We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful at the Gilson”
Review of Gilson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilson Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After reading some negative reviews on here (1-2 Stars) we were slightly concerned about our stay, but decided to give it a go anyway. We decided to leave the car parked in the train station car park over night and as it was a bank holiday it only cost us £4. It was only a 1-2 minute walk to the hotel from the car park, and on arrival to reception we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who gave us our room key and the wifi code. We headed to the room which seemed clean and spacious. We had read reviews about smells of cannabis, and used condoms in the beds but our room seemed fine! When heading for our night out the reception staff called us a taxi which arrived in 5-10 minutes. The bar area was showing the football, had a pool table and good selection of drinks. Check out wasn't until 12 which gave us a nice bit of time to recover from a terrible hangover! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobsbigtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass this onto the rest of the Team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Kind Regards
Manuel Pannu
Sales & Rooms Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for one night decent room and a very helpful gent on reception. Will stay here again when in Hull. Location is away from the main pubs + clubs but is easily reachable by taxi. There is also a pool table and nice bar within the hotel for people wanting to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard5003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Gilson Hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and I am glad that you had a pleasant experience with us.
We are trying our very best to provide excellent customer service at all time and I am happy to hear that you found our staff very helpful.

We are refurbishing all our rooms and we are very looking forward to welcoming you back here for your future stays in Hull.

Kind Regards
Manuel Pannu
Sales & Rooms Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

During my stay more than one of us were bitten a number of times by bed bugs. We had to detol the beds to try and stop this. The bathroom ceilings had lots of mould on with stains on the bedroom walls too. The hotel reception and bar are quite pleasant which is quite fooling as the rooms are not. There is a strong smell of cannabis near the lift and at the main doors. I would avoid this hotel unless desperate.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danwhattam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all our comments with utmost seriousness and we will be investigating your issues accordingly.

Kind Regards
Manuel Pannu
Sales & Rooms Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

If you consider the stats....they have so many terribles.....I stayed it was also terrible....the pink paint and horrible christmas decorations just highlight how desperate this hotel is..for peoples money and then how bad service they provide.

I found a used condom in the bedding....absolutely disgusting...that the staff or should I say the young indian girl tried to imply that it was mine....

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Anil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all our comments with utmost seriousness and we have investigated your issues accordingly.

Just for your reference the only Indian lady working here has been formally interviewed and she confirmed that she has never had to deal with a condom in bed sheets complaint by any guest staying with us, maybe because it has not been reported to reception.

I would also like to let you know that we have an external company who is looking after all our rooms’ linens and all of them are going through strict quality checks.
On top of this the Housekeeping department makes sure our rooms are well cleaned before any new arrival every single day.
Furthermore all rooms are going through a second level of inspection in order to make sure all respects the quality levels set by the management.

We might be cheap but I can assure you that we do care about our most valued Guests. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Pannu Manuel
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break in Hull staying at the Gilson Hotel. This was a really good value for money hotel, a great location, a stones throw from railway station, a 10 minute walk to football ground and the same to nightlife in old town, and 5minutes to shops. Rooms were adequate and clean, nice bar with sky sports and very friendly staff, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass this onto the rest of the Team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Kind Regards
Manuel Pannu
Sales & Rooms Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I live in Beverley and normally pay about 30 to 40 pounds on taxis to hull. So I decided to book a hotel..which worked out loads cheaper!!!! This hotel was lovely and clean. The bathroom looked fairly new. My friend and I really enjoyed it. The nightlife is pretty much on the door step! We shall be here again soon! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Gilson Hotel.

Your comments are really appreciated and a special Thank you on behalf of all my Team, they always try to deliver best service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit to Hull.

Kind Regards
Manuel Pannu
Sales & Rooms Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Gilson Hotel was a delightful stay, I spent a weeks time at this place . The front line staff was so very kind and helpful. They gave me great advice on how to get around town and helpful tips on places to go for a nice dinner. The location is prime for getting around ,finding entertainment and plenty of shopping, food and fun. The rooms where clean .

Room Tip: Double occupancy/Twin bed rooms have desks, were single does not. Book ahead you can find better dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL_VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen The Gilson Hotel for you stay in Hull, we are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again in future and should there be anything we might do for you on your next stay please do not hesitate to let us know, we will certainly do our very best to look after you!

Kind Regards
Pannu M.
Sales & Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#10 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cornmill Hotel
Cornmill Hotel
#12 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
919 reviews
3 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilson Hotel

Address: 11A Anlaby Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £29 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the centre of Hull, the Gilson Hotel boasts super-fast free WiFi in all areas, late bar and limited free parking on site. Hull Railway Station is opposite the property, approximately 200 yards away. The rooms each have moderns en-suite bathrooms with either a walk-in shower or a bathtub. All rooms have a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels. The Humber BT and Sky Sports Bar is open 7 days a week for residents and public. Breakfast is served weekdays from 07:00 until 09:00 and from 08:00 until 11:00 on weekends/bank holidays. The property also has meeting rooms for meetings, parties or celebrations that can house anywhere from 2 to 200 delegates. The Humber Bridge is a 20-minute drive away and the University of Hull is 2.7 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Gilson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing