We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”
Review of Crown and Anchor

Crown and Anchor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston-upon-Hull
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown and Anchor
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Food good but what makes this place is the staff. They are so friendly and greet you like old friends. Highly recommended if you are in this little area of loveliness.great to be able to look out to sea as it is very close to the Point.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank AndreaMcNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a great pub/guest house, right on the edge of the Humber where it meets the North Sea. There are 5 rooms. I secured one in late Feb 14. Brilliant food served in the bar with real coal fired heating downstairs - see later gripe.
Spurn Point is the real attraction. Sadly. access to that finger of land is now destroyed (for now) by the winter storms. Landlady Jean really worries about the tourists. But let's get down there and appreciate the beauty of primeval elements.
The food is excellent, the location also. One minor gripe, there was no obvious heating in room 3. All else was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Amazed to see all the positive reviews of this pub. The pub is indeed wonderfully situated, serves real ales and good value food. However, all of this is negated by the landlady who sets a new low in rudeness and appalling customer service. In addition to her sour manner she caused great embarrassment to my party by loudly criticising us for moving one extra chair to our table so that we could accommodate everyone and then when I tried to order food she interjected to stop the helpful barmaid from incorporating a minor element of flexibility in the menu. These are not isolated incidents and this landlady represents a throwback to the bad old days of customer service. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Visited during our visit the area. Only had snacks, cold beverages and hot drinks, but service was friendly and atmosphere relaxed. We were allowed to leave our car in the car park while we went walking, returning about 4 hours later. We were glad of the rest and the open fire. We managed to hop in to the window seat when it became vacant and watched the sun go down and complete darkness set in. Loved the fact it has a certificate to state it is the most easterly pub in Yorkshire, nice little talking point/ trivia! Down side , no dogs allowed in , but to be fair he refused to move once we reached the car! We had travelled quite a way for our day trip so it was nice to fully recharge in here before hitting the road again. Would recommend and would like to return myself.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotfuzzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have been to this wonderfully situated pub before and it didn't fail this time. Lovely welcome by a very pleasant barmaid. Just had sandwiches and a soft drink but nicely presented. The pub was quiet so we got a window seat. Tide was out so more intriguing. Not much shipping going past though! Would definitely recommend and I will be back on my next visit to the area. I love the place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We visit this pub at least 4 or 5 times a year. The owner may be a little eccentric, but who wouldn't be, in such an isolated place near Spurn Point? We have never experienced anything but courtesy in the 20 plus years we have been going there. The food is always good, and, as a lover of real ale, I am always surprised that they consistently manage to serve good quality Tim Taylors' real ale, despite their isolation. Many other pubs out that way have tried to keep real ale in a good condition and have failed........ And the view over the Humber from the pub is up there with the absolute best East Yorkshire has to offer. When you add to this that there is an excellent 2 mile or so circular walk from the pub car park down the riverside and back along the seafront to the pub, as a 'blow the cobwebs away' Sunday afternoon jaunt , it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank ChrisofRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've been here twice in the last twelve months and each time had to witness the two worst examples of rudeness and bad manners I have ever seen in the customer service sector. The first time she (the owner I presume) got a friends drink order wrong at the bar and then had the audacity to say he had asked for the wrong drinks. Then most recent, she told us off for moving two (empty) chairs to our table to accommodate our party of six. This time she said our actions had disturbed some diners at an adjacent table - which was nonsense. The diners were as visibly aghast as us and apologised.
This is a real shame as the location, the interior and the beer here is first class. Will I go back? Highly likely as it is the only pub in the area, and being someone who likes tradition and doesn't respond well to change, I think I shall almost be disappointed if next time I don't receive a tongue-lashing from this unpleasant old crone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChrisJBMilnrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
864 reviews
0 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#10 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,385 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Raywell Hall Country Lodge Park
0 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,644 reviews
0 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Anchor

Address: Kilnsea Road | Kilnsea, North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU12 0UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Crown And Anchor Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing