We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here on Saturday,just me and the husband. We was at a party in the city centre so it's location was fabulous,the room was clean and sufficient for our stay. The staff was loverly and engaged in conversation with us and made us feel very welcome, especially the lady who checked us in;very polite and happy to serve us I believe her name was Alison.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrypest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    264
    129
    37
    22
See reviews for
116
183
48
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed for one night on a Sunday. Very good value, rooms clean and comfortable and good wifi.
Great breakfast included in price.
The staff are exceptionally helpful and pleasant. I had brought my own soya milk and asked for it to be put in the fridge, they said they would of provided it if I had phoned ahead also if requested they will provide gluten bread.
Excellent parking, and close to everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Its a Holiday Inn Express. And that is precisely what you get. Its central, its clean its functional. One great thing in its favour - the staff. Without singling anyone out - and this was the fifth time we have stayed there - they are sooo helpful, nothing is too much trouble, really bend over backwards.
Well done.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back away from the road. it overlooks a shopping centre car park and is VERY q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimT1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here as a family with 2 kids. Just for one night. Staff on check-in were helpful and explained all we needed to know. Excellent location right in city centre. Parking £7.00 for 24 hours easy access from car park to Reception. Room very small when sofa bed was made up had to side step round room which is not ideal with 2 kids and adults trying to get changed. Bathroom very compact but very clean, good shower, well lit. Telephone in room didn't work when we tried to call reception re Wifi. ( which is free) we could hear music etc from other rooms but once TV was in in room it wasn't an issue. For saying the hotel is in the centre if town there were not noise issues. Sofa bed was a very thin mattress fine for little kids (but as an average sized 11 year old our son found it uncomfortable.) what really let this hotel down was the breakfast area. Coffee machine was broken and the two hot water pots were not sufficient for the amount of guests, there were 2 staff trying to clear tables and refresh food dirty plates were stacked up on the side and not being cleared, the quality if the breakfast wasn't fantastic but was free! I had to work my way through 7 or 8 plates to find a clean one it wasn't just a smear it spot it was caked in food remains! Whilst I appreciate the breakfast area was busy I don't find it acceptable for freshly washed plates to be so filthy!... That said it may have just been a bad day. I would stay here again as with car parking, breakfast and a wholly acceptable room albeit small it cost less than £40 for the night for a family of 4. Just a shame about the dirty dining area. Bar is open until 01:00 with reasonably priced drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trollydolly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have stayed here a number of times when visiting Hull. As I always drive, the hotel is best accessed via the multi-storey car park that servers the shopping centre. This means that you don't need to brave the weather as you carry your bags etc. into the hotel! Reception staff are friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Bar area is a little lacking in atmosphere but this is normal for these types of hotels. If you need to eat & can't be bothered with restaurants, there area number of shops in the shopping centre to get food from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquila2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The location of this hotel is its most redeeming feature - it is a very short walk away from the Hull Paragon Interchange. The reception and restaurant areas are very pleasant and the staff who greeted me there were friendly. My room was on the 6th floor and at the end of a very long corridor. My first thought upon entering it was that there was no table or desk to speak of, which I found very strange. There were, however, some small holes in the wall beneath the television which suggested there might have been a table there at some stage and that it had been broken and simply not replaced. There were also several stains on the carpet and quite a lot of dust - it just seemed like nobody had used the room for quite some time. I returned to reception and requested to be moved to another room as I had arrived with the intention of doing some work (for which I needed a desk to put my laptop on). The man who sorted this out for me was friendly and it was no trouble at all. My new room was better. There was at least a table in this one, and it felt somewhat more 'lived-in' than the previous room, but there were still stains on the carpet (quite large red ones next to the bed) and something unknown spattered on the headboard.

Overall, I was quite disappointed. The location is fantastic and the staff are lovely (breakfast was also good), but for the price I was expecting something a little nicer and better looked after than what I found.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear LouiseAnne89,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is not a bad hotel, the room and amenities are fine. You get what you pay for and you are not paying much. However, what you expect in a hotel is a reasonable bed and it seems as if the Holiday Inn Express have bought the cheapest beds, the cheapest pillows and duvets. Admittedly we have a really good bed at home but what an awful night (lack) of sleep we have just had. A basic double, not king size, a mattress that sagged and bounced when either of us moved, so the night was reminiscent of student nights spent on lilo's with pillows that could not be thumped into comfort, and a duvet that lay over you more like a tarpaulin than a soft enveloping cover. Starting the day tired with a sore neck and back is not great. By comparison we recently had a night in a Citizen M hotel - also an economy offer - but an amazing bed.
My advice - despite the lack of romance, twin beds might be the way to go here.
And sadly we are here for another night. Gulp.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear kesEdinburgh,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the bedding prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing