We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Ranked #21 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed one night at this wonderful place and will be back as soon as we can. The room was spacious, clean and inviting. The location is so peaceful with plenty of walks to venture on. Delicious breakfast too. When we arrived we were offered complimentary tea and cake. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we very much look forward to meeting you, as we were away when you stayed. It means a lot to know our guests enjoyed their time here at Elterwater Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Elterwater Park Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is one of those places, that charms you from the start. The brickwork of the house immediately makes you feel comfortable and want to just unwind at the garden with a book. After breakfast, you can just go for a nice walk in the country side, with the mountain right in front, and a handful of sheep/ram/cow to look at if your bored with the beautiful surrounding. It was slightly tucked away from the city center, so you hardly have the tourist traffic feel while staying here.

Neil and Lesley was away, and had their friend David and Joyce to help for the week- and they were spectacular. David had recommended a few places to visit in Lake District- and its was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twynk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We are so pleased that your experience and stay here was such a positive one. We will pass on your kind comments to our friends who were looking after here while we were at our son's wedding. Your comments paint a lovely picture of Elterwater Park. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed with Neil and Lesley for 6 nights, May 9-15, 2014. I was impressed by the attentiveness of the hosts, the beauty and peacefulness of the location, and easy access to walks and nearby villages.

The breakfasts and evening meals (on request) at the guest house were excellent and good value. There are also several places for meals within walking distance or short drives (e.g. Skelwith Bridge, Elterwater village, Little Langdale). So, there's plenty of choice and variety.

The local walks are very nice and the paths are well-maintained. The garden at the guest house is a pleasant place to sit and enjoy the view.

I would not hesitate to recommend Elterwater Park Country Guest House to friends and family as a perfect centre from which to explore this part of the Lake District.

Room Tip: I stayed in The Byre which has ensuite bathroom and additional lounge which can accommodate another...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your kind and positive comments about your stay at Elterwater Park. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we are very pleased you had such a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Neil and Lesley, and complimentary coffee in the garden after a long walk was most welcome. The bedroom was great, the breakfasts fantastic - Jill loved the mackerel! and the packed lunches meant we could get straight off on our walks. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your kind and generous comments. It was our pleasure and we are glad you had such a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have walked past this lovely place many times on one of our favourite walks from Colwith to Skelwith and have often commented it looks a nice place to stay. Finally acheived the ambition this Easter weekend and were in no way disappointed. Neil & Lesley made us very welcome, the rooms are just right and the views 2nd to none - thanks in part to the glorious easter weather for once. Breakfast delicious. A definite place to return to.

Room Tip: Lingmoor Room has a view of Lingmoor/Langdale Pikes, early morning with the sun rising this was so b...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizandSim0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Well we are very glad you did stay and that you enjoyed your time with us. People often pick up a leaflet on their walk through our farm yard and then come and stay. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stopped here for afternoon tea on Good Friday. The hotel is set in a delightful part of the Lake District and has a view of Elterwater (though not access to the water). The service was good and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the view and good weather. The building is 18th Century and looked very interesting and comfortable inside. I would recommend it. Wise to book. Parking in the grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your helpful comments which we hope may encourage walkers like yoursef to stop and have a cup of something and homemade cake. You are the first person to review our guest house tea room so thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

An excellent week of walking with a group of friends which was enhanced by the accommodation and hospitality received at this beautiful location. Lesley and Neil, our hosts, were a delight and nothing was too much trouble. They made us so welcome and we will certainly return at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your kind and generous comments regarding you stay with us. We really enjoyed having you all with us and it was our pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
385 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elterwater Park Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elterwater Park Country Guest House

Address: Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £80 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elterwater Park Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Hotel Ambleside
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing