We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Couple in our 50s stayed in a family room with 2 grandchildren aged 3 & 8.
Check in was efficient with friendly staff, room/bathroom clean & tidy, adequate towels & pillows.Stayed on a bed & breakfast basis at a very reasonable price of approx £50 for the 4 of us!. Minor maintenence problem remeded within minutes of contacting reception. Parking overnight & until the following day was £6.00 which we felt was reasonable. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay,
Hope to see you back soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    285
    136
    39
    25
See reviews for
127
199
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It is a Holiday Inn Express - so you get a Holiday Inn Express. Standard but perfectly acceptable rooms, everything is clean, breakfast is OK (although of course I'd prefer the full selection of hot items one gets at a normal Holiday Inn rather than just the beans, scrambled eggs and cheap sausages one gets at an Express).

Location wise it's ideal being close to Hull station and within St Stephens, so within walking distance you have lots of options for dinner in the evening. Customer service is pretty good. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rineu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we are glad to hear the location suits your needs and hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Arrived at 1.15pm with a group of friends and said we had a reservation. The receptionist snapped at us that check in was at 2pm then left us to it. We used the bathroom and were about to leave when a group of males came and announced their arrival. They were greeted warmly by another receptionist who had now arrived and were allowed to check in. My friend asked if we could check in and the new receptionist told us we could. The hotel itself was comfortable, breakfast was nothing special, I agree with the reviews in relation to the poor quality sausages and flavourless scrambled eggs. I also have a couple of bites on my shoulder which I am left wondering if they have come from the hotel. Such a shame as the location is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding check in, I have questioned each member of staff on shift and was told the rooms became available shortly after your first attempt to check in, check in time is 2.00pm and we do our very best to allow people to check in early if the rooms are ready for the arriving guests

I am very concerned regarding your comments about bites, as we are part of IHG hotels we have a very strict routine with regards to checking mattresses and we record each month mattress turnings and inspections. I have checked the room in which we believe you stayed in and I can confirm 100% we have no such issues which you are implying.

Should you wish to discuss this accusation further please feel free to contact me on the hotel telephone number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel, to attend a nearby conference. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and the hotel was well presented. I was then given my room key and off I set. Shortly arriving in the room I could hear a full blow conversation with the occupants of the room next door. Luckily they were talking about their college assignments and not anything else. The walls were so thin I could hear everything going on. I sat on the bed and the next think I knew was the occupant of the room on the other side had come in, and what ever happened in that room, caused my headboard to move. The room construction was so thin it was terrible. Had a good nights sleep apart from the constant sound of emergency vehicles travelling back and fro. In the morning I had breakfast, and this was disappointing. A hot selection of beans and sausages was on the menu, and a selection of cereals and fruit. Not a great selection, I opted for some fruit and yoghurt, but these were tepid and at room temperature, as it seemed the cold plate was not working or hadn't been switched on. I appreciate that it is an express hotel, but it was only adequate for the reasons outlined. Would I stay here again ? I suppose, as long as I had a room to the rear of the hotel and away from the main road.

Room Tip: As for a room to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papapilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Papapilo,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you found our hotel well-presented and our hotel staff friendly.

I am sorry to hear though that not all aspects of your stay was satisfying, particularly the room condition and breakfast options. I have taken note of your comments and shared them with our management for review to make necessary actions to address these concerns.

We are looking forward to your next stay and give you the best hotel experience.

Best Regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A great place to stay for business or pleasure.It is centrally situated in Hull with an ample car park near Saint Stephens shopping Mall.There are many good local restaurants and masses of facilities are situated locally.The railway station is only a minutes walk away.Ample ,varied breakfast and a very helpful staff at hand.The one criticism is that the car park is poorly signposted otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back and I am delighted your stay was a good one, I can confirm that I am in talks with the local council regarding street signs for the car park, however I yet have to hear from them and feel your frustration on this matter.

Kind Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a university interview. I had a late book in at the hotel at 12am the man on the desk was very friendly and always had a smile on his face. My room was clean and had all the basics I needed. Location was good at the very centre so was easy to get to the university and all the shops. I did not get settled in and into bed till about 1:30am. I was suddenly woken up at 3am by a loud bang and noticed a huge crack in the corner of the wall reaching from the celling to half way down the wall. Next I was woken up at 6am when the fire alarm in my room went off for 5 seconds then stopped, it was odd as there was no smell of smoke and I am a non smoker. It was very annoying and I couldn't get back to sleep afterwards. Breakfast was great there was a wide variety of good and drink to chose from and utensils were clean.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back and I am sorry to hear about the noise in which woke you up, I have enquired regarding the fire alarm and we have nothing listed for this date and no report from the fire panel to say it was activated, I have asked for a full investigation to be carried out including the company who looks after the fire security, but can assure you we have a full fire evacuation plan in the hotel which would be followed on every occasion of the fire alarm been set off.

Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

wanted to stay in somewhere interesting but was put off by the other reviews. This was basic but clean and comfortable and very accessible from the station. Felt safe for single woman traveler. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back and I am pleased you find the hotel to be safe for women lone travellers, I do hope we an welcome you back soon
Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
474 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing