We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gilson Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Village Hotel Club Hull(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingston Theatre Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Hull Marina(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel Hull(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Hull(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Hull North Hotel(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral of the Humber Wetherspoon(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hull Central(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
67
105
102
54
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
105
102
54
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimited parkingcity centredecent sizebreakfast staffgreat value for moneybar arearailway station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked a double room and a twin room online but when we arrived it turned out it was two double rooms, and our teenage kids didn't want to share a bed. The website said it had parking but we couldn't get parked and didn't want to leave our hire care in a nearby backstreet as recommended at reception. There just seemed to be drunk and shady looking people around and the place had a weird smell about it. To be fair the rooms had been cleaned quite well but the cleaning products seemed to be masking a fusty smokey fried food kind of smell. Terribly dated and shabby looking decor and furniture. The reception staff were just young girls. They were friendly but not that helpful really. We just handed our keys back and said not thanks and we left. We just had a bad feeling about staying in this place....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonius-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I have read all the reviews and was expecting a real dump but this is not so, admittedly the car parking is not the best but the staff are friendly, the beer cheap and the food properly cooked and good value for money! What people have to remember is that this a city centre hotel for bargain basement money! No issues with my room either it's clean and large although could do with a lick of paint. All in all a nice hotel for those on a budget

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprinter313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife and I and her Mother and our nephew had the misfortune to stay at this Hotel we had a double twin room booking....The rooms were unbearable hot , the decor was not to a very high standard ....there was only one pillow provided for each bed and in our room a second TV was just sitting on floor .....The windows were filthy and covered with bird droppings ....the plug in Bathroom would not come back out in the room my wife I stayed in ...the noise throughout the night outside Hotel was terrible ...However the best part was the Breakfast in the morning ...on arrival in breakfast area we found the food all left on the serving hot plates , unfortunately everything was stone cold ..the automatic toast machine did not toast the bread even after being put through five times .......... the waiter who could not speak English brought fresh eggs in shells when asked for fried eggs..avoid like the plague..

Room Tip: Stay Away Terrible Hotel
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullAmmoLocnLoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed fri and sat night. Hotel in poor state of decor and in a very busy area for traffic and drunks through the night if you, like us, are in a front room.
Staff were very helpful but seemed overworked as were not always visible as they seem to do more than one task- but they were always very polite.
Room not too bad- clean but dated and outside window didn't shut properly which is why I know so well about the noise all night.
We were unfortunate that an absolute nutter was in a room adjacent and decided at 3 in the morning to wake everybody up and try to pick a fight with someone outside- this went on until 5.00, so we didn't stay the second night.
Breakfasy VERY basic- dilute orange jiuce not concentrated was a first for me.
Be aware it seems to attract groups of binge drinking groups on a weekend so is not relaxing, shame, as if there had been no noise it would have been tolerable

Room Tip: get a quiet room at the back
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

this hotel was great, from the staff to the room and the location. would def stay here again.

Room Tip: the room was spacious and very clean.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews