We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for staying in Hull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've been working in Hull most weeks for 18 months and have enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer; a quiet central location with friendly staff, good food and, free wifi.

Breakfasts are great, setting me up appropriately for the day, and the Hotel's location is close enough to allow me to have a walk around Hull city centre in the evening now the weather is improving.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for Kingston Theatre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I had never been to Hull and was going up there to spend time with a friend. I always like my own space too so booked a single room. upon arrival, I was in fact given a lovely family sized room. It was immaculate, and lovely and quiet. The only thing missing was a shower, which I do prefer, but the bathroom was clean and any excuse to have a long soak instead of a shower, was a bonus. I suppose there could have been better facilities to wash hair, a shower head perhaps? This was only a minor thing though as everything else was just perfect. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast was good, and very filling. Staff were friendly and polite. They had some overseas guests staying there for the first evening, who didn't appear to speak English, yet the staff did really well and even provided them with other breakfast items that weren't on the menu.
This hotel is in a central location, yet in a lovely leafy square, with gardens opposite. The area was quiet and the car could safely be parked just up the street on a car park.
This will now be the place I stay every time I visit Hull. I hope to do this a few times too!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angel333121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review, I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular how helpful the staff had been during your stay
I am delighted that you may be visiting again in the future
I very much hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Gary Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the New Theatre. Good location near the city centre but quiet. The room had everything I needed and very clean. Staff very friendly and good breakfast. If I had to find fault it would be in that the pillows weren't very comfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Woodhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After staying in some awful places in Hull I was fortunate to find this gem. It's not pretentious and has a homely feel. I have stayed in many rooms as this has become a home away from home. They now put an extra quilt in my room and usually remember my porridge.
The executive rooms are wonderful but there are equally nice rooms in the main hotel.
The greatest asset is the staff. Charlotte is fantastic and the lovely lady who serves breakfast even makes me smile, and I'm very grumpy in a morning!
The food is good with a to die for seafood platter which is sometimes on the specials board. If you fancy eating out there is a fantastic Chinese just behind the hotel too. Eating can be busy just before a show and parking is limited during show time too.
The only niggle is that some of the fittings in the bathrooms make having a bath difficult as they seem to stick on shower.
If you haven't tried this place you should give it a try. It's far better than a chain.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need and it's usually accommodated.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waupley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review, I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent visit, I'm please to tell you porridge is a permanent fixture on the breakfast menu and new super soft pillows have been placed in each room in addition to this we have now rolled out quilt top mattresses throughout the hotel for a perfect nights. so nice to hear you like the 'homely' feel of the hotel and the pleasant surroundings
I will pass on your kind comments to the members of staff in particular Charlotte, who indeed brightens up the dullest of mornings
I thank you for your patronage and hope to welcome you back shortly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have spent many weeks staying at the Kingston Theatre Hotel on business. M

My overall impression is one of a well organised and well run hotel but their greatest asset is the staff who are friendly and always able to assist with enquiries.

You may also be lucky to hear Margaret singing at breakfast.

It is very convenient for access to both the old and new parts of town.

Highly recommended.

Dr. Chris Martin

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good friendly staff. Hotel location a walk away from Hull station. Rooms clean but all differ in decor and temperature from warm to cold. Excellent English breakfast served and I phone charger on request. Good budget for over night stay only downfall are the dim economy lights in room very depressing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twista p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited the restaurant for a pre show meal last night.the staff were very welcoming and attentive, The restaurant was nice and it was great to be able to eat in pleasant surroundings with no loud music and with tables far enough apart so as not to feel hemmed in and to be able to have a decent conversation with very little background noise. The food was nice but only nice and a little expensive for what it was. Overall however it was a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,298 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Theatre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Theatre Hotel

Address: 1-2 Kingston Square, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £60 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingston Theatre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and accommodating 'The Kingston Theatre Hotel' has delivered Some 30 years of uninterrupted service, independently owned by the Osborne family and located in the heart of the city centre - opposite the Hull New Theatre, Overlooking the Beautiful Kingston Gardens, we are known for our warm, friendly and convivial atmosphere, with no hard and fast rules you find in larger hotel chains.Providing 28 very well appointed bedrooms from cosy doubles to large executive rooms with a wide variety of amenities including Bathrobes Slippers Mineral water and complimentary Wi-Fi .Our award winning restaurant & bar offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes and a good selection of wines, spirits and beers.Our policy of attention to detail, quality accommodation at sensible prices and unrivalled service has won us many friends over the years, come and see first- hand, we'd be delighted to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kingston Theatre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Theatre Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing