We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Carrick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hull East Yorkshire
1 review
“Mrs Carrick”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We had a party for my husband's 60th birthday at the hotel and it was fantastic the buffet was excellent, the music just right for the occasion and the manager and staff were brilliant. We stayed the night, the room was excellent. We had breakfast the next morning which was again excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for you kind review I am pleased to hear you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay and celebration with us, once again thank you for your patronage, we realise there is a wide choice of venues to choose from and greatly appreciate your custom
look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    199
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
122
220
52
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shobdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My family have regularly met here for Sunday lunch for several years now. The food and service is always good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our only criticism is that there is only ever one Vegetarian dish offered for Sunday lunch, Mushroom Stroganoff, as vegetarians don't eat fish so that is not an option. The Kingston Theatre Bar would score 5 for Sunday lunches if only they could offer a different Vegetarian dish every month not just the same dish every Sunday. Apart from this, we love this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandKA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Valued Patron, Thank you for your kind review, I will pass on all feed back to the team
I take note of your comments referring to one vegetarian option on the menu and have introduced a second option or alternatively we can always prepare a special request providing we are given 24 hours notice
once again may i take this opportunity in thanking you for your loyal patronage and look forward to welcoming back soon

Kind regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had the pleasure of two stays at this hotel throughout 2013 whilst attending open mic literature evenings. Superb service and staff throughout both. They were very friendly and recognised me right away on arrival both times, before even verifying it with the sheet. Tremendous efficiency and welcome made my brief visits both feel like a fortnight. Pleasant relaxed dining room and a bedroom equipped with more facilities than I've seen in a four-star room I've stayed in before. The bedsheets could benefit from being slightly bigger in the single room I had on my December stay but I'd let that pass as so many positive points outweigh. Expect to be treated like the King when you come to this king of hotels. Dave Attrill (poet//writer ), Sheffield

Room Tip: If you are travelling solo, a room with a large bed is still advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryOKingsTher, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
A Rather belated response, however may I thank you for taking time to review the hotel,
I'm pleased to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us, in particular your comments regards
to your welcome by the reception team
I realise there is so much choice of hotels in the area, and value your patronage

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Hull

Kind regards

Gary Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

stayed a Saturday night at this lovely hotel in a double room on the 3rd floor .It was my husbands 60th birthday and I treat him to a night away and an evening at the casino .The room was very warm and cosy ,it was freezing outside.The bathroom was spotless and the breakfast very good.The parking just a hundred yards away is free after 6 and all day Sundays.All in all a lovely weekend at a cost of only 60 pounds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36holidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked a party of 24 for a surprise 70th birthday family celebration Sunday lunch. The hotel also had two other large bookings that day, In the run up to the day the staff were extremely efficient and accommodating. On the day the table was prepared beautifully with fresh flowers provided by the hotel and balloon displays that we had delivered with our cake the day before. The cake was displayed on it's own table. We couldn't fault the meal or the service and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Even though the restaurant was busy you would never have realised it from the pleasant attitude of the staff who were so obliging. I would highly recommend this hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

my mum and i booked both her 60th birthday party and ruby anniversary party here, both occurred within the last four months. the package that we bought was for snobs- including food, dj and overnight stay was excellent. gary and the other staff were accomodating and helped with all our queries, dietary needs etc and honestly couldn't do anymore for us! thefood was good and all in all we had excellent celebrations. the staff didnt even complain when i accidentally set off the fire alarm with birthday candles!the bedrooms were very comfortable, breakfast was great and my dad was in his element seeing celebrities staying too! would recommend and we will be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hull_jolly_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we stayed to visit family, we were pleasantly surprised, food was ok would not eat in the restaurant again, the steak pie was braising steak with a bought puff pastry top cooked under the grill plonked on top, i had chicken and mushroom stroganoff the chicken was sliced and you could tell it was pre packed, not very tasty it was over priced at 11.95.

the only other small thing i would say was the staff overall were wonderfull, but catching up with the gossip in the restaurant meant no one was watching the bar. and on a couple of occasion we were left for over 5 minutes with empty glasses in front of us.

Room Tip: rooms on top floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Theatre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Theatre Hotel

Property: Kingston Theatre Hotel
Address: 1-2 Kingston Square, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingston Theatre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and accommodating 'The Kingston Theatre Hotel' has delivered Some 30 years of uninterrupted service, independently owned by the Osborne family and located in the heart of the city centre - opposite the Hull New Theatre, Overlooking the Beautiful Kingston Gardens, we are known for our warm, friendly and convivial atmosphere, with no hard and fast rules you find in larger hotel chains.Providing 28 very well appointed bedrooms from cosy doubles to large executive rooms with a wide variety of amenities including Bathrobes Slippers Mineral water and complimentary Wi-Fi .Our award winning restaurant & bar offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes and a good selection of wines, spirits and beers.Our policy of attention to detail, quality accommodation at sensible prices and unrivalled service has won us many friends over the years, come and see first- hand, we'd be delighted to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingston Theatre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Theatre Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing