We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Thieving Harry's

Thieving Harry's
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stumbled upon this place when exploring Hull's Old Town. amazing little place with excellent food and the quirkiest of settings. So go - it's fab!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnzySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    96
    25
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally love this place! ”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We totally love this little place. We've visited as a family since it first opened on Humber Street as a little pop up cafe. Glad you have chosen your original pop up location as permanent premises. This place is cute and quirky, love the vintage furnishings. Always made to feel welcome with our children.

The food is delicious, my advice is to visit regularly and try all the cakes, they're all scrummy. Have enjoyed expansions to the menu since our first visits and the broader range on offer has not comprimised the quality of the food. Took my Dad who said his breakfast sandwich was the best he'd ever had, praise indeed.

Well done Harry's, a gem of a place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshiregal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best americano in the marina”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Looking for somewhere new to go for lunch in hull came across this place on tripadvisor. The place is indeed as one reviewer said 'quirky' . The lunch menu is a bit limited and my grilled spinach and artichoke grilled sandwich was a bit too greasy. But the coffees here are excellent. My americano was better than at Starbucks, cafe Nero or any other chain and my companion spoke highly of her latte. Unfortunately we had no space left after our lunch for any of the cakes on offer especially the muffins with blueberry cream looked very yummy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank roodkapje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant place, Very comfortable!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Great place, great service, great food!
Contrary to what a couple other reviewers have written it certainly isn't scruffy and a dump!
Well worth a visit guys.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Scruffy but worth visiting”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I visited during the Sky Ride when the place was swamped with cyclists.

The place is scruffy, untidy, nothing matches and it looks a dump.
The food, coffee and service however are very good. It is a friendly place, and I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ERYBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thieving Harry's also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Thieving Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing