We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent City Centre Hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is in a great location, with good affordable parking at the entrance. The hotel is adjoined to a shopping / entertainment complex and multistory car park. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean and roomy. Breakfast is free. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinderella6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Hi Cinderella6565,

Thank you for your kind comments we are always pleased to see our guests enjoying the city and hotel.

Hope to welcome you back very soon

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    284
    136
    39
    25
See reviews for
126
199
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel is directly next door to the Hull Railway station. In addition it is in the centre of town so great for transport links. It was clean, friendly, very comfortable, good price and staff were really friendly. No bath but great power shower. Didn't eat in restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was great. As much continental as you wanted with really good selection. Cooked was scrambled egg, beans and fab sausages and all freshly cooked so not left for hours.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good as good windows so no noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Hi Nikiann,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,

Kind Regards

Why not take advantage of our new weekend rates starting from as little as £39.00 per night including Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my teenage son when we were going to visit Hull University. The Hotel is excellently placed for the Uni which is a 5-10 minute drive away, for shopping or sightseeing in the City, and for travel by car or train as it is situated right next to the mainline station, with a large multi storey car park integrated into the hotel complex. The car park is not free to hotel guests though. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, and although it was quite basically furnished, it was clean, modern, and functional for a short stay. The hotel has been built into a new modern shopping mall, with many food outlets, and a very large Tesco. I was very pleasantly surprised with how modern and welcoming Hull City was, as soon as we stepped out of the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caliwanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Hi Caliwanabee,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our family have used this hotel as an "assembly point" before leaving the next day for the Ferry Terminal at Hull for holidays in Holland.

The hotel is centrally positioned in Hull City Centre, and has the benefit of a large and secure car parking facility that allows direct access to the hotel entrance.

The staff are always pleasant and the rooms are adequate, what you would expect from the Holiday Inn Express range.

The slight downside is that breakfast can be a bit hit and miss, and we have always noted that there are insufficient staff to ensure that recently vacated tables are cleared and cleaned - be prepared for a bit of DIY cleaning before breakfast.

Entry to the hotel from Ferensway at night is an interesting experience the first time around - I'll let you work it out for yourself rather than spoil the fun!!

We found a great Chinese restaurant across the road from the hotel which is strongly recommended ( sorry, can't remember the name, but you can't miss it,) and, if you have time, a visit to The Deep is a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hi Alan,

Thank you for your comments with regards to the hotel, I am sorry about the Breakfast, and having to clear your own table is not good in my eyes, I have spoken to the breakfast staff on duty with regards to clearing tables as quick as possible.

I am sure Paul from Wokkas Chinese will be glad to hear about your comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I went on a groupon deal. fantastic value the meals were lovely, although table covers would have made it. The staff were very pleasant, welcoming. We felt relaxed and very comfortable the room was modern, clean and smart. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faisalabad Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Locaton is great since it is in the Center of the city. However rooms are tired and below average holiday inn express standard

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qamar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Qaftab,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the accommodations you received. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a good hotel, right in the centre of Hull, close to Railway station and the main shopping area.

I stayed overnight on business and had a good experience from beginning to end. Check in/out was easy and the staff helpful, rooms are a good standard for the price, clean and tidy. Room service was easy to order and arrived nice and hot, good quailty food at not a bad price (even with a £2 surcharge). Breakfast (included in the price) provides all the normal options to set you up for the day.

All in all, ideal for an overnight business trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the hotel, there is a busy main road at the front of the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hi TLMacc,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, I have also passed your comments onto the chef, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Why not take advantage of our new weekend price starting from £39.00 per room.

Kind Regards

Debbie Hutchins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
471 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing