We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house and location”
Hause Hall is in the middle of the Lake District National Park and a short walk from Ullswater lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hause Hall is in the middle of the Lake District National Park and a short walk from Ullswater lake
The Day Room at Hause Hall Farmhouse overlooking the fells and opening onto the stone terrace Hause Hall Farm and the Cruik Barn surrounded by 20 acres of walled & gated gardens and fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Hause Hall is in the middle of the Lake District National Park and a short walk from Ullswater lake
The Day Room at Hause Hall Farmhouse overlooking the fells and opening onto the stone terrace
Hause Hall Farm and the Cruik Barn surrounded by 20 acres of walled & gated gardens and fields
The View from the top of the Hause overlooking the lake
A view from the terrace looking back over the farm house and the day room
The terraces at Hause Hall Farm with The Stables on the left and The Cruik Barn on the right
The Breakfasting kitchen
The Dining Area at Hause Hall Farm with an antique mahogony table and seating for 14
Hause Hall dining room
One of the three seating areas at Hause Hall Farm and the Cruik Barn with an open log burning fire
The Rampsgill Bedroom on the ground floor with an ensuite with a roll top bath and separate shower
The Rampsgill  Bedroom ensuite bathroom with a cast iron roll top bath and separate shower
The Master Bedroom at Hause Hall Farm House with a six foot bed, dressing room and ensuite bathroom
The Master Bedroom ensuite bathroom with a cast iron roll top bath and separate shower
The Martindale Room with a five foot antique bed which is ensuite with a shower room
The Martindale Room ensuite shower room
The Sandwick Room with a pair of antique 3 foot twin beds and a private bathroom across the corridor
The Bannerdale Room - ensuite bedroom that may be arranged as a king size six foot bed or two twins
The Bannerdale Room ensuite bathroom with a cast iron roll top bath set into the eaves & a shower
The terrace at Hause Hall with stunning views a great place to relax and enjoy
Looking toward Beda Fell from the terrace
The Cruik Barn and its private front terrace garden
The two bedroom Cruik Barn across the terrace from Hause Hall Farm
The Cruik Barn reception area with an open log burning fire
Cruik Barn breakfasting kitchen
the Breakfasting table in the Cruik Barn
The Beda Room ensuite bedroom in the Cruik Barn with a five foot antique bed
The ensuite shower room for the Beda Room in the Cruik Barn
The Boredale ensuite bedroom in the Cruik Barn, can be arranged as a six foot double or twins
The Boredale ensuite bathroom in the Cruik Barn with a cast iron bath and a shower over
Hause Hall Floor Plans, Access Statements are available  on our website The Rowley Estates
Cruik Barn Floor Plan, Access Statements are available  on our website The Rowley Estates
The Cruik Barn and its terraces with a view to the fells behind
View from the driveway
Ullswater, looking up towards Hallin Fell, Hause Hall is to the left hand side of the fell
Looking toward the lake from the valley
Ullswater in the early morning
A view of Ullswater on the approach to Hause Hall Farm along the East side of the lake
Hause Hall Farmstead with The Stables in the foreground and the farm house behind
Hause Hall Farm and its friendly neighbours
Hause Hall Farm and the valleys in the winter time
Our guests enjoy the two wood burning fireplaces in the farm house and the cruik barn in the winter!
A pleasent walk around Hallin Fell and down to the Lake
Martindale
Discover the market town of Penrith
Rheged - Lake Disrtict attraction for family activities, shopping, cinema and fresh food
Ullswater & Glenridding from Place Fell
Lowther Castle & Gardens, Penrith
Aira Force: a National Trust site
Pooley Bridge pier with The Lady Wakefield moored.
Herdwick sheep, hefted to the Lakeland fells and valleys
Autumnal colours in the valleys
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zimr0ads
Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house and location”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Our party of 14 stayed here in September 2016. This was the second time we had stayed there so we must have been happy! The house and accommodation were first class as were all equipment, utensils etc. What really stands out with this house though is the location. If you want accommodation for a large party of family or friends in the most peaceful and beautiful location then this is the place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Hi,
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review after your stay at Hause Hall Farm last September. We totally agree that one of the best things about Hause Hall Farm is the location - breathtaking views !
We are looking forward to welcoming you all back to Melmerby Hall this September !
Best wishes,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneybec...
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at Hause Hall & Cruik Barn for a family get together to celebrate my mother in laws birthday. We had previously walked around Hallin Fell and had come across this house and just stood and stared!!!! So we just had to book it and it exceeded our expectations by far. The house and barn were clean, well equipped and cosy warm throughout. The bedrooms are fantastic and with each having it's own bathroom was superb. The living areas are large and we spent the evenings in the day room playing games and we enjoyed cooking in the kitchen with the Aga and had plenty of storage and fridge space. Last but certainly not least the VIEWS .....my words cannot do them justice you will just have to see them for yourselves..... we will definitely return!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your mother in laws birthday celebrations at Hause Hall & Cruik Barn it sounds like you all had great fun. Thank you also for your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team and are very useful for anybody looking to stay in this beautiful location. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milleymoo
Preston, Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning location, wonderful home for the week”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had the most wonderful time at Hause Hall Farm for a new year break.Between the 15 of us we are well travelled and have high standards but we can honestly say that the house, barn and its surroundings were just perfect and went beyond our expectations. They have everything covered, even down to dog bowls!
It really is wonderful to stay in holiday accommodation where so much thought has clearly been put into everything you provided. The house is beautifully restored and large yet cosy. So much walking from the doorstep and within 20min drive for young and old alike. We plan to return and have shared our thoughts with friends and family, so much so friends have booked their stay already.
What a great portfolio you have and a fabulous customer focussed business you provide. We can not recommend Rowley Estates highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Hi, Happy New Year to you all and thank you for leaving this great review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your New Year break at Hause Hall & Cruik Barn and that it went beyond your expectations. Thank you also for all your wonderful comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team and are very useful for future guests wishing to stay in the local area. What can we say about your friends already booking on your recommendation!! We will be thrilled to welcome you back to The Rowley Estates for a future visit. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOT22
SUFFOLK ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegance and Charm in perfect balance”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

There cannot be a better place for a gathering of friends or family, The Hall and Barn have been beautifully renovated and much thought has been given to ensure that everything a large group may need is to hand. Each bedroom has it's own bathroom and there are plenty of chairs in the fantastic communal areas.
We used Lynn Hilditch Catering to cater for one of our evenings and we can also thoroughly reccomend her for delicious fresh cooked food, beautifully presented.
There are so many walks which start from the Hall or after a trip on the ferry at Howtown that you may find that you do not need to use the car for your whole visit.
We had our groceries delivered and found this an excellent way to stock the kitchen for our visit.
A very generous welcome pack is supplied and Jilly was at the end of the phone to answer any of my questions. There is no mobile phone connection but a landline telephone is supplied and the wi fi is good.
We fully intend to try out more of the Rowley Estate properties, they all look to be of the same high standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: There is nothing I did not like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed feedback regarding your recent break at Hause Hall Farm. It's really great that you have taken the time to write a review of your weekend stay. Lynn has also catered for us and it was fabulous !!!
We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of cottages again soon and please feel free to get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and the Lake District.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wow, what a fantastic location in Martindale. Twelve of us stayed at Hause Hall and Cruik Barn to celebrate my partner's 70th birthday. We couldn't of wished for a better location.
The property far exceeded our expectations and had been renovated to extremely high standards. The large farmhouse table was great for us all to be seated together and chat. The Sun room was an amazing place to look out of even on a rainy evening at the view! On the Saturday evening we had arranged to have a barbecue on the terrace and the sun shone the whole time, we couldn't of asked for more. Some of us got up early and went up Hallin Fell, what a breath taking experience. We also walked down to Howtown to catch the steamer to Pooley Bridge and Glenridding and enjoyed the spectacular views as we sailed on Ullswater. We also booked a meal at the Inn on the Lake at Glenridding to celebrate my partner's birthday/fathers day that was also a memorable occasion. We would like to thank you Christine, Charles and Jilly for a most wonderful stay that we all thoroughly enjoyed and will have to dream up some excuse to return for an even longer period.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your partner's 70th Birthday Celebrations at Hause Hall. It's great that you were able to get out and about in the local area and experience the steamers, local restaurants and the breath taking views. Your BBQ on the terrace sounds just perfect! Your kind comments are much appreciated by all of us as well as being very useful for future guests. We would be thrilled to welcome you back please get in touch next time you have an excuse!! Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mavis R
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great family weekend”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Celebrated both a 70th & 30th birthday.
Hired the Stables as well as the Hall & Barn, this gave us 2 extra well presented double en suite rooms and the dining table in the Hall has been extended to accommodate the extra people.
Bridges were still down but Christine gave us very precise directions to get there after leaving the M6 at Shap. If anything this journey was more scenic and enjoyable than leaving at Penrith. The weather was remarkably warm and stayed dry so we all got out during the day.
Wonderful weekend and all the family enjoyed themselves

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Hi thank you for taking the time to provide a review following your visit at Hause Hall Farm and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback regarding the alternative route to Hause Hall. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for a return visit sometime soon! With all our best wishes for your birthdays :) Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne W
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Hause Hall is positioned in the most beautiful surroundings and we all felt at home in the wonderful facilities. I arranged for Lynn Hilditch to cater for our Party Dinner on one of the evenings and it was excellent. The food, service and friendliness can not be faulted. A most enjoyable and memorable stay. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surroundings and property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hause Hall with it's 'beautiful surroundings' your comments are very much appreciated. I will make sure Lynn sees this review. We would love to be able to welcome you back to Hause Hall & the Cruik Barn. Please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing