We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth visiting, but a little bit tired...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilberforce House Museum

Wilberforce House Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Wilberforce House is the birthplace of William Wilberforce, famous campaigner against the slave trade. Admission to Wilberforce House is free. The museum tells the story of the transatlantic slave trade and its abolition, as well as dealing with contemporary slavery. Galleries also offer a fascinating glimpse into West African culture. The permanent displays at Wilberforce House include journals and items that belonged to William Wilberforce, including original costume. There are many significant items linked to slavery and the campaign to abolish it. Recently opened galleries contain wonderful displays of local crafstmanship, clock-making, Hull silver collection, the East Yorkshire Regiment and Edwardian Hull Last entry 15 minutes prior to closing
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Worth visiting, but a little bit tired...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I remember visiting this as a child and being impressed. I told this to the reception staff and they told me the place had been re-designed in 1987 so it wasn't what I remembered. They were right.

It's an interesting place, but the displays are definitely now stuck in the late 1980s. 27 years old. Upstairs there is a lot of information regarding the slave trade - and it seems as if William takes a back seat to this. He was an important figure in the abolition of the slave trade but not the only one. His religious views are rather less populist these days - he certainly wouldn't approve of Hull's night club scene.

It's free! Like a lot of the museums in Hull. An interesting visit, but not as good as I remembered.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    88
    42
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Carryduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“INFORMATIVE, SAD, BEAUTIFUL, IMPORTANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I went to the Wilberforce Museum as a schoolboy and returned last week to take my Girlfriend on a tour of Hull.

The Museum is Wm Wilberforce's House from his days as MP for Yorkshire. His act of Parliament which outlawed slavery in the Empire in 1833 was also the year of his death. Slavery throughout the world fell like dominoes afterwards.

The museum is free and well worth a visit. Its rooms and gardens are well kept and the oak panelling throughout the house is amazing. Each room beholds a stark reminder of our terrible past with first hand accounts of the terrible cruelty suffered by British held slaves. It is hard to understand how people actually opposed the abolitionist movement.

William Wilberforce was a Briton of the finest calibre. He deserves a greater place in world history. Go visit his museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David_from_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Steal away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Who cannot be astounded and disturbed by the historical significance of this building, and this man? A must for any visitor, along with the local hostelries.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Preigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Anyone with an interest in history and especially slavery will really enjoy this place. A bit over the heads of younger children but well worth a visit for adults and older kids. Even better it's free.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Our famous son”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I remember visiting the museum with my mother and now I take my grandchildren but it still holds the same magic for me all these years later. The house is a monument to one of our famous sons and you can get a real feeling for how he lived in the house but more than that is how they have managed to convey the conditions of slavery,.both the capture & transport of these unfortunate human beings. The house is a first class history lesson

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilberforce House Museum also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Wilberforce House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing