We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel”
Review of Ibis Hull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hull
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super Hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife booked this hotel as we were catching the next day ferry to Rotterdam/Amsterdam. I'm so glad that she did. The location is ideal from the Coach/Train station as it is only a 5 minute walk down the road.

The room was nice with a lovely bathroom and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was superb. Now most hotels we have stayed in seem to source their breakfast ingredients from somewhere cheap and cheerful but not this one. You can tell that the English breakfast was good quality food and I have to say it was all top class food. There was also a good selection of cereals and yoghurts as well.

Finally, a big thank you to Lisa for being so helpful with information regarding our trip and for being so nice and friendly. She is a credit to Ibis. Also a big thank you to the manager Phil for letting us check out late so that we didn't have to drag our suitcase everywhere before catching the bus to the ferry port.

So if you are catching the ferry or just visiting Hulll for anything else,this is a great place to stay. We will certainly be staying here again if we go to Hull again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments- I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    306
    143
    42
    30
See reviews for
132
231
101
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

First of all I should say that the staff were very nice and the hotel was clean and tidy but that's I'm afraid where it ended.

The rooms are clearly designed by the same people who design caravans and that's exactly what it looked like, filled with cheap plastic and a paint job in terracotta and hearing aid beige. The shower was a pre-fab unit stuck in the corner with a shower that I remember my gran had in the 80s. The window curtain was stiff and looked like it was made of some kind of plastic.

The TV had about 3 channels in English and with no EPG it was impossible to navigate. The lift looked like it had a Buck Rogers theme but it was completely out of place for the rest of the hotel.

The beds were like camp beds and one of those two beds stuck together to look like a Double! I hate that and especially when the sheets are half the size too. At least buy some double covers if you're going to make it a Double.

And the bath towel cut in half really made me laugh, you gave me two. Why not just give me one big one?

The Ibis chain (in my opinion) need to look closely at this hotel and either ditch it, give it a facelift or take it back to it's natural home on the seafront at Blackpool.

Other than the great staff, would certainly not stay here again unless the other City offerings were full!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectation. Just to let you know we are getting freeview in all our bedrooms from March 2014 which will give you more choice on the television.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Overall the stay was very pleasing, except we ran into a few problems. Firstly, the maids walk in the rooms without knocking, so unfortunately as the door was left unlocked, the poor woman witnessed something she probably didnt want to see. On the contrary, there was a very cute puppy running around reception called Hero, she was class.

The shower was nice and warm and clean, and the rooms were a great standard.

WARNING: The bed creaks so badly, so its difficult to be discreet at 4am.

Thanks Ibis!

Room Tip: Try out the beds first to make sure yours doesnt creak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Hull. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This place is quite basic and the carpets in the corridors looked a bit tired but the pluses are that it's a good location, good comfy beds, very good shower. And the biggest plus of all is that the staff are really friendly and obliging. I would be happy to stay again

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownLongEaredOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Hull. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Couldn't agree more with Toon86 as we stayed there at the same time and on the same trip.
Considering it was such a short time after the tidal surge, the hotel staff must have worked all hours to get it ready.
Once again we were met on the bus by Collette and Keely who handed the room cards out so we were able to go straight to our room with our luggage.
The tables were set for our 3 course evening meal, and complimentary wine (red and white) plus lager which was replenished until 9pm as and when required.
Collette, Keeley and Chad made up the A team and provided a first class service throughout and were a credit to any hotel group.
The hotel itself is ideally placed for all shopping centres with the nearest being Princes Quay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments- I will certianly pass your kind comments to Collette, Keely and Chad. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Room good Bed good Staff lovely Breakfast BAD. No friuit juice in the machine No fruit juice in the cooler No fresh fruit only tinned. No milk coming from the coffee machine. Bacon rock hard and swimming in grease. Lovely receptionist fixed coffee machine but we had finished, (stayed for a cappachino because she had made the effort), Breakdown in supply chain needs sorting but overall ok for the money..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Grannychris333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Ibis Hull. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about our breakfast wich we have since addressed.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
572 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hull

Property: Ibis Hull
Address: Osbourne Street | Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hull 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Hull hotel is located 1 km from Hull town centre and Hull Theatre, just 500 m from the railway station, close to Costello Stadium and Queens Gardens. Book one of our 106 ventilation cooled rooms with wireless Internet access (including six adapted for guests with limited mobility) and make the most of the hotel amenitites on offer, the Le Nautique restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days and public parking. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hull Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Ibis Hotel Hull
Ibis Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing