We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building in a pleasant square”

Hands on History Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Hands on History Museum, in the old Grammar School where William Wilberforce studied, houses the story of Hull and its people. Entry to the museum is free. Hands on History includes a fascinating glimpse into Victorian times, the Story of Hull and also features the Egyptian Gallery. This gallery is home to a genuine 2,600 year old mummy and unique replicas of King Tutankhamen's treasures. THE MUSEUM IS OPEN EVERY SECOND AND FOURTH SATURDAY OF EACH MONTH FROM TWELVE O'CLOCK PM TO FOUR O'CLOCK PM AND ON EVERY FIFTH SATURDAY FROM 12 O'CLOCK PM - FOUR O'CLOCK PM IN MONTHS IN WHICH FIVE SATURDAYS OCCUR. PLEASE CHECK THE HULL CULTURE & LEISURE WEBSITE FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PRIOR TO YOUR VISIT
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Lovely building in a pleasant square”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Worth visiting for the building but not a lot in this for me, I am afraid. I enjoyed the wartime room and films, though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back to school”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went to school and we remembered the old desks. Lots of hands on and some maritime history but in a place like Hull that is unavoidable and why not.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & wear
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dont close this down”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have been in here before but is well worth another look Free to get in and brings back lots of childhood merories. Their are things for children to take part stories to read how we used to live. down side council want to close it? we signed petition

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mags5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon for the kids”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I visited here with my 6 year old and 3 year old and they loved it. Lots to look at and kids encouraged to touch, play and dress up to learn more. My eldest has talked about nothing since our visit. Very friendly staff willing. Great place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wormburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hands-on Museum”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great place for kids - and we thoroughly enjoyed it even without kids. Excellent use of the old Grammar School and fascinating insight into Hull's past.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue_historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hands on History Museum also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Hands on History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing