We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Modern, clean rooms. Love the choice of pillow firmness - nice touch. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Despite tie city centre location, the room was very quiet. Parking in the shopping centre is really convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    281
    135
    38
    25
See reviews for
122
196
49
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for the weekend and had a nice time. The hotel is very modern the rooms are basic but have all that is required, the room was very clean and non smoking which is nice. We were on the 7th floor so had a good view over the town and river. Breakfast was quite good and there is 3 hot items available, sausage, scrambled egg, and baked beans. a selection of bread and sliced bread for toasting. plus a quasant . plus unlimited tea and coffee, fruit juice. The hotel is very impersonal but the reception staff were pleasant. Car parking is in the multi storey car park and reception is on the first floor,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A very good hotel for the price,only a couple of negatives one was we had a menu in our room advertising meals from 6 pm when we went down they were not serving food, it may of been a one off but we should of been told when we booked in, only other little negative was the pillows they were quite hard.
Will book again but will take my own pillow

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebdo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here with my daughter as she came over from Leeds for her birthday 11th May 2013. Her friend was supposed to come but had to pull out at the last minute so it was too late to cancel and I didnt want her staying there on her own. The room was basic but very clean and had all the amenities that you would need for a short stay like ironing facilities, hairdryer, tea & coffee etc. The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff were very helpful. The only downside to this hotel was the breakfast it was absolutley disgusting. The sausages were terrible, the scrambled eggs were over done and the bread was tasteless, infact it was so bad, even with a 'munchies' hangover I couldnt eat it........ Dont get me started on the coffee......blaaaaahhhh!!!! Other than that, not a bad hotel..............If you're reading this message all senior staff members, please look at resourcing your brakfast ingredients, or taste them for yourself and you will see where I'm coming from

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear christine g,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the breakfast served during your stay did not live up to your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving what we offer. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton Upon Humber
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms are OK for a one night stay, fairly clean & tidy but not huge with little storage. Parking is £7 over night in the multi storey car park next door which links through to the hotel. Don't bother with the breakfast it's very cheap & tasteless....hot food is cold & cold food is warm.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Richard N,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied during your stay. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Can I start with the fact that I do not normally stay in budget type hotel accomodation but what I can say is that this hotel exceeds hotels I have stayed in within the £100 plus per night category. Car park right behind and £7 per night and you can walk straight into the hotel from there.

Hotel was immaculate, staff very welcoming from the outset and continued that throughout my stay. Breakfast was very good, they say food option is limited but I found it plentty and it was of good quality.

Room was very good and given they give free wi-fi and breakfast included in my £40 per night charge I think you would be hard pushed to beat this hotel for value anywhere in the UK. This hotel is a credit to its staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rdie_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I travelled to Hull City from America to surprise my grandson on his tenth birthday. I'd contacted the management at HIE/Hull City Center to arrange for an early check-in, as I had been flying all night, and wanted a chance to freshen up before the mid-afternoon affair. I received a prompt reply to my inquiry. Upon checking in, I found a delightful room that met my needs perfectly. The front desk clerk (Dan 'the Man') got me situated, and later the front desk personnel arranged for a cab to the restaurant. My room overlooked KC Stadium. The fairly new St Stephens shopping mall is about 1 minute walk from the hotel, Paragon Station more like a minute and a half, which was very handy when I had to catch the airport bus at 720 AM. Housekeepers respected the 'Do Not Disturb' sign, but the day I took it down, my room was serviced in a timely and professional manner. The free breakfast was an added bonus. Last month, I had noticed on Trip Advisor that this property had been given some stick about 'only 3 hot items(eggs, beans, sausage). What those reviewers omitted was there is PLENTY of other items avaiable (fruit,yogurt,juice, toast, pastry,danish). Everyone, from the assistant general manager, to the desk staff, to the support personnel made me feel like I was part of the family. My girlfriend and I are coming to Hull for the week after the Open Championship in July, and can't wait to put our feet up at the Holiday Inn Express in Hull City Centre!!!

Room Tip: I had a room on the 6th floor facing KC Stadium, and I heard NONE of the street noise described in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archiedelver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased you had a good time while staying in the hotel, I have passed on your comments to the staff involved and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Debbie Hutchins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
456 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing