We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Christmas”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Riverain

The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap, equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap, equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap, equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall
Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
The expansive gardens of neighbouring Blencowe Hall.
Riverain has a private  gated garden and private parking surrounded by a sandstone ha-ha wall
The welcoming Carriage room reception is equipped with broadband wifi, leather sofas and a log fire.
The  kitchen has a Bosch gas hob, electric oven and Dishwasher
The breakfasting kitchen at Riverain.
A view from the Breakfasting Kitchen into the living room through the original sandstone archway.
The Living Room with a cast iron log burner - complimentary logs and kindling provided for the fire.
A view from the breakfasting kitchen towards the main reception room.
A view from the Carriage Reception room at Riverain towards the kitchen and Derwent Room hallway
The ensuite ground floor Derwent Room with beds that can be arranged as a 6 foot double or two twins
The ensuite shower room of the ground floor Derwent Room
The first floor Haweswater Room which is ensuite with a shower room.
The Haweswater ensuite shower room with limestone tiling chrome heated towel rail.
The first floor Ullswater Room which is ensuite with a bathroom
The original sandstone walls have been preserved in use where possible.
Fresh flowers are placed in guest bedrooms during the season.
A view of Blencowe hall, showing Riverain in the background.
Riverain is set within the grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
A view of Riverain's garden in the early springtime
An aerial view of Riverain and Blencowe hall displaying Riverain's amazing location.
The village green of the nearby town of Blencowe, complete with a pub and shop.
The Petteril River, just 2 miles from Riverain, a perfect family day out.
Boats can be rented for sailing on Lake Ullswater
Local Herdwick sheep crossing a footbridge
Cumbria in Spring
Hutton in the Forest, a historic house in Cumbria.
The beautiful gardens in Hutton
Levens Hall, a fine Elizabethan Mansion.
A view of Patterdale, near Glenridding
There are prehistoric monuments in the surrounding areas, such as this Castlerigg stone circle
Long Meg and her daughters stone circle in Little Salkeld
Cumbrian Fields in the early morning
Blea Tarn, a Site of Special Scientific Interest in the Lake District
A beautiful view of Cumbria
Sailboats on Lake Ullswater
The Ullswater steamer, a fun ride and day out
A view from the top of Honster Fell, one of the many walks in Cumbria.
Riverrain Floorplan - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
Discover the market town of Penrith
Aira Force at the side of Ullswater owned by The National Trust and great for walking
Lady of The Lake - Ullswater steamer
Rheged _ Lake District attraction with family activities, shopping, cafes, cinema & exhibitions
Sunset over Ullswater
Sailing on Ullswater
Steamer leaving Howtown
Summit of Hallin Fell overlooking Ullswater
Derwent Water
Derwent Water
Fishing on the River Eden
Golfing in the local area
Keswick a Lake District Town
The Lady of the Lake
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Lowther Castle & Gardens
Penrith at Christmas
Lady Wakefield
Quad Biking at Rookin House
Theatre by the Lake - Keswick presents award winning productions
Ullswater in the spring
Ullswater in the winter
Upfront Art Gallery, Coffee Shop and Puppet Theatre
The Winter Droving Penrith
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cgg5072
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome Christmas”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in Riverain for the the week over Christmas and had a great time.
Jilly and Mel really looked after us when we initially got there.
We stayed in Glassinby Old Hall last year so we are used to the high standards of the accommodation.
We found there was more to do this side of the M6.
There's an endless supply of firewood and the buildings are done to a very high standard.
We're booked in Blencowe Hall with all our friends soon so can't wait to return.
The people of Greystoke were also very welcoming and they Boot and Shoe is a great pub with great food.
We didn't feel like outsiders at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Hi, Happy New Year to you all and thank you for taking your time to leave this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Riverain and it's great you got out and about in the local area and enjoyed the welcome and delights of The Boot & Shoe pub. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again to The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
1 review
“Look no further - this is THE place to stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We live in NZ and were planning a trip to the UK to visit friends and family in Nov-2016. We have always wanted to visit the Lake District and saw this trip as an ideal opportunity to escape to the country. We had a limited time window as to when we could be in this region due to other commitments. And after being seriously frustrated by other sites who were stipulating check-in/check-out dates that suited them, I came across this accommodation offered by the Rowley Estate.

What a difference in their approach!!! Right from the get-go Christine and Jilly couldn't have been more accommodating as they responded quickly to my inquiry and were warm, friendly and professional throughout our stay. They really wanted to make sure we enjoyed our time at the Riverain Cottage.

The photos and description of the Riverain Cottage suggest that it is a cut above the rest - and WOW, we were not disappointed - you won't be either.

And as for the welcome basket - that was really thoughtful - particularly after a chilly, wet drive down from Edinburgh.

I do not hesitate recommending this accommodation to you. Would I want to stay again? - in a heartbeat. I have no doubt that we will be back to stay one day as there is so much to see and do in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive and detailed review of your stay at Riverain last month. It was great to welcome you all as part of your UK holiday and we will pass your kind comments back to Jilly and her team.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our cottages next time you are planning a return trip to the UK.
Wishing you all a very happy Christmas and good health and happiness for 2017.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Dream place to stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful, welcoming cottage with great views and atmosphere. We were very comfortable and enjoyed using the cooking facilities and spending quiet evenings by the log fire. Disabled facilities were good with a ground floor bedroom and walk-in shower, although the two steps between the bedroom and kitchen areas and kitchen and lounge were a bit of a struggle for my husband as he only has the use of one hand and there was only a bannister on one side. We all really enjoyed our break, such a special cottage in one of our favourite areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick one thing, all lovely
Liked least: For us the steps were a bit of a pain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a Trip Advisor review following your visit. It's great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and i am glad that the aluminium ramp, grab handles and shower chair which we provided were helpful during your stay. We are sorry to hear that the two steps between the bedroom and the kitchen and between the kitchen and the reception room (which are described in our access statement) were a challenge for your husband and apologise for any inconvenience caused to him. If your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District in future, we hope that you would consider one of our other three bedroom cottages called Stag Cottage. Stag Cottage has a just one 6 inch step throughout the ground floor and is also step free at the entrance. We would be delighted to welcome you all for another visit and thank you again for choosing to come to Riverain for your holiday. With our best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoCh...
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great house to rent!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riverain. The house was immaculate; the welcome basket was great; the ambiance was excellent. We were a group of 3 couples and everyone agreed that this was a wonderful place to visit. We would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It felt like home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent stay at Riverain. We really appreciate your feedback and will pass your kind comments back to our housekeeping team.
We hope to welcome you back again should your travels bring you back to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevev
Canterbury, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable stay at Riverain”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in Riverain for a week in July/August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay,
We had a couple of niggles with the property that needed resolving however they were very quick to send someone round to rectify and kindly left us a bottle of champagne to make up for the issues they'd had to fix.
Location is excellent for visiting Ullswater and indeed all the other Lake District attractions plus Hadrians Wall and indeed Gretna Green is only about 35 minutes up the M6.
We ate in a number of local pubs and found them all to be very good, our favourites being the Sportsmans Inn in Troutbeck (a bit of an upmarket beefeater!) and the Cross Keys in Penrith, which whilst a little noisier did fantastic food.
We had a dog with us at Riverain and whilst at first I thought she would be able to wander out of the garden, this property actually had a sort of fosse around it about 4-5 feet high meaning our little Border Terrier couldn't jump down and leave the back garden. I imagine if you had a large dog you might want to look at properties with fencing around the garden.
All bedrooms of a high standard and plenty of supplies of essentials plus a very nice starter pack in a hamper on arrival!
As a group we went on the Ullswater steamer, spent an afternoon doing clay pigeon shooting, archery and rifles at Rookin House, walking at Aira Force, which is where they filmed a scene from the Kevin Costner Robin Hood film, went to Hadrian's Wall and Gretna Green, Hill Top (Beatrix Potter's house), Fountain's Abbey, Landrover experience off road driving and our daughter absolutely loved the Predator Experience where she did walking with wolves. Great accommodation and a brilliant stay in the lake District doing lots of things!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Hi thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your visit to Riverain. You all definitely saw lots of the local area & it is great to have your recommendations to share with other guests. We appreciate your comments regarding the "fosse" which is also sometimes known as a "ha ha" sunken wall around the garden of Riverain. We have this three bedroom cottage and its neighbour Wythburn which has a wooden fenced and sandstone walled garden so we can offer a couple of options for our guests depending on the size of their dog and its adventurous spirit! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for another visit if your travels bring you back to Cumbria & the Lake District. Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pd2016201...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect stay in a great location.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Riverain for three nights for my Daughters wedding at Blencowe Hall. The accommodation is first class, big and roomy, spotlessly clean and very well equipped with top quality fixtures and comfortable furnishings. Everything you could possibly need for a short or protracted stay. The extensive grounds are a perfect place to relax and enjoy the surrounding countryside locally and the house is very convenient for exploring the whole of the Lake District. We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riverain whilst celebrating your daughter's wedding at Blencowe Hall and were able to relax in the grounds. Thank you for your great comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team. We would be thrilled to welcome you back please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Densad92
Forster, Australia
2 reviews
“Accomodation of the highest order”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Riverain with another couple for three nights in June. We found the cottage a fantastic place as a base for exploring the Lake District. The attention to detail was superb and the welcoming hamper was very much appreciated. The cottage is set among rolling hills beside Blencowe Hall and the peace and quiet simply adds to the ambience of the whole experience. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and prior correspondence with them made for a smooth introduction to the cottage. There are a number of quaint country pubs nearby should you not wish to eat in every night. We cannot speak too highly of the quality of the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere in an idyllic setting
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your peaceful stay at Riverain. Thank you for all your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team and they are very useful for future guests thinking of staying with us. Please get in touch if you are planning any further trips to Cumbria & The Lake District as we would be thrilled to welcome you back. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing