We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Ranked #19 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time to the lakes and had an amazing time. The rooms were clean and homely with amazing views.

The location was ideal with Conniston and Windermere just round the corner.

Would highly recommend to anyone and very much looking forward to visiting next time!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are glad that your first visit to Elterwater Park was such a positive one. Thank you for your positive and helpful comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
102
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked all of rooms for our group and everyone enjoyed the location, the food and the hospitality. Lesley and Neil are the perfect hosts providing an excellent dinner on Saturday evening and well cooked breakfasts with eggs from the friendly hens. We were all looked after very well for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewan_croucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make such a positive comment about your stay. We really enjoyed having your group to stay and are grateful for such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Elterwater Park is one of the best B&B's in the Lakes. Situated on the Cumbrian Way. Super accommodation and superb breakfasts. Neil and Leslie are the perfect hosts. We have stayed a number of times and will be staying many times more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlo_ManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments we very much apprecite you taking the time to do this. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you keep coming back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here this weekend, and really enjoyed the location, the food and the warm welcome we were given. Neil and Lesley are very friendly and hospitable. Our room was big, clean and had everything we needed in it. The view from the dining room is spectacular!

Room Tip: The barn rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your kind and helpful comments. We are very pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed the location and accommodation. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baslow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed two nights and expectations were inline with what I had read. The room was spacious, cleaning and inviting. Food was excellent, I was made to feel very much at home and nothing was too much effort. Would be staying here again :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here just for one night, on the recommendation of several friends. On arrival, we received a guided tour of the lovely outbuildings, met the hens, and were taken to our lovely, airy room. The view from our window was spectacular! Then, we were treated to home-made scones and jam in the garden - Neil and Lesley had even arranged for the sun to shine for me! My friend and I had a little evening walk down to the 'private' lake before going into Ambleside for the evening. The bed was so comfortable, and the room beautifully quiet! At breakfast (for which there were some delicious choices!) our hosts came and chatted to us and the other residents. The whole place has such a friendly, homely feel and I will definitely be coming back - they even offer 'retreats', made to measure! Thank you so much, Neil and Lesley, for your lovely welcome!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to make comment about your stay here at Elterwater Park. We are always very happy when people have enjoyed their stay with us and a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights with a friend and my 9 month old daughter. The barn we stayed in completely exceeded our expectations, it was spacious with 2 bedrooms, a large porch and sitting area and was furnished beautifully. Neil and Lesley gave us such a warm welcome. After a 3.5 hour journey and sometime exploring my daughter was shattered so we had to head back to the barn and asked if it was possible to eat there. We were advised that 24 hours notice is normally required so that they can prepare which is fair enough but then Lesley bless her, remebering what its like to have young children managed to find something to feed us with and we were not at all disappointed when we were greeted with home made soup followed by a very tasty pizza, salad and potato wedges. Considering it was something she put together without noticed we were so impressed and very grateful. Breakfast was also lovely and we were made at home and both Neil and Lesley engaged with my daughter which was so nice to see. The house is set in the most amazing setting with vews going on for miles and plenty of walks directly from the house. Location wise your right next to lots of pretty villages. I will definately be visiting again. Lovely, genuine people, lovely house and barns and lovely setting!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley M, Owner at Elterwater Park Country Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We are so pleased that your stay with us was such a good one. We are very grateful for your kind and generous feedback and thank you for taking the time to do that. Your words are both encouraging and humbling. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elterwater Park Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elterwater Park Country Guest House

Property: Elterwater Park Country Guest House
Address: Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elterwater Park Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Hotel Ambleside
Elterwater Park Country Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing