We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Walk”
Review of Great Gable

Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous Walk”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Starting from Seathwaite we turned right through the farm, up Sour Milk Gill, pass Base Brown, over Green Gable and scrambled to the top of Great Gable.

Nothing too difficult or dangerous.

The way down was by a different route, which ended up south west of Styhead Tarn. We followed the river, over Stockley Bridge and back to the farm.

At a leisurely pace it took five and a half hours.

I've walked from Seathwaite several times and only just noticed (perhaps it's new) that the farmer allows parking on a field next to the farm. This is well worth £3.00 a day for a shorter walk and the knowledge that you won't get blocked in if you park on the narrow approach road. I've seen people blocked in before - not something you want after a hard day walking!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great fell walk.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Decided to climb Great Gable due to the peak of Scafell Pike being enclosed in cloud. It was an excellent climb from Wasdale Head up to Sty Head before the long steep climb up to the summit. Unfortunately the time spent on the summit was largely in cloud so we didn't get to enjoy the terrific views. Climbed down the opposite side of Gable towards Kirk Fell which involved a bit of scrambling as well as difficult negotiation of loose scree paths. Overall an enjoyable 5 hrs though your body will know it has had a good workout.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Gable via Green Gable”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was one of the great hill walks. We ascended from Wasdale Head up the river valley and up to a tarn from which we climbed a steep path,followed by scree to Windy Gap. A quick but vital detour took us to Green Gable and the view accross was magnificant.
The ascent up to Great Gable was through rocks and snow but well rewarded. The view down to Wasdale head is stunning.
We descended through Hellgate but would have preferred the easier route!!
A pint in the pub in Wasdale Head was a sweet reward!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jggy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Contender for Lakeland's finest”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I love this mountain. It features in Britain's favourite view, the reciprocal view from Westmorland Cairn on the top may be even better, it was the site of the birth of rock climbing as a sport, there are loads of superb routes up and around it and it hosts a moving act of remembrance around the war memorial on its summit.

Most walkers converge on Sty Head from Wasdale or Borrowdale and take the path directly to the top. The walk from Honister over Brandreth and Green Gable is deservedly popular too because of the extra height gained at the start. A start from remote Ennerdale makes a walk into an adventure.

My personal favourite is via one of the Napes Ridges - pick one that suits your ability as a scrambler or climber - none of them could be called a walk. Follow the climbers traverse past the crags of Kern Knotts and Tophet Wall, take the rising path after Great Hell Gate to "thread the needle" and take a break to watch the climbers on Napes Needle from the Dress Circle (I'm not making these names up). Then choose a scramble or climb (making sure you're up to the job and have the right gear) to take you to the top of the Great Napes and then scramble or walk to the summit according to your mood.

However you get there, pay your respects to the members of the Fell and Rock Climbing Club who are commemorated in a beautiful little war memorial which nestles in the summit rocks. Walk to the aforementioned Westmorland Cairn if it's clear and take pictures of Wastwater and maybe even the Isle of Man. Then pick a route off the top (a compass bearing is a good idea in the clag), taking care near the crags. You will have had a great day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of the great hills in England”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Surrounded by fantastic views of many of the best known fells, Great Gable's a heart pumping fell walk.
Ascent was in sun but chilly at the top followed by hail for 10 minutes then rain, and back to sun. Always be prepared for every weather type!
Clear pathway up Green Gable at first then onto Great Gable. But the descent was marred by scree having overrun the path we intended to take so it got hairy on the way down. Make sure you go on the defined routes and don't follow out of date maps like we did!
Great sense of achievement at the end and some fantastic panoramic photos to keep the memory alive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulHarness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Gable also viewed

Eskdale, Lake District
 

Been to Great Gable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing