We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but buoyant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Hull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hull
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic but buoyant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night in April with a friend and his dad as we were going to The Deep. The price was good. We required 2 rooms and despite this it definitely didn't break the bank. Some of the decor is very dated and somewhat shabby and could do with being updated, and the rooms are very basic - the en suite rooms only have a shower, no bath. However it did what we needed it to and we were very relaxed there. The beds were comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. There was a little noise, which you would expect from being located in a busy town centre, but nothing to keep us awake. The staff were fabulous. So warm and welcoming on arrival, and so helpful during the stay. The breakfast was basic but nice, and it did the job and served its purpose, and at £5.00 was cheaper that at other budget hotels. We were very satisfied with our stay and would definitely consider staying again if we ever returned to Hull for any reason.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for tkaing the time to write a review about your recent stay at Ibis Hull. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments regarding the decor needing updating which we are addressing.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    288
    136
    38
    29
See reviews for
127
216
94
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed again at the Ibis in Hull and met Philip Woods the GM and his staff ..... all the staff have been there for years and there is a great team spirit .. and although it is a budget hotel, it is great ....... 10 out of 10, if you are staying in Hull and want to meet some great people..... book it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Hull. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had a great Bank Holiday Sunday night stay here for under £30. Since my last visit the ground floor public areas have been completely transformed with new fixtures and fittings plus a bang up to date new grey and red colour scheme. Just a pity that hasn't been carried through to the bedrooms where the original corporate Ibis colour scheme is now looking dated. That said, the new beds/bedding are comfortable and keep you warm. Pity my room had the most awful chair I've encountered in a UK hotel - a sort of fold up thing with a small circular wooden seat set at an awkward angle designed to send you sliding towards the floor. Good news in the bathroom where the small bars of soap have been replaced by hanging soap dispensers affording a generous lather.

Room Tip: Inward facing rooms insulate you from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It reminded me of student halls - I don't think that is a good thing for a hotel. Fixed desk, thin carpet, open wardrobe, small window, no air con.
Reception staff seemed to hide in the back office.
Check out took ages as I had to wait for a member of staff from the bar, then the 'computer was really slow'

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarneyB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disapointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating your comments.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great stay as always at The Ibis Hull, warm and friendly welcome with efficient check - in process.

Rooms as standard were clean, spacious and the bed more than adequate. Extra pillows were a nice added extra too. Sower hot and powerful.

No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 943 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently stayed here at the Ibis in Hull for one night. We got into Hull via train and the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk away. Check in was smooth and the reception staff were very friendly.
The rooms are very modern, and were very clean and comfortable. Our room was facing the main road next to the hotel but we didn't find the noise was too bad at all.
Location wise it is very good too, as it is only a short walk from Princes Quay and the Marina.
Overall, we were happy with our stay and the price for one night is very good; we would more than likely choose the Ibis in Hull for our next stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilson Hotel
Gilson Hotel
#14 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
3.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hull

Property: Ibis Hull
Address: Osbourne Street | Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hull 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Hull hotel is located 1 km from Hull town centre and Hull Theatre, just 500 m from the railway station, close to Costello Stadium and Queens Gardens. Book one of our 106 ventilation cooled rooms with wireless Internet access (including six adapted for guests with limited mobility) and make the most of the hotel amenitites on offer, the Le Nautique restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days and public parking. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hull Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Ibis Hotel Hull
Ibis Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing