We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing week”
The south facing sunny exterior to Horseshoe cottage, sunny walled courtyard; BBQ and eating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The south facing sunny exterior to Horseshoe cottage, sunny walled courtyard; BBQ and eating area
Frontage of Nordham Cottages, in quiet Nordham with stunning Yorkshire Wold walks from the doorstep A warm welcome at Nordham Cottages - 'time for tea'  in Horseshoe's sunny walled cour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The south facing sunny exterior to Horseshoe cottage, sunny walled courtyard; BBQ and eating area
Frontage of Nordham Cottages, in quiet Nordham with stunning Yorkshire Wold walks from the doorstep
A warm welcome at Nordham Cottages - 'time for tea'  in Horseshoe's sunny walled cour
or tea infront of the fire in the cosy sitting room at Horseshoe Cottage, a treat for a chilly day.
Horseshoe sitting room - cosy & relaxing after a day out walking/ sight-seeing. Can link to Bayt
Dining room next to  kitchen which sits 5, 8 if linked with Baytree. TV/DVD/video & games/book s
Well appointed kitchen at Horseshoe Cottage, with microwave, dishwasher & washer, even a food mi
Kitchen larder with fridge, and shelves for your food box . Veg basket bought to the door -in season
Horseshoe cottage master bedroom with kingsized bed, TV & Auzzi beach huts canvas from our trave
Extra comforable twin & new deep matresses ensure a good nights sleep. Plus pull out bed if need
Horseshoe's single bedroom, with S facing view of courtyard. The room has a full width pull-out
Quality Assured - we have high standards ourselves & want you to be assured of cleanliness &
Parkland, 2 minutes from the door -  lovely 1/2 hour 'round trip' walk from the cottage, u
Enjoy the great walks we have on the doorstep; plenty of walk suggestions & maps for  village/be
One of our clients, discovered a new walking route and drew us this lovely map. Why not try it?
Horses in the paddocks nearby on the picturesque walk to Hotham, where there's a good pub with
The Wolds Way is within walking distance - stunning peaceful countryside,  without hoards of people
Bay Tree Cottage next door,( which can interlink with Horseshoe), ideal for couples for a w/e break
Bay Tree Cottage sitting room, original features.Looks out at yorkshire stone walls, accross street.
Bay Tree Cottage sitting room, cosy and charming, with original features. Can interlink to Horseshoe
Bay Tree, next door to Horseshoe:King sized bed in cottage bedroom, with country fire-place and TV.
Walk along the stream to the bridge near Horseshoe Cottage & enjoy the streamside,  views &
Our resident duck and last years ducklings on their way to the stream. She returns every yr to nest!
Spring at Nordham Cottages S facing courtyard with bluebells/daffodils. In 2014 we were raised to 4*
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morag W
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing week”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are just home having spent a relaxing week in the delightful village of Nordham. The cottage was equipped with everything that we needed. Louise met us on arrival and explained how things worked in the cottage. She also left us with a newly boiled kettle and all the necessary components for a cup of tea including delicious shortbread. There was also a welcome basket of vegetables from her garden.
The cottage is ideally situated for walks around the village and is within easy reach of nearby towns i.e. Beverly, York and Hull (City of Culture).
Our grandson (2yrs) enjoyed pottering about the garden (a small courtyard) while we relaxed in the sun. He also enjoyed the fantastic play area at Williams Den just down the road, the walk through the park to Hotham and the walk to the Wetlands as did we all.
The BBQ was a great hit and the weather was kind!
A leaving present of a pot of jam and certainly somewhere that we would consider returning to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your great review. I'm so pleased you found your break relaxing. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the famous Cactus Jack log BBQ, it's a family favourite of ours too. Great to hear you enjoyed the locality with the wetlands, walks around the village and all new Williams Den, brilliant for younger family members. Pleased you enjoyed our local towns & cities too, all so easy to get to from Nordham & all with something different to offer.
I know you made the most of village as I saw you out running through the park and family walking too!
Hope to see you back,
Louise & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericjhan
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice cottage in a fine location”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage after a trouble-free trip (finding the cottage was easy) and had only been in it a few minutes when the owner Louise Martin arrived, to ensure we had all the information we needed for a pleasant stay. After showing us how to use the facilities she left and we unpacked.

The cottage has three bedrooms, two doubles and one single, but with assorted 'day beds' scattered around, which we assumed were for any extra children that couldn't be accommodated within the three bedrooms.

There are two bathrooms, so two different families could share the cottage and unusually, two baths and two showers.
The showers were electric ones over the bath, which is not ideal, but we were only there for a few days and it wasn't a problem.

One of the bathroom had no lock on the door and we understand that this is because the danger of children locking themselves inside the bathroom. There is now a sign hanging on the outside of that bathroom, advising whether it is in use or not.

The village is delightfully quiet and in a good location for walking around the countryside nearby and driving to Hull, Beverley and York - all good destinations.

We had a good time when we were there and look back to our stay with affection. And the final touch from Louise (the owner) was a present of a jar of home-made jam, which looks delicious but which we haven't tried yet, because we've only just got home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Many thanks for your review Jenny & pleased you can look back at your stay with affection. We look forward to seeing you both again. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
499alison...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expectations met - THE REVIEWS REALLY ARE TRUE!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Never know whether to expect the reality to match the hype.............but in this case you really get everything and more.

The cottage is delightful - quaint, quirky, and comfortable. Heating was excellent, loads of hot water for showers and access is very easy (parking better than expected.) We were touched by the welcome cake (lemon drizzle) which was still warm and absolutely delicious - tea and cake on arrival was an unexpected bonus. The bowl of fresh eggs was also a lovely thought. Every room was immaculately clean and obviously kept in very good order, as was the garden - beautiful spring flowers.

We enjoyed helpful input from the lovely owners, Louise and Tom, and were impressed by their thoughtfulness at printing off City of Culture options for the month. This resulted in our group adding a visit to the Ferens Art Gallery to our busy itinerary (we had so much to see this weekend!)

If you are considering this cottage, I can confirm that it is excellent value for money and the area is definitely worth a visit. You will be hard pressed to find better, so follow this recommendation with confidence and see for yourself......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Thank you Alison for your kind words. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your time together at Horseshoe cottage. We really hope to provide not just a homely place to stay, we aim to offer an experience.
Look forward to seeing you all again,
Best wishes,
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulwat53
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect home from home”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spending some time working in Humberside and this little cottage jumped out at me as being a suitable place to stay for a few weeks. So I booked it. And I am so glad I did.it was ideal in every way. Situated in a quiet little village just seconds from the A63 with easy access to Hull and Brough station (direct trains to London and Manchester) and just a short distance from the village of South Cave (btw if you come here you MUST try the Gallery bistro) and a short drive to York and the coast.
The cottage itself is immaculate. Beautifully presented and decorated in a simple but cosy and 'country cottage' style. It is comprehensively equipped and I can honestly say that in the 4 weeks I was here I never once felt that there was something that should have been supplied that wasn't. The wifi works perfectly and there are docking stations for iPhones to charge. The galley kitchen has everything you need and was spotlessly clean.
There are two bathrooms; if, like me you like a shower with a decent flow, suggest you go for the downstairs one although the the electric Mira upstairs does the job.
The bedrooms are beautifully appointed and I can honestly say that the main double is one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Anywhere. Ever.
Downsides? Erm. None. Except that now that people have read all the totally justified rave reviews about this place It will probably be harder for me to get a booking the next time!!
Next time? Would I return?
Already booked.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Another happy customer, thanks Paul for your kind words. We try our best and it's nice to know our customers enjoy the homely cottage experience we are trying to provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Y
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Christmas Cosiness”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We needed somewhere to stay in rural East Yorkshire for the Christmas period and found the Martin's beautiful cottage. What made it utterly wonderful was finding out about the Barn next door which we were able to use for our Chritsmas Day Party and host 16 family in a wonderful location.

We had such a wonderful time, we were able to have my Father's 69th Birthday party with 20 guests in the same place. Roaring log fires, a long table and comfortable, cosy settings.

The cottage was lovely too. We loved the homeliness of it and Horseshoe cottage had all the amenities we could want. We had a great time and our small children (2 and 4) were catered for wonderfully. We loved the effort our hosts had put into the cottage so it all looked wonderfully Christmassy. Thankyou so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches such as the Christmas decorations
Liked least: Internet connection
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellybrow...
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An amazing home from home with lots of extras - everything was well presented and communication was easy. We stayed for 15 nights whilst visiting family in the area - from day one we felt relaxed and at home. Two bathrooms real bonus with four adults sharing. Would love to return one day - great location for exploring the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Old world charm and comfort
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy B
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Tranquil cosy home from home”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Extremely comfortable cottage with everything you need in your home from home. Made special by the warm welcome from Louise and the basket of fresh fruit and veg from her gardens. The homemade biscuits delicious thanks!
A lot of thought has gone into providing everything you could need to enhance your stay - information about what's on, places to visit. A Great location for exploring Yorkshire!
I would have no problem recommending this cottage and hope to be able to revisit in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing