We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable small hotel in Hull City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable small hotel in Hull City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time, usually stay at the Premier Inn but this Kingston Theatre Hotel was more competitively priced and included breakfast. Would stay here again, the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean and the facilities were good. Would stay here again, excellent location for the shops and places to visit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susanlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    180
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
116
198
50
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great choice for people visiting Hull. We received a warm welcome from caring staff who were able to solve all of our concerns. The rooms are large and the breakfasts hearty and served by cheerful waitresses. The location is central and located on Hull's only parkland square. There is live theatre within a one minute's walk, a real bonus in the evening! It's also within easy walking distance of most of Hull's museums and its gem of an art gallery, and the historic old town. Try it, you'll like it.
Mel F.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melvyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Manager at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Valued guest, thank you for taking time to write a review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the ambiance is very much Victorian and has a certain welcoming charm to the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you ventured in to the local area and experienced the charm of Kingston square with the Theatre and delightful gardens, as Hull's last remaining square we take great pride in encouraging guest to explore and discover all the delights of Hull

I do hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Gary O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A welcoming and friendly staff await at this ideally located hotel for central Hull. Stayed 1 night in comfortable and clean single en suite. Excellent cooked breakfast included. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank krysiahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Theatre hotel for 1 night, in a family room. The hotel provided a cot bed for free, so our 2 year old slept in there while the 4 year old had the single bed and we the double. Excellent quality, staff very friendly also towards our rather active children. The restaurant was very good, they made up a children's dish on the spot according to our sons wishes. This saved us from having to take the children out to dinner past their bedtime. The hotel also recognised afterwards that we had been charged the wrong amount for the food and credited us with the difference the very next day! Overall a very pleasant stay and I would definitely book again here. Quiet location, central Hull and very good value for money as well.

Room Tip: We had a room with a bath but no shower, good for kids but less so for an early morning sponge off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests Than you for your very king review
i'm pleased to hear you and your family had a great stay with us, I know it can be exhausting travelling with children, we try to take some of the stress away leaving you to relax and enjoy your stay
I do hope i have the opportunity in welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Gary O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a family stay here in May, booking 3 rooms in total. We had a family, double and executive room. The executive room was in a separate building but that wasn't really a problem and as there was a wedding one night it meant that we were not disturbed by any potential noise. The room itself was largeish, had a very large and comfortable bed in it but only one chair. The bathroom wasn't large but more than adequate. There was an ironing board, iron, trouser press, fan and heater in a cupboard which would all have been useful if we had needed them. A nice touch. The breakfast was plentiful and very nicely cooked. Nothing was too much. I would like to particularly mention all the reception and waiting staff who were extremely well mannered and actually made our stay enjoyable. I have travelled the world and stayed in many hotels that I would never return to but I have to say that I would definitely return to this one. Thank you to everyone that our made our family get together so wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely place to stay - had a great family room with really comfortable bed and loads of space. The staff were very friendly, especially Maggie the waitress, and the breakfast was splendid . The quiet leafy square gave it a continental feel and I highly recommend it if you are staying in Hull - will definitely book again (instead of the usual chains we have used in the past, which were not bad, but this is just so much better for a comparable price)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O, Owner at Kingston Theatre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a review
so pleased to learn your stay was a pleasant one, in particular the level of service we provide, i will pass on your kind comments to Maggie she we be thrilled to hear


I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future

Kind regards

Gary O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A hotel full of old world charm. If possible try and get a room in the Victorian Suite. The rooms are very spacious with nice extra touches, such as the towelling dressing gowns and slippers. The staff are very welcoming and very helpful. Very handy for the theatre. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Theatre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Theatre Hotel

Property: Kingston Theatre Hotel
Address: 1-2 Kingston Square, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingston Theatre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and accommodating 'The Kingston Theatre Hotel' has delivered Some 30 years of uninterrupted service, independently owned by the Osborne family and located in the heart of the city centre - opposite the Hull New Theatre, Overlooking the Beautiful Kingston Gardens, we are known for our warm, friendly and convivial atmosphere, with no hard and fast rules you find in larger hotel chains.Providing 28 very well appointed bedrooms from cosy doubles to large executive rooms with a wide variety of amenities including Bathrobes Slippers Mineral water and complimentary Wi-Fi .Our award winning restaurant & bar offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes and a good selection of wines, spirits and beers.Our policy of attention to detail, quality accommodation at sensible prices and unrivalled service has won us many friends over the years, come and see first- hand, we'd be delighted to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingston Theatre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Theatre Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing