We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£51
Expedia.com
£51
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£44
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
136
142
131
73
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
136
142
131
73
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre decent size great value for money cooked breakfast arena kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Had an excellent stay. Good quality bedding and towels. Spacious and warm room. Staff very attentive, helped us select the best room for us. Will certainly revisit at next opportunity. Perfect location for good shopping and restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We booked here through booking.com and the hotel or booking.com lost our reservation..... I'm glad!!!

While the faulty towers hotel receptionist was trying to fix the mess of the lost reservation we went for a drink .... oh my lord what a mistake.

The bar was quite modern although looked like something from 50 shades of grey red leather chairs etc. The bar it's self smelt like some one had flushed a toilet with 10
Years of excrement it wasn't attractive. I ordered a drink to look over and see a bottle of Tabasco sitting there see through yes see through the entire contents had separated to water. We sat there near a window that was drafty it had a bannister at head level like some ballet class was going to come in at any minute for a practice and thought we would see what the good old people of trip advisor rated that's where we quickly decided to leave with out going to a room.

This was enough we went back to reception where Manuel had got no closer to resolving the situation with booking.com and I'm glad, I quickly took the phone from him and asked booking.com to cancel the rooms, we went to the mecure hotel up the road that was £10 per room cheaper yes you read that right where we decided to settle.

Definitely the city of culture it was like visiting the migrant camp in Calais at the gilson

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank ScottChloe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ManagerGilson, Manager at Gilson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am extremely sorry to read what happened throughout your last stay with us.

I am afraid to inform you that I do not work at Reception Desk as you can probably imagine and I certainly do not recall any such situation occurring at our Reception desk ever.

With regards to the faulty towers, 50 shades of grey and the rest of your comments I'd probably avoid any further comment.

Once again thank you for booking with us and thank you for all your proactive and useful feedback.

Kind regards

Pannu Manuel
General Manager - Gilson Hotel Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Read some reviews on here. Yeah it's a bit tired. But room was clean bedding clean no noise hot water for shower basically everything was great for the price. Would definitely stay here again. If around this area.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 548martinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

a well placed hotel in the city centre, clean with friendly staff,stayed in a twin room which was very large,booking was very simple & breakfast can be had for £4.95 pre booked at the hotel.there is also a happy hour on drinks which works out great value formoney

Room tip: good location
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Stunning visit. Most enjoyable. Splendid views. 2 pints of beer and 2 cokes for less than a fiver so terrific value right there. Best moment of our stay was whilst enjoying a cold beverage in the bar we were thrilled to see Mr Bean being shown on the large screen TV (it's always been a favourite programme of mine), so it was brilliant to catch up on that even while away on my travels. Perfect location - but I'd recommend giving 'Cinnamon' Indian restaurant a swerve.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dimitripayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews