We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ullswater Lake

Ullswater Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.18*
and up
Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day
Ranked #28 of 353 things to do in Lake District
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Next to this lake was a lovely river at Pooleybridge ,nice little village with plenty coffee shops sit in or take away one on the corner dogs welcome ,beautiful areas to sit and enjoy a meal at riverside.Plenty of nature trails for walkers and bicycles .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    49
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My favourite of all the lakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

In my opinion, Ullswater is by far the most beautiful of all the lakes. It's a lot quieter than Windermere, but still has enough going on to make it interesting. There are lots of lay-by's at the side of the road where you can stop and look at the stunning view. There's also a few tiny pebbley beaches, which would be amazing to set up a few chairs and just sit and take in the scenery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberleyxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning, very picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my husband and 3 month old baby whilst we were staying at Centre Parcs just down the road.
Extremely pleased we ventured out and stumbled across this place! We were lucky enough to have beautiful, sunny weather which made the scenery even more lovely!
There isn't much to do here, but there are some great views and a lovely pub (The Crown) whose food was great, reasonably priced and came extremely quickly! We sat outside in their seating area right by the water with the Swan's and across from the car park (which is cheap enough-couple of quid for a few hours)
There was also a tea room, gift shop and ice cream shop which I saw and the Steamer boats which we travelled on to Howtown.
We thought this place was a great find, with much better views than Windermere as it was quiet and not very busy.

Helpful?
1 Thank clairewyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful lakes in the Lake District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Even in winter this is a great place to walk or get the boat up the lake.Would rec getting boat to Howtown and walk back on path by lake or alt go up the fell for a more challenging walk.Can get very busy on bank hols and weekends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanlockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Ullswater is a huge lake but does not suffer the over commercialism that it's fellow bodies of water do. We had a great day around the lake. It's a peaceful spot with opportunity to see plenty of wildlife.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank andyandkaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ullswater Lake also viewed

Glenridding, Lake District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Been to Ullswater Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing