We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good hotel but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We only stayed one night here and the experience was a positive one. The welcome was warm and friendly and the hotel in general and our room in particular were clean and well kept. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.
Being a city centre hotel, traffic noise could be a problem if you want the window open. The instructions for car parking are scant, you have to park in an adjacent multi story where there is an entrance to the hotel, it will cost you £7.00 per night. We found the bar prices were very high, but I guess you are a captive audience to a degree.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanWood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    257
    126
    37
    22
See reviews for
115
177
47
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having just traveled up from London having spent hours in a hot car I just needed to relax.

Easy to find and there is parking literally meters from the reception. (Can I suggest you put clear instructions on your website how to find the car park. Its not obvious).7/10

No one on check in but I was acknowledged by a nice young lady in the bar who said she would be a couple of minutes. 10/10

After an easy checking, found room to be clean and inviting. Received a courtesy call a few minutes later to check everything was fine.

Breakfast was adequate. This lets the hotel down. I know they say its free, but that's just marketing. Its included in the room charge. I would rather pay a little extra and get something a little better. But it filled a hole.

Checkout nice and easy again with a very friendly member of staff, paid for parking and was on my way.

Job done!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your points and comments, we welcome all reviews and hope we can welcome you back soon

Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Rooms are a good size we had a double room for 2 but had a sofa bed made up too. Choice of pillows too, drink making facilities in room was ok and actually had enough to make a fair few drinks. Bathroom was very clean plenty of towels. Shower gel and soap provided in there too.... The room also had air con. The free breakfast was really good value too. Plenty of choice including scrambled eggs. Sausages and beans. Bread. Pastries yogurt. Fresh fruit and juices and cereals. Bargin really and they kept on top so nothing ran out... Nice seating area and a large balcony where you can sit out weather permitting. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel does have a bar but as for any hotel is quite pricey. £5.95 for 1 gin n tonic!! Would stay again and would deffo recommend

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on this web site, we hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it was absolutely ideal. The location is perfect - very centrally located in Hull city centre. The standard of accommodation is good - its clean, modern and has all amenities one would need for a short stay. The staff were helpful, breakfast is good and overall the hotel represents very good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on this web site, we are pleased to hear you had a good time, hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent hotel, the staff were brilliant and friendly. The parking is only £7 for 24hrs and there is free wifi and breakfast. Rooms are a little basic, but at that price what more do you want??
It was raining and the staff happily found an umbrella for
The hotel is also located within the shopping centre, many places to eat and drink all under cover

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view point
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hi stayed at a boutique Hotel in Hull with full English breakfast for cheaper price -decided to stay at other hotel and cancelled this booking. Hotel reception felt impersonal-directed to computer to change booking-not my idea of a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YASOOJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear YASOOJANE,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the level of service you have received from our staff. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Couple in our 50s stayed in a family room with 2 grandchildren aged 3 & 8.
Check in was efficient with friendly staff, room/bathroom clean & tidy, adequate towels & pillows.Stayed on a bed & breakfast basis at a very reasonable price of approx £50 for the 4 of us!. Minor maintenence problem remeded within minutes of contacting reception. Parking overnight & until the following day was £6.00 which we felt was reasonable. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay,
Hope to see you back soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing