We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to get a take away!!”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Booked 1 night at this hotel, with dinner, bed and breakfast. Room was ok but as the chef was off sick there was no dinner available. I had to get a local chinese take away and take back to the room. Next morning when checking out, there was no members of staff available at reception to hand key to and also get a receipt, so along with the other unhappy guests I had to just leave the room key on the reception desk and leave without seeing any staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Trinity Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

I am writing regarding the restaurant at Farelli:
Now, I’m not a snob and I’m not over critical, but this has to be one of if not the most disappointing restaurants I’ve ever eaten at; and that includes fast food chains! Quality? No. Atmosphere? No. Customer service? No. (although you had to feel for the poor female student running both the restaurant, bar and back of house single handedly, she was literally the only member of staff we saw throughout the whole duration of the meal as no manager to be seen.) As for the food, where do I start? Thank god for a voucher we’d purchased as I almost choked on my starter when I realised the prices they were charging! Over cooked starters out of the way, both our mains were cold when they reached our table.. (The place was dead so God only knows what took the dishes so long to get across from the kitchen to our table?). We complained about the cold steak (with the most bizarre gravy/peppercorn sauce concoction) and odd tasting fish and to her credit, the waitress knocked the sauce and extra coca cola we’d ordered off our bill… unfortunately however it was too little too late, as I’ve now told all my friends and work colleagues what a truly terrible experience we had there. And lastly can I add, this restaurant is not to be confused with the previously pleasant Platform1 that resided there once before.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalou5469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Director of Sales at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I last left a review for this hotel last year after a pretty bad experience in the December. After receiving an email from Groupon for an amazing offer of 2 nights stay with breakfast on each morning, a welcome drink and a 2 course evening meal I thought what the hell we may as well give it anothet try for £54. Anyway, we decided to stay on 20/10/2011 for our 2 nights. We arrived at the hotel at approx 3.45pm and within a few minutes Amit the owner came into reception and greeted us, he is really friendly and told us what time breakfast was. He then gave us the keys to room 121, when we got there the room was absolutely freezing so my husband went down to tell Amit, he said he would send a cleaner up to sort the radiators out, anyway, after about 20 mins nobody had come and we were sat watching deal or no deal with our coats on so my husband went back down and asked to be moved which I must admit there was no problem we were taken to a bigger and lovely and warm room. The room was a decent size and very clean with plenty of towels and shower gel for us. A tea/coffee tray with biscuits, the only bad thing was the bed was very noisey and 2 singles pushed together. The first night we decided to get a taxi into town to eat but went into the bar to have a drink first, we had to ask for our welcome drinks but it was no problems and we received a glass of wine each.
The next morning we went down to breakfast at about 8.30am and it was set out nice with a basket with cereals in, a flask of luke warm water for tea and coffee and jams etc. The full English that arrived was ok but nothing special, no toast with it or offered. The waitress gave us it and walked off and never bothered to ask if we would like any sauces.On the Saturday morning the breakfast was smashing, the chef made us fresh coffee, made us a lovely full English witha rack of toast and the waitress asked us if we would like fresh orange and condiments, so a totally different experience from the previous morning.
We went down to the bar on the Friday night and was suprised how quiet it was considering when we use to come when it was Platform 1 it was heaving in the bar and restaurant. Anyway, we were shown to a table by the really nice young barmaid/waitress and our order was taken. With us using the groupon deal we thought we would be limited to the choice of meals we could have but we were told we could either have a starter and main or main and desert and anything on the menu. We both had a lovely starter which was pesented and served lovely, then we both had a 10 ounce sirloin steak, home made chips with salad and home made onion rings and it was absolutely delicious.Again served and presented really well. The girl serving us was very polite and attentive and made it a really pleasant meal.
Although this time the experience was a lot better the place is in need of getting back to how it was run when it was Platform 1. The hotel is lovely and the bar and restaurant is really nice but because of the lack of good management it is struggling. I would definately recommend this as a bargain groupon deal but wouldnt pay full price until it was back to how it was.
Hope this up to date honest review helps!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel a sit is a lot quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cutebumsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Guest Relations Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here on a Groupon deal - two nights B&B plus 2-course meal included on one day (supposedly). The bedroom and shower room were very pleasant, comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and furnished. Breakfast was very good too, although on the second morning the dining area was empty with no sign of any breakfasts! The chef told us he was the only member of staff on duty so we had to wait while he produced the cereals/ juice/ tea/coffee/ cutlery etc. Poor man - he looked run off his feet. He then went back to the kitchen to cook our full English. We must admit though - the breakfast was delicious!
However, we didn't manage to get the 2-course meal which we had paid for as part of the Groupon deal. We had eaten on the way to Hull and only wanted a bar meal on the first evening but were told bar meals weren't being served. Disappointed we went into town to eat instead. We intended having the restaurant meal we were entitled to on the second evening but the dining room was locked up and in darkness. We rang the bell on Reception several times but no-one appeared. We got the impression we were the only people in the Hotel, so we gave it up as a bad job and did a fast walk into town and ended up eating in Wetherspoons. When we were checking out the morning after we asked a young man why the dining room wasn't open the previous evening and he said that due to lack of customers they had decided to close at 3pm! He offered us another meal, but as we were checking out at 11am and making our way home, we couldn't take up the offer.
The hotel is well placed for walking into the town centre (15 mins walk or a £3.70 taxi ride) but is not in a very picturesque part of town - it seems to be mainly industrial units. We thought Hull town centre was brilliant - a lovely place to spent a weekend!! To sum up, the accommodation was pleasant, the breakfasts were excellent, there seems to be a staff shortage, and it's a shame the Hotel wasn't able to provide the meals it should have.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Public Relations Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We did the groupon deal too (£54 2nights dbb). On arrival we did not get a good impression - a run down; derelict in places and industrial area. So already worried about the car still being there in the morning. The one girl wonder ( who was receptionist, bar tender, waitress, public relations) was lovely and helpful. Our room was basic and clean if a little threadbare and our water was actually hot! We bought a bar meal on the first night and a couple of beers in the quiet restaurant. It was a lovely meal and better than we were expecting. breakfast was very good too(waitress said my other half looked hungover!) although I was put off by the men's toilets. They were run down and the cubicle doors had obviously been kicked in with broken or non existent locks. The cleanliness - non existent. Music thumped out the second night but again our meal was very good with good service.
Overall food excellent, room average, location dire. We had definitely been to Hull and back!
Overall

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stev1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Public Relations Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

stayed there 2 nights with wife and 2 chilren for my daughters wedding noboby ever on reception on face book on laptop in bar brekfast on first day alright wedding meal awful by time we where invited to carvery hardly no veg no gravy and by time we got gravy meal cold bar service was poor and not there tidying room for evening sunday breakfast no orange juice no cereal no teabags and no hot water service virtually non existant only time anybody was on reception was when they wanted paying the manager was rude arrogant and didn't offer an explanation all they needed was manuel and they would have a set of idiots i would advise anyone not to stay here or have their wedding there its crap hope the manager replies to this

Room Tip: POOR and not worth the money
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robthedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity T, Public Relations Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

This review is for Hotel Farelli not for Trinity Hotel. Trinity Hotel is under new ownership and under new brand. We cannot take any responsibility for previous owners or a old brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

After reading the review still thought I should try it. First of all I would say I loved the food. Amazing!! The staff and the bar was very friendly. Had steak as it was steak night promotion. The best steak ever had in many years. Rooms yes little out dated, with the old fashion tv. But the room itself was clean tidy and had what I normal hotel have. For the price trust me it's worth going. They just had re decor some rooms and the reception. So it much better than the review I read. Will defo go there again when am back to hull

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hum5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cornmill Hotel
Cornmill Hotel
#11 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
618 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Address: 309-323 Hedon Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU9 1NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £42 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We embody all the traditional values of hotel keeping, whilst keeping up to date with the requirements for the business and leisure travellers. Our 30 en-suite bedrooms are modern, well equipped and fully fitted with trouser presser, tea and coffee facilities, TV, telephones and hairdryers. A recent addition has been the Executive Suite which is furnished in warm welcoming modern colours and luxurious fabrics. Other facilities also include Free Wireless Broadband Internet access and Free Car Parking for our residents on site. Overall, we aim to provide you with the standard of occasion you so obviously deserve and yet, at the same time, achieve a surprising level of affordability and value. We're the perfect choice for those looking for hotel in Hull. Client satisfaction is paramount and is the ethos of the hotel together with the training and welfare of all its management and staff. I hope you will enjoy our hotel - see and appreciate the quality of our product and the friendliness of our management and staff and always make Hotel Trinity your first choice when visiting Kingston Upon Hull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing