We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely place to stay - had a great family room with really comfortable bed and loads of space. The staff were very friendly, especially Maggie the waitress, and the breakfast was splendid . The quiet leafy square gave it a continental feel and I highly recommend it if you are staying in Hull - will definitely book again (instead of the usual chains we have used in the past, which were not bad, but this is just so much better for a comparable price)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redmondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a review
so pleased to learn your stay was a pleasant one, in particular the level of service we provide, i will pass on your kind comments to Maggie she we be thrilled to hear


I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future

Kind regards

Gary O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for Kingston Theatre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A hotel full of old world charm. If possible try and get a room in the Victorian Suite. The rooms are very spacious with nice extra touches, such as the towelling dressing gowns and slippers. The staff are very welcoming and very helpful. Very handy for the theatre. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

For the price and the promised "executive suite" we were surprised to have to walk to another grotty building to find our room. A suite it was not... Shoving a couple of armchairs in a room does not make a suite. Next time we will grin and bear a Premier Inn!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KarringtonKarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review, very clearly we did not meet your expectations, this is very concerning to me, as we take great pride in providing our guests a outstanding experience, a commitment we have succeeded in for 28 continuous years
should you ever allow us the opportunity to welcome back in the future please contact me, i would be honored to over see all aspects of your stay to ensure you have a pleasurable stay

Kind regards

Gary O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here on May 10th. There are simple no words to describe how amazing Gary and the staff are.
Having viewed several venues in Hull Kingston Theatre stood out by miles. Nothing was too much.
Myself and my 3 bridesmaids stayed the night before with plenty of room to get ready.
My hubby and I were given the Emily suite for our wedding. Wow!!! The room was lovely, the bed was massive. All food was lovely catered to special diets and last minute number changes. I simply delivered all my table accessories and they did everything else.. some venues wont do this.
Everything ran smoothly even managed a break in the rain... only bad thing was that it had to end.
Thank you again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MauriceHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

From the moment we stepped in this hotel and met Gary, 2 years ago, I knew this was the place to have our wedding. There was no need to "shop around". Now, after the big day I cannot thank Gary and all the staff enough, for making the day run smoothly, stress free and provided a wonderful venue with a fantastic atmosphere. The beautiful ceremony room, with floral archway, later made to be the evening reception room with dance floor, whilst we had the wedding breakfast, was unrecognisable. The food was wonderful and the dessert by far a work of art :) Myself and my 2 bridesmaids stayed the night before the wedding and a family room was organised for us. Clean, quaint, comfortable, spacious - spacious enough to allow a bride, her bridesmaids, hairdresser and photographer to all do their thing.
We were put in the Emily Suite, the night of the wedding. Myself and my now husband adored it. The biggest bed I've ever slept in, with a TV, DVD player and a view over looking the gardens, which was beautiful with the gorgeous sunshine we had. The bathroom was spacious with both bath and shower.
Breakfast was included both days providing full English and other options such as croissants, toast, yoghurts etc plus fruit juices and plenty of tea/coffee always being offered. Again, staff friendly and helpful at all times.
The organisation was nothing short of faultless for us. The room for the wedding breakfast was decorated wonderfully with a mixture of things provided by the hotel and ourselves. All we had to do was drop off a box of our things and they worked their magic.
Thank you to all involved. I would recommend Kingston Theatre Hotel to anyone. For visitors to the city, the location is central to anything you could need.
I am local and would definitely wish to stay here again for any special occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thumbaleena78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely 3* hotel. The rooms are big, clean and very tidy. The staff is very helpful and nice. They are always trying to keep people happy. Although I had to empty my room at 10.00 am, they let me stay 2 more hours. I had to wait for somebody to pick me up, so I spend another 2 hours at the reception hall and they never asked me to leave the hotel. The breakfast was delicious. They serve typical English breakfast and also other food such as cereals, fruits, jam, etc. The hotel is located in a very nice area of the city. It is very close to some of the Hull's attractions. Nice place to stay when you are in Hull!

Room Tip: I was room no.10. It is a quite and sunny one, with a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We looked at many wedding venues in Hull and Gary at The Kingston Theatre Hotel was by far the most helpful in assisting is with our daughters wedding day. Months of planning and last week the day was fantastic. Gary and the staff were so helpful. The meals, the atmosphere, the rooms, the evening was brilliant. Thank you Kingston. Faultless and well recommended

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MTBHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,299 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Theatre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Theatre Hotel

Address: 1-2 Kingston Square, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £60 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingston Theatre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and accommodating 'The Kingston Theatre Hotel' has delivered Some 30 years of uninterrupted service, independently owned by the Osborne family and located in the heart of the city centre - opposite the Hull New Theatre, Overlooking the Beautiful Kingston Gardens, we are known for our warm, friendly and convivial atmosphere, with no hard and fast rules you find in larger hotel chains.Providing 28 very well appointed bedrooms from cosy doubles to large executive rooms with a wide variety of amenities including Bathrobes Slippers Mineral water and complimentary Wi-Fi .Our award winning restaurant & bar offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes and a good selection of wines, spirits and beers.Our policy of attention to detail, quality accommodation at sensible prices and unrivalled service has won us many friends over the years, come and see first- hand, we'd be delighted to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kingston Theatre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Theatre Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing