We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit and not the last” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meze

Meze
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“First visit and not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

My friend and I went here for the first time as a change from curries and chips from most restaurant menus. We found from start to finish everything was excellent. The service was really good and attentive,and the food excellent. One thing was the concern from the manager as my friend didn't eat all of her dish, he thought there was a problem and after explaining that the portion size was to much we all had a laugh and in his case a sigh of relief. There was no room for desert due to the portion size but we enjoyed everything. I asked if our main wasn't rushed to our table as to give us time to savour the starter and this again was no problem. So all in all a fantastic visit and I gave a generous tip after our experience fully satisfied and enjoyed. FIRST CLASS.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrRyan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    101
    30
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Visited here tonight with my partner, first impression was that it was a little dark inside and the seating could have been a bit comfier - still a nice interior though. We were really looking forward to authentic food having visited Turkey many times and it didn't disappoint, everything was lovely. We had mixed hot meze, the borek (cheese parcels) were particularly good. The mains were delicious too, beyti and turkish lamb stew - generous portions, we were stuffed! The service was very friendly without being pushy. I feel the prices were a touch on the expensive side, especially soft drinks but all in all it was worth it for a very enjoyable meal and evening. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hb1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a table here for an evening meal with friends, reason for choosing this place was because of the reviews on trip advisor. When choosing from the menu we wanted a pacific meal and was told that the oven isn't working and wasn't Able to have that. Would of been good if was told over the phone and prob would of chosen somewhere else. Apart from that food was ok. Wouldn't rush back in a hurry

Helpful?
1 Thank Adie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amezeballs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

A pleasant little find with an authentic feel. The staff were very welcoming and knowledgable. Some very rich dishes on the menu and packed with flavour. If you have never been here and live in Hull, you're missing a trick.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittony89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our second visit to meze
Service was great , friendly staff
Surroundings lovely
Now On to the food
Wow
Perfectly cooked,presented and portioned
Desserts just as good, had key lime cheese cake loved it
Recommend a visit

Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meze also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing