We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place to stay. Good spacious rooms and very good car park”
Review of Vale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vale Guest House
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Convenient location. Very close to centre of th town and free car park and free wi-fi

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Vale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

This 'hotel' is the worst i have ever seen. We have many complaints about it here are a few.
Our bedroom and bathroom light didn't work they finally fixed the bedroom light but we had to put up wth no light in our bathroom, we had paid extra for an en-suite bathroom but had to shower in the shared bathroom down the corridor.
I sat on the single bed and fell through it as the wooden slats underneath the matress had been broken and taped back up.
The door to our room from the corridor didn't shut properly, it shut just enough to get it locked.
We were told the cost included a full english breakfast and that it was enough to keep you going all day. This was the worst breakfast i had ever seen and was still very hungry afterwards because not only was there little to eat but i don't actually think it was edable.
We had a guest over for a couple of hours and we were charged an extra £45 on top of what we had already paid.
The staff were not very friendly at all and didnt really make us feel welcome. The Hotel was very quiet but that is because we were the only 2 people staying there and i am not surprised at all!

I will say that The Eagle the pub on the corner didnt look great but the staff and customers were friendly and helpfull. We recommend that if you go to Hull then to stay somewhere different to The Vale Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KaynKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

To say this is a budget hotel is an understatement. The location is a 10 minute walk from the bus / train station, so it's about 20 to 25 minutes from the city centre on foot. It is very close to the KC Stadium though - 5 minute walk. So quite handy if your looking for somewhere cheap to stay after a Hull FC or Hull City game. When I booked I was told it included breakfast, but when going down the next day I found out the manager gave the cook the day off. The room I had couldn't have been anymore basic - a bed, small TV and a old cupboard. The bed itself was extremely uncomfortable. Id recommend paying the extra for the city centre big chain hotels or looking for another cheap pub stay.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
3  Thank EuropeanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

THE PLACE WAS AWFUL. I have never ever seen a place like this. The first room we was offered looked like a prision cell. the second room wasnt much better. To just look at the bed made me feel sick.
If you ever do decided to risk it, remember to wipe your feet on the way out.

The website tells you about a friendly atmosphere..... what a joke!!
Again, you have been warned! Give me a cardboard box anyday, rather then ever step foot in that place again!

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
6  Thank SCULLYBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monsterlobster, manager at Vale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

this is malicious review due to booking being no-show and cusomer being charged cancalation fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Stayed here for one night, & whilst it isn't a luxury hotel, it was fantastic value. The rooms are huge & spotlessly clean. Staff were very helpful. If you're looking for somewhere to lay your head (on a very comfortable bed) at bargain prices this is the place for you.

I'd also recommend the pub on the corner (The Eagle) for it's super friendly & helpful staff (provided us with plates & cutlery so that we could eat our Chinese takeaway in there, & stayed open late to let us finish without feeling hurried at all). It's a bit "spit & sawdust", but don't be put off, they were absolutely fantastic.

I'd also highly recommend the Chinese takeaway (Sunnys?) next door. Again stayed open late for our order, delivered it to the pub, astonishingly cheap with loads of free extras, and by far one of the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kateyk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laulau0496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
812 reviews
2.3 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#14 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Campanile Hull - City Center
Campanile Hull - City Center
#16 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Guest House

Address: 6 Coltman Street | Anlaby Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU3 2SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £23 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vale Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Apart Hotel has been under new management since March this year. We are decorating and improving the property continuously. Our staff are kind and helpful with any question or query. We strive to make any guests stay a comfortable happy stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Vale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing