We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly , accomidating stay.”
Review of Gilson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Gilson Hotel was a delightful stay, I spent a weeks time at this place . The front line staff was so very kind and helpful. They gave me great advice on how to get around town and helpful tips on places to go for a nice dinner. The location is prime for getting around ,finding entertainment and plenty of shopping, food and fun. The rooms where clean .

Room Tip: Double occupancy/Twin bed rooms have desks, were single does not. Book ahead you can find better dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL_VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen The Gilson Hotel for you stay in Hull, we are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again in future and should there be anything we might do for you on your next stay please do not hesitate to let us know, we will certainly do our very best to look after you!

Kind Regards
Pannu M.
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

the hotel is good if you out in hull for night out the rooms have loads of space the shower was let down no cold and the hot was very slow staff were brill food cant fault bar good clean and tidy hotel is great for the pubs

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger spoggy wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all our comments with utmost seriousness and we will be investigating your issues accordingly.

Kind Regards
Manuel Pannu

Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Gilson Hotel and certainly won't be our last visit. The hotel location was excellent for all Freedom Festival venues. It was within walking distance of anything you could want from Shops to Restaurants. Very friendly staff throughout the hotel. Our room was large and clean and was easily suitable for 4 guests. Continental breakfast was included in the price and was good value. A special mention to Dave the bar man who's friendly happy approach made us feel right at home. Free wi-fi was a bonus and kept the younger guest entertained throughout the visit. Value for money was excellent. Already looking to book for next years Freedom Festival.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Gilson Hotel for you stay in Hull.

We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again and should there be anything we might do for you on your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival, we will certainly do our very best to look after you!

Kind Regards
Pannu M.
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, my last visit was 4th September 2013.
The current management have improved the hotel greatly.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff most helpful.
Pleasant bar/lounge well managed by David.
I will return to the hotel on my next visit to Hull without doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again and should there be anything we might do for you on your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival, we will certainly do our very best to look after you!

Kind Regards
Pannu M.
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was absolutely fascinated by the Gilson Hotel rooms. We have stayed with friends in some rooms and all of the were perfectly clean. Neatly made beds, absolutely no dust and that fact made me happy because I have very bad allergy simptoms because of the dust. Also very friendly and always smiling staff, especially housekeepers. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who want enjoy their staying. And by the way the location is perfect, Hotel is in the city centre and 5 min to walk till Station.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are good as was ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kisiaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest,

I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also really impressed by the level of satisfaction you have expressed with regards to the customer service received throughout your last stay with us. On behalf of my Team Thank you!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require anything throughout your next stay in Hull.

Kind Regards
Pannu M.
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I thought this hotel was very good value for money. Rooms very comfortable and very clean, I will definitely be recommending this hotel 2 friends I was made very welcome.
One member of staff stood out 4 me he was on night duty his name was Louie he was extremely helpful and answered all of my questions and a hotel is always much better when u have friendly staff there.
Hopefully I will be returning very soon
Thank u 4 making me so welcome

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tittykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Gilson Hotel for you stay in Hull.

We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again and should there be anything we might do for you on your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival, we will certainly do our very best to look after you!

Kind Regards
Pannu M.
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed in a twin room 26/27 August 2013 and was very impressed. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Beds were OK and the location is great. Breakfast was a fabulous continental selection of toast, croissant, pan au chocolate, a variety of cereals, fruit juice and a good selection of fruit was on offer. The shower was good and hot and for a budget hotel it left Travelodge standing! The only negative was the limited parking - but, there is plenty of parking nearby. There is an excellent Indian restaurant (Cinnamon) around the corner that offers an amazing meal deal Monday to Thursday and the food there was so good we went back both nights. It did exactly what it said on the tin - great value - I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_A733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Gilson Hotel.

Your comments have been really appreciated and we would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here with us on your next visit to Hull.

Kind Regards
Pannu M.
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#10 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
938 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#15 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Campanile Hull - City Center
Campanile Hull - City Center
#17 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilson Hotel

Address: 11A Anlaby Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £28 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the centre of Hull, the Gilson Hotel boasts super-fast free WiFi in all areas, late bar and limited free parking on site. Hull Railway Station is opposite the property, approximately 200 yards away. The rooms each have moderns en-suite bathrooms with either a walk-in shower or a bathtub. All rooms have a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels. The Humber BT and Sky Sports Bar is open 7 days a week for residents and public. Breakfast is served weekdays from 07:00 until 09:00 and from 08:00 until 11:00 on weekends/bank holidays. The property also has meeting rooms for meetings, parties or celebrations that can house anywhere from 2 to 200 delegates. The Humber Bridge is a 20-minute drive away and the University of Hull is 2.7 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Gilson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing