We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid this unsafe, outdated nightmare of a 'hotel'”
Review of Ibis Hull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hull
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Please avoid this unsafe, outdated nightmare of a 'hotel'”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

All the charm and cleanliness I would expect from a third world hotel. Upon arrival while waiting in the lounge I was accosted by a junkie who asked me for money and started screaming at me when I explained I had no cash on me she then proceeded to pee herself while sitting down trying to grab my jacket while the (numerous) nearby staff watched on and made no attempt to intervene. I appreciate the hotel may not have been able to have prevented her entry but with most modern hotels having secure entry there really is no excuse. There where drunk people sitting having a party to themselves at one in the morning again no staff showed up to Intervene. As a lone business traveller I have never felt so unsafe. The room itself was an utter disgrace dirty, stinking of stale cigarette smoke, with sticky surfaces and some sort of weird, cramped plastic wet-room which served as an excuse for a bathroom. When I went down to order food in the evening (last resort as all nearby places where shut) the receptionist was dour and unhelpful. The kitchen lady however was very helpful and pleasant. The only redeeming feature was the location however a bench in the train station would have been just as appealing, just as safe and far preferable to this. This is my first and definite last experience of an ibis hotel. Please avoid this cesspit, I felt unclean after staying here, awful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineCusak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were dissapointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness however I wil find it really hard to investigate your corncerns because you stayed 10 months ago in May 2013. I would like to point out that this is not the usual service we provide at Ibis Hull and we have recently had a full ground floor refurbishment. If you are ever returning to Hull please dont hesitate in contacting me on 01482 387500 or Email me at Philip.woods@accor,com and I will make sure you have a pleasant stay.
Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    306
    143
    42
    30
See reviews for
132
231
101
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The staff were friendly and sincerely helpful. The location is very good. But my first room had my spirits plummeting with a cracked window, some serious decoration issues such as scuffing, and a faint unfresh smell. The corridors also had a whiff of bleach and staleness. When my tv did not work (the phone didn't work either so I had to walk down to reception), my room was changed without quibble and the whole experience became nicer. The hotel has a policy of getting your problem sorted in fifteen minutes or refunding it. I will stay here again but hopefully not in that first room.

Room Tip: Make sure you complain immediately if your room is not up to scratch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Ibis Hull. I am pleased you found my team friendly and helpful however we have noted your concerns about the window which has since been replaced and the smell along the corridor which we are addressing.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Great location. I was working around the corner for a couple of days. I needed to ring hotel on a couple of occasions and the staff were all ways happy and polite. Nothing ever felt like a bother.
The room was clean, warm, comfy... The bed was the best I've ever had in a hotel.
I'm working in hull again shortly and wouldn't consider anywhere else.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mallaillama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Basic but comfy as you expect from IBIS- staff friendly, room clean and functional. Hairdryer supplied on request. Surprisingly quiet for its location-in the city centre. Excellent value for money especially when premier inn are charging more than double what we paid!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kazapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Ibis Hull. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
570 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hull

Property: Ibis Hull
Address: Osbourne Street | Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hull 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Hull hotel is located 1 km from Hull town centre and Hull Theatre, just 500 m from the railway station, close to Costello Stadium and Queens Gardens. Book one of our 106 ventilation cooled rooms with wireless Internet access (including six adapted for guests with limited mobility) and make the most of the hotel amenitites on offer, the Le Nautique restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days and public parking. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hull Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Ibis Hotel Hull
Ibis Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing