We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Protion Control Hotel Style....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Protion Control Hotel Style....”
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Well the good bits first.
Location is central. The hotel is new and is clean and everything works.
There!
Now for the rest.
This place is portion control hotel style in the worst way. The hotel is utterly functional but manages to upgrade itself to penny pinching. First by design; smallish room. Smallish toilet cubicle. Smallish bathroom with no bath. (No ventilation btw- room steams up in seconds during a shower). Cheap loo paper. No loo brush. Basic toiletries are nailed to the wall. No wardrobe. No proper cupboard space (you'll live out of your suitcase here). One of those card slots so you can't accidentally leave the light on if you go out..etc etc etc. But it’s not just the building design.

The breakfast is in line and is a shocker. No effort is spared to save money at the expense of quality. Orange juice from a machine that’s not even concentrate - proper chilled dishwater. No choice of tea. Prepared fresh fruit is from a tin (mandarin oranges and grapefruit!). Horrible little pre-packed cheeses (from the fridge-sigh) and no cooked meats to go with them. Poor quality and choice of pastry (croissants & disgustingly soft and un-fresh pains au chocolate). And if the austerity of the ingredients isn't enough to be going on with the thought and service follows up in the same style. Lets put the butter in the fridge so the customer can't spread it for example

If you want some ‘proper’ food you can if you want to pay for it. They will sell you a bacon sandwich to eat at your un-wiped table @ £1.75 if you ask at reception (Yes. That’s right. Ask at reception). But you had best not leave that too late - my last day saw a right huff and puff performance from staff (Head shaking and watch gazing) when a bloke ordered one at 9.20. Breakfast shuts at 9.30 you see. And I mean 9.30.Don't arrive and 9.29 and expect a leisurely twenty minutes over your tinned oranges ‘cos they are going to be pulling the shutters over the buffet at 9.30 sharp. (God knows why when there is nothing cooking or spoiling).

This soulless, threadbare and machinelike functionality is complimented by the minimalist approach of the staff. No welcome. We arrived on hour before check in time. Asked if it’s possible to check in early and the answer was a curt 'No' even before I had finished my sentence. No smiles anywhere from reception or cleaning staff. The two staff dealing with breakfast looked like the hotel handyman and the night porter (saves on a waiter I suppose). They had no uniform, were dressed casually and entirely inappropriately for working in a kitchen and dealing with food. One looked as if they had just walked in off the street, the other as if he had just finished fixing the cistern. Poor hygiene this I’m afraid!

This is a new hotel with a lot to learn - I have stayed in a HI Express in Edinburgh which was really nice and would return to. Not here though. Left here thinking that the needs of the guests were a hindrance to the routine of the staff and the business of cutting costs.

Recommend you stay somewhere that values it’s customers and knows it’s business instead.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyredeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    267
    132
    37
    23
See reviews for
120
186
49
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

You get what it says on the label. Comfortable room but the central location may deter you from opening your window. Very handy for the train station. Be warned that arrivals by car you have to drive past and turn left into a side street to enter into teh multi storey parking that take syou right to the door. Low cost overnight parking and free for an hour during the day. Good breakfast and handy for a wander around the limited highlights of Hull. I recommmend the Ferens Art Gallery if you have free half hour or so.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Stayed here for one night at the beginning of the month. The hotel is very centrally located, ideal if you like to shop as there is a new shopping mall built alongside the hotel, and the existing malls are not far to walk. The majority of the bars appeared to be a short walk into the old town, although we didn't see much in one night.

The hotel is what you would expect of a holiday inn express, simple, but comfortable enough for short stays. Previous reviews have made complaints about the noise from the main street below 'Ferensway', we didn't find this an issue at all. We were on the third floor, facing on to the street, and our stay was on what seemed a relatively busy Saturday night...we did not get disturbed by the noise at all. The room was basic but comfortable. The WC/Shower room layour is interesting...but there is no ventilation in here, how they have bypassed the requirement for ventilation I'm not sure; this means all the mirrors steam up faster than usual, and the whole room takes a long time to dry.

Breakfast is served until 11:30am on weekends, and there was quite a good continental selection. Checking in and out was swift and the reception staff are helpful and seemed to have good knowledge of the area. Car parking is via the shopping mall multi-storey, the reception staff will be able to validate your car park ticket at the hotel for £6 per 24 hours, however it is worth noting that if you leave on a Sunday morning it may be cheaper to use one of the car park pay stations as there are special rates on a Sunday....the reception staff will advise either way.

The hotel represents good value for money in Hull where there seems to be a very small offering of centrally located hotels. I would return again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city_break_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My husband and I had booked to stay for three nights in this hotel but decided to go home after two - we really needed a good night's sleep. Our room was on the third floor facing the main road and, even with the window closed, had two very disturbed nights. For some reason the emergency services feel it necessary to have sirens blazing whatever time of night (or early morning), added to the noise of late night revellers and general traffic, we were lucky to get a few hours sleep (and that was midweek).

If you are looking for a hotel with a bit of glamour etc, don't stay here, but if you are looking for something relative cheap and cheerful, this is the place for you. The room was clean, the breakfast was OK and the staff were quite helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu59London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

This hotel is central, new and with excellent parking although payable. From memory I'm sure that wifi is free. Better than the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

It's hard to get excited about HIE. They are a bit better than the travelodges and the like, but not massively so.

This was a typically average experience, good location, clean, safe, comfy yet simple.

The good: Wifi worked well (for free), TV was fine, location is excellent with a secure public car park which is very good value (£6/night, £15/3 nights, £21/week), always clean sheets and towels and well kept.

The showers are always excellent and the sinks are always too far from the wall and too badly lit to allow you to shave (but no worse than any other hotel)! Breakfast is fine for what you get, and at the risk of sounding like a total slob, you get a slightly nicer class of person than the very cheap hotels.

The only annoying factor was constantly having to go to reception to get my room card fixed.

The other really important thing to know is no restaurant in the hotel and there are no restaurants in the centre of Hull. The place is a dump. A real dump. other than a couple of Chinese places. I recommend the Tesco next door!

As for Hull, if you're working here then stay here. If you're on holiday then stay somewhere else. There are many pleasant villages in the area. Hull is a dump.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GR_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Recently stayed here for one night, and thought it wasnt upto the usual Express Inn Standard.

Positives

Good Location - Right in the centre but easily accessible, as you would expect for a hotel built above a shopping centre / car park.

Room & General Hotel Cleanliness - Clean and not worn. As to be expect from a hotel built in the last 2 years.

Must Try Harder

Cleck-in. Slow. One receptionists was dealing with a new arrival, one was on the phone try to deal with a previous customer by the sounds of things and another was wandering around aimlessly, she did come over and ask if we was being dealt with after a few minutes.

Room Air Conditioning - Very poor, hardly made a difference even on maximum in the room. The maintenance indicator was constantly flashing. It obviously flashes for a reason - Please sort it out. As soon as I opened the room door it was noticably cooler in the corridor than the room. I mentioned this on check out and was told I should have phoned reception as they control the temperature from their (?)(!)

TV - TV in the room switched on but couldn't change channels either with the remote control or using the controls on the TV itself. I asked for a replacement remote before going out in the evening. I believe it was changed but that didnt work either.

Breakfast - Choice & Cleanliness. It was the ususal HI Express breakfast. Not a wide choice as normal but at least it is something (Bread, Crossants, Pan-o-chocolate, Yogurts, Cereals & Fruit Juice / Tea / Coffee). What was disappointing though was the cleanliness of the Cutlery and Cups / Glasses, needing to select clean equipment rather than just picking something up expecting it to be clean.

Receptionist Knowledge - We was in Hull basically for a one night stop over and to visit 'The Deep'. No leaflets readily available in the hotel on local attractions, and the receptionist was particularly lacking on basic knowledge such as how far it was and if there was parking available. Surprising given it must be one of Hulls biggest attractions. She did however know in what folder to look for the information behind the counter so is suppose that was something. She said it was probably a 5 minute walk. Looking at the map it looked further so we didnt trust her and took the car instead. (It had parking for £3 but this offered a £2 credit on purchases in the shop - The Guide book was £2)

Reasonable

Car Parking - A reasonable £6 for 24 hours, to be expected given its central location I suppose.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenHenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing