a variety of herbal teas, jams, marmalades and instant coffee.

The decor does seem a little dated, especially the taxidermy animals, patterned carpets and mahogany woodwork. The card machine was out of action also - we just paid in cash.

Overall, when compared to similar priced hotels, it is a good option, especially if you want breakfast included and to be nearer to the University rather than the city centre. I would look at this as an option again, for ease of booking, basic comforts, cleanliness and its location.

Just note this hotel is not what I would class as a romantic get away ... especially as it clearly attracts contract workers (builders in white vans) who chat loudly over mobile phones next to you at breakfast! Although we traveled as a couple I have ticked family as this would be more appropriate. Rooms would easily accommodate a travel cot or additional bed, and it looks like there are also bedrooms on the ground floor. The park is great for kids with a play area, duck pond and plenty of space for picnics.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

No major complaints, fairly priced accommodation with large rooms and comfortable beds. Staff on the whole friendly. Two complaints though, shower was just a trickle of water, and one night returned around 11.30 to find staff drinking at the bar, when we requested a drink were told the bar was closed and it was a staff only drink ! Mmm...thought the rule was that hotel guests could drink in the bar ...a bit off putting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Had just one night here after a 450 mile round trip from lancashire to somerset and back up to Hull. I was very glad to arrive and found the hotel nicely situated facing a large public park.

On the plus side, the staff were great...very friendly and made me feel at home. I was in room 16 which had ample room and a comfy bed. Very clean too.

Less good was the internet, as i couldnt connect in the room and got an intermittent signal in the bar area.

The bar area was nice, fairly quiet, but it served a nice pint of Marstons EPA.

The evening meal option was the major let down. Only 3 choices of starter, mains, pudding which you might find a bit limiting if staying for a few nights. I opted for the scampi and chips which was a little overpriced at £8.95 for a few scampi pieces and some frozen chips ( plus a bit of side salad) Sadly the chips and the scampi smelt strongly of old cooking oil. Not the most appetizing thing.

I opted for just a simple sausage butty for breakfast, this was ok though

The hotel has some parking on site, and due to the reasonable cost is popular with contractors. As i understand it, the owners are in the process of updating, etc. Hopefully the food situation will improve soon, as this hotel / pub has bags of potential.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
policebooks, Manager at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Many thanks for a fair review.
The evening meals are merely bar meals and don't pretend to be any other. We usually give a "greedy mans portion" and apologise if yours wasn't. Our cooking oil is changed very often so I am not happy with what you experienced and will make further enquiries. Thank you again.
Mr Calligan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night. Room was big with a 4 poster bed and sofa bed. Large enough for 2 adults, 1 teenager and a dog.
Good location as opposite a lovely park and close to restaurants and shops.
Staff friendly and effecient, nothing seems like too much trouble.
Breakfast was very good and served very quickly.
Will stay here again as daughter has just moved in nearby.
Only downside was that the hotel had no record of original booking and had to be rebooked when our daughter popped in check our booking. This presented no problem in the end.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphirecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
policebooks, Owner at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Apologies re the booking, but some of the large booking companies have been having trouble with their fax notification, esp Laterooms. We can usually accommodate guests at the last minute so all was well, as you say.
We are pleased you enjoyed the spacious room as most of our rooms are large and all on suite. We hope to see you again.
Thank you for the review.
Mr Calligan - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Booked to stay one eve, met by friendly staff family run hotel. Located opposite a lovely park. Our room was large with a four poster bed, sofa and a lovely large window overlooking the park. If you walk across the park you are on a high st full of cafes restaurants. We went down to the city centre old town & Quay, which is about a 20 min walk arriving back at the hotel we had a drink the bar was bustling with a nice atmosphere. Although we were told the bar closes at 11pm. The following morning we missed breakfast however on leaving our room we met one of the staff, he asked if we d had breakfast we said no we had missed it. He replied there is still cereal out and if we wanted bacon just to ask the member of staff and they would cook it for us. We went out for the day on arriving back around 3pm again there was a great atmosphere of people gathered inside and out, someone playing a guitar in the bar and a BBQ outside with an eclectic group of people. Excellent value for money

Room Tip: No 12, a lovely large double bedroom with a four poster bed. Large window overlooking the park. Coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mange57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
policebooks, Owner at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and hope to see you again as Cardiff and Hull cross swords in the future.
We are not as busy as last weekend all the time as we had a couple of functions running which attracted visitors from Italy, France and even South Korea.
Mr Calligan - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend What a great Victorian Hotel The rooms are very quirky both our rooms were very different in decor but with all the original Victorian features. Got a very warm welcome was shown to our rooms which these days is a rare. \edxplained everything about the services available the free wifi and Breakfast times. \can't praise the staff more highly nothing seemed too much trouble. We didn't eat that night but if breakfast is anything to go by we wish we had now.
Obviously breakfast was cooked fresh as we had our order taken and 15 minutes later we were presented with a hot filling traditioanl English brekfast.
I have to say This isn't your travel lodge or travel inn what we experienced was a warm traditional hotel with great attention to what we neaded.4Needless to say we will be back and certainly reccomending to our friends.
If you want to experience good hospitality where nothing is too much trouble then this is the place.
Thanks for a great stay and please make sure not to loose your staff they are your greatest asset

Room Tip: Ask for a Park facing room but if you don't dont worry they are all just as comfy our frineds co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazza-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
policebooks, Owner at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
What can I say? Thank you very much for such a glowing report.
You seem to appreciate what we are trying to do as our type of hotel has given way to the big chain, ultra modern hotels which are some peoples cup of tea.
But everyone is different and some people see us as dated and old fashioned while others like the old world charm, vintage approach.
I will pass on your comments to the staff who are trying extra hard and support each other in all areas of the Hotel trades demanding work.
Mr Calligan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
1.1 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearson Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearson Park Hotel

Property: Pearson Park Hotel
Address: 70-72 Pearson Park | Hull, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 2TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pearson Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Hotel Pearson Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing