We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”

Review of Elk Cottage

Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Elk Cottage rear gated terrace and open plan gardens
A view from the upper lawned gardens of Elk Cottage down to the private courtyard garden
The courtyard garden with teak garden furniture, a Weber BBQ and locally sourced charcoal for guests
The kitchen and utility room at Elk Cottage with dishwasher, microwave and washing machine / dryer
The well equipped kitchen at Elk Cottage, guests receive a generous welcome hamper and wine
The courtyard garden at Elk Cottage looking towards the raised flower beds leading up to the lawns
A great place to relax at the end of the day exploring in the Lake District and the Pennines
The Dining Room at Elk Cottage has french doors opening out onto a lawned area
The Dining Room opens through to the reception room with a cast iron wood burning fire
Elk Cottage living room with wood burning fire
The ensuite Master Bedroom with a five foot king size antique oak bed and 2nd private entrance
Another view of the Master Bedroom with an antique linen fold carved king size bed
The Master Bedroom ensuite bathroom with a shower over the cast iron bath
The second ensuite bedroom at Elk Cottage with a super king six foot bed and hand painted wardrobe
The second ensuite bedroom has a 6 foot bed that can be arranged as twins as requested
The second bedroom ensuite shower room with a rainfall shower and chrome heated towel rail
Elk Cottage Floor Plan - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
Elk Cottage is a 5* rated Grade II listed sandstone cottage with two ensuite BRs and wood fire
The summertime view from Glassonby over the Eden Valley to the Pennines
The Eden River footpath near Daleraven within walking distance from Elk Cottage
Neighbours in the village of Glassonby and the early morning view over the Estate
The National Lottery funded playground in the village, walking distance from Elk Cottage
The wintertime view from the lane leading to Elk Cottage across our family farm
The view to the Pennines from the village of Glassonby
The nearby village of Melmerby in the foothills of the Pennines with a great bakery & village shop
Sailing on Ullswater
The Lady of the Lake
Lady Wakefield
Dalemain historic house and lovely gardens
Fabulous hiking
A view over Ullswater in the early morning
The top of Honister slate mines in the wintertime
Hutton in the Forest historical home and parkland
Daffodils by the Lake
Great fishing
Our son quadbiking at Rookin House Farm
The Ullswater Steamers
Levens Hall amazing ancient topiary gardens
Sailing on Ullswater
The market town of Penrith
Aira Force managed by The National Trust ideal for walking
The Lady of the Lake - historic steamer on Ullswater
Sunset over Ullswater
Ullswater
Map of Ullswater
Rheged - a Lake Disrtict attraction with family activities, shopping, cafes, cinema and exhibitions
Steamer on Ullswater leaving Howtown
Ullswater in Spring
Ullswater in the snow
Summit of Hallin Fell overlooking Ullswater
Aerial view of Ullswater
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Penrith at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Elk Cottage is in the most peaceful of rural locations. So well placed for country walks. Exceptionally clean, fully and well equipped. The welcome hamper is wonderful, a thoughtful mix of practical and luxury treats!
Communication is friendly and could not be more helpful. We are already planning our next visit - simply cannot keep away from this idyllic country retreat. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Hi
Thanks for your lovely review. It's super to hear that you had a great stay at Elk Cottage and enjoyed some lovely walks, there are some really splendid ones from Glassonby. We would be delighted to welcome you back for another visit, please feel free to get back in touch if we can help you with any information or to make a reservation for you. Best Regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schnauzer...
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another excellent stay!”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have stayed either at Elk cottage or the neighbouring cottage, Jenny’s Croft, 4 times now. Once again, this most recent stay did not disappoint. Elk cottage is so comfortable and homely. It is so easy to relax there from the moment you arrive. It is very well equipped and the welcome basket is always so helpful. Never been anywhere else that tops the range of supplies you get, including a bottle of wine! The outdoor space (although in parts not fully enclosed) is great for our dogs. They love it. Perfect location for the Pennines and Ullswater region of the Lakes. Always lovely to come back from a long walk, make up the fire, and relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2018
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review after your recent break at Elk Cottage. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Welcome Hamper so much and the dogs loved the outdoor space and lovely long walks in the local area - of which there are many !!!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneIrv...
Beckermet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay at ElkCottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Our visit to Elk Cottage was idyllic; the cottage itself deserved its 5 Star rating as everything was perfect and the attention to detail was superb! The location was ideal for a quiet retreat and the information on the recommended walks etc was extremely helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Hi
Thanks for your super review. We're so happy to hear that your visit to Elk Cottage was idyllic. It is a lovely location and it's great that you were able to enjoy the lovely surroundings and some local walking. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillswith...
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My elderly parents and I spent the most relaxing week at Elk Cottage. Our whole experience, from initial booking direct to the end of our holiday was fantastic - everyone involved was so friendly and helpful. We wanted for nothing during our stay, the cottage was so well equipped (even down to a full herb and spice rack). We've never seen a welcome hamper like it before, we felt very spoilt. The cottage was comfort throughout with beds we didn't want to get out of and it was spotlessly clean. A perfect place to relax and unwind - thank you to all concerned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to leave this super review on TripAdvisor we are delighted you enjoyed your relaxing stay at Elk Cottage. Thank you for your kind words they are much appreciated by us and our team as well as being useful for future guests looking to stay with us. We would be thrilled to welcome you back for a future visit. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyDowli...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A treat of a retreat!”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Booked this with Glassonby old hall and Jenny's cottage for a big family 60th birthday celebration and couldn't have wished for a better place. Accomodation in all three was stunning and there was something for everyone: walks for the walkers, drives for the drivers and a fantastic place to rest for the rest! The complimentary hampers were an amazing treat too - almost more than could be consumed in a weekend, 'doggy-bags' needed. The place was everything we were hoping for and more - will definitely be back! Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to leave this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Jenny's Croft for the 60th birthday celebrations. Your kind comments are much appreciated and glad you enjoyed the hampers!! Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip and we will be very happy to help. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie L
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Second visit to the lakes this time staying in Elk cottage with family including our 9 month old grand-daughter.
Fabulous quiet idyllic location, a fully equipped cottage to a high standard which was very clean with comfortable beds, travel cot and high-chair to use. There was a lovely hamper to get you started, and a big bowl of fruit. Also had a BBQ to use on those sunny evenings sitting out on the patio area.
Would recommend this place to anyone wanting a little piece of tranquility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Hi, thank you so much for the lovely detailed review following your visit to Elk Cottage, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay the location really is idyllic! We are pleased you enjoyed the welcome hamper and had everything you needed for your grand-daughter. We would love to welcome you back again to The Rowley Estates the next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and the Lakes! Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeptuneTr...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is our second stay with Rowley estates and Christine and Jilly were once again very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. We stayed here for 2 nights with our 1 year old daughter.

The cottage is in a very quiet rural village and ideally located for easy access to the Lake District. There are a few excellent pubs about 2 miles away from the cottage in the next village.

The cottage is equipped with everything you could ever need and a real home away from home. The welcome pack that was in the cottage was excellent and full of high quality food products.

The only downside for us was that cottage has different levels from room to room so for our young daughter it meant one of us having to follow her around, this was nothing against the cottage and we will definitely be staying with Rowley estates again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Hi
Thanks for your kind review. Yes, Glassonby is a great village; lovely and peaceful but with easy access to amenities and to the Lake District. Your little girl might be big enough to enjoy the village play area if you come again! It's super to hear that you appreciated the welcome hamper too. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing