We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations exceeded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I could find some minor faults with this hotel, like the rather grumpy receptionist, the fact that the sofa bed wouldn't open properly and that there were insufficient towels or blankets for three people. However, the quality and size of the room was excellent for the money, The breakfast, although perhaps not top quality, offered a decent variety of fare and was more than adequate.

All-in-all, three of us spent the night here and had a good enough breakfast for a total cost of £39. What's not to like.

Four out of five to Holiday Inn Express. Had the receptionist made an even half-decent effort at a welcoming smile, I'd have been tempted to give this a five star rating but in this country, so many hotels still don't understand the importance of basic politeness and civility. A pity really!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshButFair51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    273
    133
    38
    23
See reviews for
121
191
49
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Really nice stay. All basic requirements as you would expect in a holiday inn. A bit annoying that it wasn't made clear on the website that parking was extra but as a hotel it was very good. What's great is that you are very close to a whole load of restaurants as well so you have plenty of choice. Can't really fault the place.

As with all Holiday Inns, I drop a star for the standard of the breakfasts. All the same, all appalling! No one likes powdered eggs!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I normally stay at the Holiday Inn Hull Marina, so was disappointed to find them full and chose to stay here instead. However, I was pleasantly suprised and given the price may now have to switch allegiances! It is your usual Holiday Inn- clean, comfortable, nice rooms and a good bathroom. Folk have commented about the car park but I found it very straightforward- you drive in up the ramp and it's on the very floor you arrive at.

Very central so I suppose it could be noisy but could not hear anything at all from the 5th floor. 2 downers for me though- the staff were uncharacteristically (for a Holiday Inn) unfriendly and disinterested. A few times when I visited front reception they were chatting with friends or co-workers who had dropped in. I ordered room service which was excellent- but the poor guy had to return to my room 3 times with missing or incorrect items!

Security- I agree with other comments. On the day of my visit the key activated lift was not working so anyone could stroll in from the car park and access all floors of the hotel. When I mentioned this the receptionist assured me there was always someone on reception (not true, often no one there when we needed assistance) and there was CCTV in the lifts (presumably so if someone did break into a room they'd know what they looked like!). Given the location they really need to sort this out.

Lastly, I was there on business and using the venue for training- provision was poor in my view. Every time we came out for tea/coffee, we had to find someone to top it up which is no mean feat as they seem to skimp on staffing. Lunch was meagre- petty perhaps to comment on food and drink but always top of the list for training delegates!

So in all, the hotel is good and clean, decent food for hotel residents, but not the best in terms of staffing (attitude and lack of!).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesroley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Second time we have stayed here.
We choose this hotel mainly bexayse of price and location as we go to hull for the shopping its right next door to shopping center abd is city center.rooms are spot on only critism is breakfest could be little better but for under 50 notes cant ask for any more!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

lovely clean hotel reception very helpfull,only complaint was there was no plug next to mirror for straightners,great location and having to pay parking overnight £7 pound but did not mind to much because got a great deal with hotwire.

Room Tip: great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moiraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 for three nights in a double room on the sixth floor.

The hotel is very centrally situated and ideal for visiting the city and the nearby area. The train station and interchange are right next door so the location, from that point of view in particular, is very convenient. It's perhaps worth noting that the adjacent Car Park is not operated by the hotel and is fairly expensive - as one might expect in a City Centre. From reception level there is a direct exit into the car park and thereby to the adjacent shopping mall. I travelled by train so the parking wasn't an issue.

The room was clean and modern. It had a standard double (4ft 6) bed and a sofa bed. The double bed was reasonably comfortable for one, but I'd imagine the bouncy mattress might have been less so if there had been two of us. I did not use the sofa bed.

The room itself was quite compact - about 10ft x 13ft excluding the bathroom and entranceway. There were open shelves and hangers for clothing etc., a desk, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The window could be tilted slightly for ventilation but could not be opened. There was a flat screen TV and telephone. Rooms are airconditioned. There is complimentary WiFi throughout.

The bathroom was similarly very compact with a walk-in shower, WC and washbasin. The only supplied toiletry was a liquid soap dispenser.

This is all more or less on a par with hotels in this price range in the UK but does not compare at all with the same chain's premises in the USA which are a lot more roomy and have far superior beds.

I understand that all this hotel's rooms are fundamentally the same with the only variation being a choice of double or twin beds. There are no superior rooms and, a serious omission in my opinion, no option to choose a King Size bed (without the sofa-bed) which would be a far better choice for a couple.

Noise suppression isn't very good. I was frequently aware of the movements of other guests in the corridor, and this represented a real disturbance early one morning when an inconsiderate herd of elephants were all leaving their various rooms for breakfast at about the same time. One might think that noise penetration would be considered more carefully in a relatively new building.

As is practice with HI Express hotels, there is a complimentary breakfast and I have to say, I was quite pleasantly surprised at what was on offer. Alongside a reasonable selection of breads and pastries were fresh fruit, dairy products, cereals and a good assortment of hot and cold drinks. And there were three hot items - scrambled egg, baked beans and sausages - all of which were actually kept quite hot (a rare treat for such self-service offerings). As a complimentary service, I thought this compared very well to some very over-priced alternatives in other establishments I have used recently.

I was, however, very disappointed, as others have noted, that there was nothing to restrict someone walking in from the street into the ground floor lift lobby and taking the lift directly to any of the guest floors. Reception is one floor up, totally separate from the street entrance so anyone can enter without even passing by the desk. The lifts are equipped with keycard readers but these appeared to be totally without effect.

Also, the two lifts appeared to work totally independently of each other, so pressing the call button on one did not automatically call the other. Consequently, users often called both, which in turn caused far too many unnecessary stops when a lift arrived at a floor where the intending user had already been served.

And the fact I had to return to reception after arriving at my room door no fewer than four times to have my key refreshed was somewhat irksome. On one of these occasions, I only had to quote my room number - not anything else such as my name - for this to happen, which doesn't indicate well for overall security.

In summary - it's an adequate but not exceptional budget hotel, typical of it's market segment in the UK, with modern, clean, very compact rooms. There is a worrying question mark over security, but it's the (somewhat better than expected) free breakfast that makes a stay here better value than other similar brands/properties.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCAN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden
Level Contributor
481 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Used this hotel for an overnight stop in order to attend a friends summer BBQ. This 'new' build is directly accessible via a multi story car park with covered walk way and ideal for anyone wanting to be close to the travel hub and main shopping areas. The entry to all floors is controlled via your room key and feels very safe and secure. The reception was friendly and they explained that we would have a reduced parking fee applied on leaving. The room was fine with good views from floor 6 and everything was clean and tidy. After a good nights sleep, the next morning we enjoyed a good selection of breakfast (hot and cold) before a bit of retail therapy. The receptionist kindly pointed out that we could leave our car parked until 1530 for the 24 hour inclusive price of £7 which I thought was good value. The total cost of bed and breakfast came to £39.50 which is a bargain. Will definitely use again.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views accross the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaspandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Jaspandsal,

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the hotel and staff,

Hope to welcome you back very soon

Debra Hutchins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
441 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing