We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome awaits....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Ranked #23 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have just returned from my second visit to ECP and would like to say that it was as good as the first visit but cannot....... It was better!

There is a plaque in the dining room which says “May all who enter as guests leave as friends” a sentiment which Neil and Lesley seem to work by. They are without doubt very friendly hosts who run a warm and welcoming guest house providing great accommodation and food in a wonderful setting. In a world full of hustle and bustle they have created a peaceful and relaxing environment in which you can unwind in a fabulous location.

The Lake District is my favourite destination and after only two visits ECP has become my favourite place to stay. I can’t wait to go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your kind and generous comments. It means a lot to us to know that you have regard EWP a special place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very friendly hosts, great food and fantastic rooms. This was our second stay at Elterwater Park and it won't be our last. Its good for walkers, being right on the Cumbria way. Great for touring the Southern Lakes and beyond. Most of all, its a perfect spot for relaxing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

We are glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your helpful comments. looking forward to seeing you later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I registered to Tripadvisor just to spread the word about this snippet of paradise. We only stayed one night, but Lesley and Neil went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were delighted with the food, the location (right on the Cumbria Way), the atmosphere and above all: the hospitality. Rarely have I felt so lucky. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

We were very touched by your kind comments. We too feel this place is a little piece of paradise but to know that others also find it so gives us great pleasure! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I have stayed here afew times. Honestly, we cant imagine staying anywhere else when we visit the lakes. The building and views are so picturesque. Neill and Lesley are such lovely welcoming people, and make our stay so relaxing and comfortable. Its like staying with old friends or famiky members. Lovely place, cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

We were very pleased to receive such kind and encouraging words. No higher compliment could be paid so thank you both. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A wonderful place to stay,Lesley and Neil,their son,Jonathan and his fiancee,Carita, bent over backwards to make our family get -together a success.Their welcome,food and accommodation were superb, as was their attention to detail - we couldn't have stayed in a better place!The location and accommodation catered for everyone, even our dog!While all my family are great walkers,including the teenagers and my eighty-year old parents, I am not so mobile and found the environment a peaceful and relaxing place to be.Having access to the spa was a real treat.It had the best of both worlds, being situated right in the middle of the countyside but with a pub,the Talbot Inn, nearby serving excellent and freshly cooked food at a reasonable price and not far from Ambleside, for those who wanted an alternative to walking!I would thoroughly recommend Elterwater Park Country Guest house.THANK YOU

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megblack60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us between Christmas and New Year to celebrate your special family occassion! Thank you for your kind words! We all thoroughly enjoyed your visit and getting to know you all. We hope to welcome you again sometime in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I have been going to Elterwater Park Guest House with friends for a 3 night New Year break since it opened. It changed hands in 2012 when Neil and Lesley took over, they are a wonderful couple who make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food is fabulous and they make you feel very much at home. The location is absolutely fabulous and we love the peace and quiet. We are all looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your friends back again this New year! Thank you for your kind comments it means a lot to know that people have enjoyed themselves and felt relaxed and at home! We look forward to welcoming you again this New Year 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Elterwater Guest House. We all met as a family- three generations to celebrate my Mother's 80th birthday and it exceeded our expectations in every way. Neil and Lesley were very friendly, kind and accomodating and the accomodation was excellent. They prepared a wonderful meal for us and breakfasts were excellent. The area is perfect for walking and my Mother and sister took advantage of the nearby spa. Would definitely return as so relaxing and cosy. Thank you Neil and Lesley for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyandJohn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

It was a great pleasure having your family stay with us at Elterwater Park. We are glad you all had such a good time. Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#9 of 23 in Hawkshead
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,765 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elterwater Park Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elterwater Park Country Guest House

Address: Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £79 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elterwater Park Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Hotel Ambleside
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing