We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in ideal city centre location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in ideal city centre location”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Quiet hotel in beautiful square in city centre so easy walk to Hull's interesting historical area, old docks and shops. Only 15mins from the station too.

Hotel itself is in a lovely old building so the rooms have character but also mod-cons such as efficient heating which was welcome on cold January nights, tea-making facilities and a modern bathroom - all spotlessly clean.

Full English breakfast cooked quickly to order so it was delicious (unlike breakfasts which sit on a hot plate for hours!). There was a bar and restaurant with reasonably priced food available in each but we had made other arrangements so didn't try them. Staff were friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a change from bland chain hotels I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    199
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
122
220
52
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Enjoyable one-night stay in this independent hotel in a quiet square 8 minutes' walk from the city centre. We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. The hotel is old-fashioned but very comfortable and clean with friendly, helpful, hard-working staff who are obviously committed to their guests' comfort. Food is good, service too. A good place to stay, excellent value and a very pleasnt change from the characterless hotel chains.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerbilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Second time I have stayed here and it was even better than last time. Very nice, helpful staff, quiet clean room with a comfy bed and a very nice breakfast. Great value for money and located in a great part of Old Hull. Don't bother with the nearby chain hotel/motels - come and stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nessbankgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull e,yorks
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Have attended a few occasions at this hotel and have never been dissapointed ,Food is lovely a very traditional food is served with a flair, and the old building charm this hotel holds ,is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We held our wedding here, it was the most perfect day. The staff were extremely professional yet came across friendly and helpful in all aspects of our day. Cannot recommend this hotel and its staff enough.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandhimHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Kingston Theatre hotel with our 2 boys age 13 and 10 in 1 room and had a very good stay. Our room and the ensuite were spotlessly clean. The room is probably really intended for 3 with a double and a large single, so there was a 4th "camper bed" for one of our sons. This made the room slightly cramped and the boys found the camper bed quite uncomfortable. Other than that, we would highly recommend this hotel. The location is wonderful, in a lovely quiet square, definitely in the better part of Hull, but only a short walk to the station and the centre. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbsonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was our 3rd visit to this very welcoming hotel. Staff are always excellent and cheerful. The rooms are clean and well furnished. It is very good value for money and we will return again. Breakfasts are very good indeed and freshly cooked from an a la carte menu.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoCoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Theatre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Theatre Hotel

Property: Kingston Theatre Hotel
Address: 1-2 Kingston Square, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingston Theatre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and accommodating 'The Kingston Theatre Hotel' has delivered Some 30 years of uninterrupted service, independently owned by the Osborne family and located in the heart of the city centre - opposite the Hull New Theatre, Overlooking the Beautiful Kingston Gardens, we are known for our warm, friendly and convivial atmosphere, with no hard and fast rules you find in larger hotel chains.Providing 28 very well appointed bedrooms from cosy doubles to large executive rooms with a wide variety of amenities including Bathrobes Slippers Mineral water and complimentary Wi-Fi .Our award winning restaurant & bar offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes and a good selection of wines, spirits and beers.Our policy of attention to detail, quality accommodation at sensible prices and unrivalled service has won us many friends over the years, come and see first- hand, we'd be delighted to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingston Theatre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Theatre Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing