We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break in Outstanding B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Hill Country House
Ranked #5 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wonderful break in Outstanding B&B”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in room 3, lovely room, well decorated with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in...had to force myself to leave!!

Travelling on my own, I found the owner's hospitality warm and inviting. Lovely chats over breakfast (but not too much). Lovely cooked breakfast and after a the second day I was asked if I want my 'usual'... Always nice to be taken notice of.

The owners made some fantastic recommendations for rainy day alternatives to walking outside which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Thanks so much for a fabulous break from the 'real world'.

Also... The rose water truffles are phenomenal!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marizel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
352
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked this as a surprise for my husband and so glad I did.We were on our first visit to the lake district and booked 4 nights at this lovely B&B . Patsy and Mike gave us a lovely warm welcome with tea and cake after a long drive. They have a great knowledge of the area and advised about walks and places to see which was brilliant .Having toured around the lake district we soon realized that we had chosen the best place to stay.Tucked away from the main,busy tourist areas it is still within easy reach of good lake walks and picturesque villages. Hawkshead has several pubs with good food if you want to eat close by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this friendly ,well run and very scenic B&B; we just wish we had longer.We will definitely be back. Brantwood (John Ruskin's Home) is well worth a visit with it's stunning lake views

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I took my wife here for a weekend get-away. Everything was so clean, beautifully detailed and a sheer pleasure. Patsy's welcome with tea and cakes was most welcome after a long motorcycle ride. Local knowledge was imparted and we had a couple of lovely nights out in Hawkwshead after a short walk across the fields.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have just had a wonderful weekend at the Summer Hill Country House helped no doubt by nice weather when the rest of the country was raining! Everything about the House was welcoming and lovely with nice touches such as hand made chocolates and biscuits! Patsy gave us plenty of tips on best places to eat, walks etc, and we came away with a couple of photos from her collection. We could have spent a fortune on photos and paintings that are displayed on the walls but Managed to restrain ourselves! We will be back if/when next I the area!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We returned to Summerhill to complete some family business in the Lake District and had another great stay at this friendly well run guest house.
The guest house is comfortable and tastefully decorated ,the owners are friendly and welcoming and importantly they are competent at what they do!
Good breakfast,nice rooms with great views .The guest house is in a fabulous location .
The nice touches are home made cake on arrival, home made chocolates,fruit and cookies in the room and original artwork on the walls .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaxley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have just returned from a lovely break in the Lake District, I stayed at Summer Hill and it is a great location to go off exploring, the hills, tourist places and easy to get to all places around the Lakes. The Luxury B&B is fabulous, lovely room, great bathroom in room 2, and homemade chocolates on your bed and homemade biscuits with your tea and coffee in your room, Loved the wi-fi around the House so you could research your next days adventures, and Patsy and Mike are very knowledgeable and able to offer locations and spots off the beaten track and you can affoid the crowds. Cooked breakfast to order each day is a real treat and fuels you up for the day ahead, loved the sausages :-))
A very special place and feels like home from home the minute to step over the front door.
I will certainly head for the hills, scenery and return to this Country House, I would recommend to others to book this accommodation, places book up fast, Pasty and Mike, Thnak You x

Room Tip: If you have the time, stay for more than one night, there is plenty to see and do in the area, I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozza-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were looking for something a bit special to celebrate a significant anniversary this week and this delightful place ticked all the boxes. The house was so typical of the lakes and the views were amazing. The rooms were tastefully decorated and had all amenities you needed for a perfect break including free wifi, ensuite, tea and coffee, along with special touches of home made chocolates and biscuits. We were greeted by Patsy and Mike the proprietors on arrival and served home made cakes and tea they were genuinely interested in us and our plans for our break and offered advice on the area where to eat and how to make the most of our stay avoiding some of the madness the popularity of the lakes creates. Food was amazing, cooked to perfection and mostly locally sourced , Mike too had funny anecdotes and tales whilst serving us all at breakfast. We had a fabulous break and have come home truly relaxed and would recommend this charming country house and it's wonderful surroundings and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenkirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,200 reviews
4.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
1,131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill Country House

Property: Summer Hill Country House
Address: Hawkshead Hill, Ambleside LA22 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Hill Country House is situated between the popular and picturesque villages of Hawkshead and Coniston.The house dating back to the 1700's has been refurbished to a very high standard bringing together the traditional features of a large Lakeland residence with contemporary guest accommodation.The house overlooks the tiny hamlet of Hawkshead Hill and the south facing rooms look out on the surrounding fells. The renowned beauty spot of Tarn Hows is within easy walking distance.Summer Hill is an excellent base from which to explore the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District. You can leave your car in our car park if you wish, and after breakfast, served in in our dining room with its feature fireplace, set off to enjoy the area on foot.Return and relax in the guest lounge or enjoy a well-deserved soak in the four-poster spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Summer Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hill Country House Hotel Ambleside
Summer Hill Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing