We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our famous son”

Wilberforce House Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Wilberforce House is the birthplace of William Wilberforce, famous campaigner against the slave trade. Admission to Wilberforce House is free. The museum tells the story of the transatlantic slave trade and its abolition, as well as dealing with contemporary slavery. Galleries also offer a fascinating glimpse into West African culture. The permanent displays at Wilberforce House include journals and items that belonged to William Wilberforce, including original costume. There are many significant items linked to slavery and the campaign to abolish it. Recently opened galleries contain wonderful displays of local crafstmanship, clock-making, Hull silver collection, the East Yorkshire Regiment and Edwardian Hull Last entry 15 minutes prior to closing
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Our famous son”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I remember visiting the museum with my mother and now I take my grandchildren but it still holds the same magic for me all these years later. The house is a monument to one of our famous sons and you can get a real feeling for how he lived in the house but more than that is how they have managed to convey the conditions of slavery,.both the capture & transport of these unfortunate human beings. The house is a first class history lesson

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    97
    45
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Grim but interesting”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The story of slavery is well set out. You can get round quickly using the exhibits and bold writing or you can take your time reading all the text. There is a trail for children to follow but I don't think they like to be in there too long. A good museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“middling”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I felt I could have learned more about this great man. The material is a bit one dimensional. I came away after 40 minutes not feeling I knew much about him other that what he is famous for.
The building itself has had all its internal features taken out so there is not that much to actually see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidL187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“sobering”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Thought provoking exhibition- and distressing to appreciate there is still wide-spread slavery today. The conditions in the transporting boats were horrific- how could anyone beleive it was acceptable to take people and make them their property?
well worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Learn all about Wilberforce and Slavery”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very much a history lesson on Wilberforce's life and the battle for the abolition of slavery, so great if you're a history buff but not much of a feel of a lived-in house. A pity some of the rooms couldn't have been left as family rooms, rather than all being given over to information boards and pictures. Beautiful old house.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue_historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilberforce House Museum also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Wilberforce House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing