We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a groupon”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a groupon”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My girlfriend and I purchased a groupon for £54. This was 2 nights, 1 evening meal and breakfast both mornings for two people.

We had a double room which was basic but clean. Only issue was that the beds (2 singles pushed together) creaked so much that turning in the night was enough to wake you.

The meal included and the two breakfasts was fantastic. Brilliant food and quick service and totaling the cost of it all, we made our £54 back and more meaning the room was practically free.

Staff were friendly however there only ever appeared to be one staff member working te bar, restaurant and reception all at once and you couldn't always find them.

Only complait would be that on the second morning the music coming from the kitchen or bar was that loud and bass-y it sounded like a night club not a breakfast room.

Overall not a bad couple of days and great value for money (with groupon for £54 value worth £176.60) however would consider a travelodge or something similar for short stays next time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popeyejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    20
    31
    20
    44
See reviews for
38
40
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stopped for one night , thank god it was only one night, Whatever has happened to this hotel, I used this Hotel quite regularly and always found the staff and manager very helpful the food was always excellent,now however the staff dont care a reception without a receptionist( you check in at the bar if the staff can be bothered to check you in all too busy talking amongst themselves with and who I take was the New Manager he was very rude and pretty hopeless. The first room I stopped in had no hot water and had a strange smell in the room,I was given a different room, not much better the curtains are like tracing paper and the light from the industrial estate came straight through all night, the room was very basic , the tv had a very poor reception and looked like it was from antiques road show. I went to the restaurant for a meal and again was very disappointed what use to be a very specials board was a not very specials board and the food just about okay. We had to wait an awful long time to be served and an either longer time for the food although the the place was very quiet.
On checking out I mentioned my problems to the girl, she informed me that the place was for sale and she hoped it would soon be bought so that someone would re invest, its such a shame nine months ago a lovely place to stay, now its just neglected with staff and management that really dont care, Never again will I stay here

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niccibabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Public Relations Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

cleveland, uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

have stayed here a few times and when it was previously platform 1, have had lots of problems on each visit there since it being taken over,stayed in 3 bedded room to only have 1 set of towels,1 cup and hot water tap not working,never anyone on reception, always have to go find someone, manager talks the talk but needs to put customer service more into practice,had problems with milk being off in room, no telephone in room, squeaky beds, curtains with rips,barmaids more interested in talking to other staff than serving,one room had a foul smell in bathroom but was told that previous customers had had no problems in that room. Staff and management need to be trained in hospitality and customer service. travel to hull regularly and looking for another hotel to stay in after problem after problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Unclean rooms, functions on and could hear music louder than television in room, had to move rooms 3 times , never any staff on reception, you HAVE to find to find them, depressing hotel - ended up checking out early. Would not advise to visit this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne04421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We were apprehensive about staying here after reading the other review. We shouldn't have been. The hotel is clean, inexpensive and handy for the party we were attending. We found the staff friendly, helpful and polite. We had no problem parking and the car park was secure.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. The breakfast the next morning was very tasty, although I'd prefer to have my tea in a teapot, rather than having to make it myself in a mug.

The only downside was the bed which, although huge, was very squeaky. No doubt this only required the use of a couple of tools, but obviously hadn't been done.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LesMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel when it was Platform 1. We decided to give it a try for our wedding anniversary in the middle of December 2010. My brother and his wife came along with us although they didnt book a room as we had. On arrival there was no one at the reception desk to check us in, we waited and waited, in the end my husband had to go and look for someone, he even had to open up the kitchen door and shout, finally we were checked in. The room was really nice and we were very impressed with it but the toilet was stained and dirty. We were booked in for a meal at 9pm so went down at 8pm to meet my family, there was 1 person serving at the bar and it was total mayhem as they were having a xmas dinner event in the main function room and there was 250 guests, all which seemed to be irate at the bar at the lack of service. We got chatting to another couple at about 8.45pm who told us they had a table booked also which was for 8pm but no one had spoke to them or showed them to their table...not good! I asked the barmaid where the manager was, and why there was only 1 person serving over 250 people, she said he was helping in the kitchen and wouldnt come out. At one point the guests were so fed up of waiting they were all helping themselves out of the wine chiller and just walking off without paying, it was total chaos! Eventually after making a fuss we were taken to our table along with the other guests who should of been sat down an hour before. The food was quite nice but not a patch on Platform 1. After our meal we decided to go into the function room where there was a disco....BIG mistake, it was terrible, everywhere you looked people where fighting...women were dragging other women about by their hair and there was fists and drinks flying everywhere. We decided to go back into the bar area...BIG mistake again as there was another fight going on in there and police turning up. We finally gave in and all went back to our room for a quiet drink, but yet again there was a commotion going on outside...police and men and women all fighting in the street.
I have since complained to the manager who is very unhelpful and sarcastic. I would never go back to this hotel, it should have a warning sign saying ENTER AT OWN RISK over the door!
Finally, the next day on check out, yet again no one in sight at reception, had to go and find some one.
If you want my advice book into The Kingstown Hotel a few miles up the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallythomas0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooksy32, Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Thank you for the review, The evening in question was a one off, I have been at this Hotel for just under two years, and I can honestly say this is the first trouble I have ever encountered, Overall the month of December was very successful and the complaint you make is the only complaint the Hotel has received. I apologise for the fact that our receptionist wasn't available to check you in when you arrived or the slightly slower service than normal, this was due to the large number of guests attending the excellent Christmas celebrations. Hotel Farelli prides itself on offering the personal touch, and I look froward to greeting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Not even worth the cheap rate. I really wished I had stayed somewhere else.....I booked this hotel for a one night stay on the 29th of Nov 2010 (today). The bar downstairs is empty apart from 2 members of staff however I am currenlty being kept awake by very loud techno music even though there are no customers...why they feel the need to blast out music on a tuesday night to an empty pub I dont know, especially when all the rooms are situated directly above???... I've politely explained that I have an important meeting first thing in the morning and need to sleep however nothing has been done to turn the volume down, its now almost midnight!. they have now started to ignore my calls to reception which isnt a sign of good customer service. The rooms are dirty and dated!! The floor in the room/hallway above constantly squeeks and bangs when someone walks past and only 2 tv channels are viewable and there is no remote control.

In my honest opinion you should stay somewhere else even if it means paying slightly more. I certainly wont be coming back, awful place!!.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutsmunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Public Relations Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilson Hotel
Gilson Hotel
#14 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Property: Trinity Hotel
Address: 309-323 Hedon Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU9 1NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We embody all the traditional values of hotel keeping, whilst keeping up to date with the requirements for the business and leisure travellers. Our 30 en-suite bedrooms are modern, well equipped and fully fitted with trouser presser, tea and coffee facilities, TV, telephones and hairdryers. A recent addition has been the Executive Suite which is furnished in warm welcoming modern colours and luxurious fabrics. Other facilities also include Free Wireless Broadband Internet access and Free Car Parking for our residents on site. Overall, we aim to provide you with the standard of occasion you so obviously deserve and yet, at the same time, achieve a surprising level of affordability and value. We're the perfect choice for those looking for hotel in Hull. Client satisfaction is paramount and is the ethos of the hotel together with the training and welfare of all its management and staff. I hope you will enjoy our hotel - see and appreciate the quality of our product and the friendliness of our management and staff and always make Hotel Trinity your first choice when visiting Kingston Upon Hull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing