We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home, truly excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Ranked #20 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Home from home, truly excellent!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at the Elterwater Park Country Guest House along with a group of fellow horse riders, and Neil and Lesley could not have been more welcoming. The rooms are excellent, nothing is too much trouble and the location is unsurpassed. Highly recommended, I will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was good to meet you all. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
109
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have stayed at Elterwater park a number of times and I am never disappointed, Neil and Lesley are excellent hosts and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive.
The rooms are spacious, clean and warm.
The location of the B&B is excellent and the views of the Langdale Pikes are amazing.
I can't recommend highly enough and will look forward to a number of visits next year :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments! It was was very good to have you and your party here. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I enjoyed a 3 day break with friends visiting Elterwater Park Country Guest House for the first time. We had such a warm welcome from Les and Neil and felt at home straight away. The setting is beautiful and in an extremely convenient situation for walking or visiting the local beauty spots. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and I would recommend a visit to anyone who would like to enjoy a peaceful break. Linda, Liverpool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous comments! We really enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location in the Lake District, made all the better by Neil & Lesley's great service...particularly welcoming for our 2 year old daughter - who loved feeding the chickens ! Room 8 was spacious enough for all 3 of us and had room to spare...

We would happily revisit again :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
It was our pleasure and it was great to see your daughter enjoying the hens . Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

As my wife and I were the first Guests' to be welcomed by Neil & Lesley 12 months ago we were more than keen to return again and see what changes they had made. Breakfast was a real treat Rachel my wife has always said I wish Guest Houses would offer an alternative to the traditional cooked English. ( Not that we do not like it) , but we also like FISH and we were not disappointed to find a specials board with the option of Peppered Mackerel and scrambled egg We stayed 8 nights Rachel had that option 3 times & I had it twice. Well done Neil & Lesley we did not complain before but you have added to the urge to return. This is a must for comfort, scenery and good hospitality.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good, but the converted barns etc are well worth the extra cost for space and convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

To celebrate Neil and Lesley's arrival a year ago, we had a champaign breakfast. A wonderful example of their welcome and care. They really do go the extra mile. We look forward to returning.
Read the other comments. We endorse them all.
David Trollope

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Leslie and Neil were the stars of the show on our weekend away. They were kind, warm and extremely hospitable - going the extra mile as standard. The location is breathtaking and perfect for a walking break as you can set off from the front door. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. All in all excellent value for money and a marvellous find! We hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Manager at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elterwater Park Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elterwater Park Country Guest House

Property: Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Address: Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elterwater Park Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Hotel Ambleside
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing