We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Hill Country House
Ranked #4 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful B & B”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for one night on the 20th of May. Patsy and Mike are very friendly and provided tea and cake when we arrived. They were very helpful in providing information regarding the area. Very peaceful setting with nice views of the countryside. Our rooms were comfortable and breakfast was very nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RMF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKE D, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We have enjoyed welcoming many visitors from 'Oz'. (We've even got some Vegimite in, just in case.) We are glad that we were able to meet your needs even though it was a short stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
343
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Drunen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our stay on Summer Hill was again excellent. A very friendly welcome from Mike and Patsy. Clean rooms and a very good breakfast. There is a beautiful garden. we sit there in the evening. Very quiet and very nice views. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonkdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKE D, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
It is always nice to see guests who we can count as friends.It was good to meet up with you again and we look forward to further visits by you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at Summerhill in June. Great location away from the crowds, perfectly comfortable room and tasty breakfast. However what sets Summerhill apart is Patsy and Mike -perfect hosts starting with the tea and cake on arrival, the homemade chocolates everyday, right through to the wealth of useful information about local walks and attractions. Helpful and friendly, with a passion for the area, they see it as their personal mission to make sure guests enjoy their stay. Thank You!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKE D, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks Paul, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and are really pleased that you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Really enjoyed our three night stay at summer hill house. Very welcoming, very comfortable and in a beautiful place.
Tea/coffee and cakes on arrival was a nice welcome. The garden and grounds are wonderfully tranquil. Only a short walk from Tarn Howes and walkable to Hawkshead and Outgate for evening meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publicanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKE D, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are very happy that you were able to unwind and have a good break. Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were made most welcome on arrival with tea and delicious cake. The B&B is in a lovely location and our room at the front had wonderful views of the countryside. The B&B is ideally situated for walking and the owners were very helpful offering advice on the area and lending us a map. The breakfast is excellent made with good local produce. Each day the owners left a home made chocolate which was most enjoyable. We had a day of walking in torrential rain and the owners were very helpful offering a drying service for our clothes and boots.

Room Tip: Room 4 is to be recommended for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKE D, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We're glad that your stay was pleasant enough to offset the infamous Lake District weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our stay at Summer Hill marked a return to the Lake District after too many years. We were so glad we found this lovely house near to places we knew from our previous visits, Hawkshead and Sawrey. Lovely,comfortable room with stunning views. Great attention to detail and very attentive hosts. Extremely useful information about places to go and particularly about a garden which we would never have found by ourselves. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Have no hesitation in recommending to others. If you are reading this and deciding where to stay - decide no longer. Book your break now!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springfield52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikepatsy2a, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We are really pleased that we were able to make your revisiting the Lakes such a positive experience. Thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Summer HIll in May and from the minute we arrived we were greeted with wonderful hospitality. We were given tea and great cakes. Patsy and Mike were so fun and down to earth. My husband and I travelled with my father and step-mom. We were all rather jet lagged the first few days and had several "special requests" (aka the egg thing hahahah) but Mike and Patsy dealt with us so kindly through it all. Summer Hill was the first place we stayed at the beginning of our long journey across England and we couldn't have asked for a better place to begin. The house is lovely and the area is breath-taking. You must take the walk to Tarn Hows. It is wonderful! Patsy is quite the multi- talented lady. She makes yummy truffles which she puts in your room every day ( I can not think of a better way to win a person's appreciation) and you can purchase them. They are so delicious! She is also an artist and photographer. She told me about a great place to get photos of the blue bells. My husband and I took the walk to see them (near Beatrix Potter's house) And it was other worldly. Like we stepped through a portal to Narnia! Still one of the highlight moments for me from the trip. Ask her about the Kirkstone Pass Inn; the pub with the amazing food and view. Mike and Patsy are very helpful and a wealth of knowledge. We loved all the jocular moments with Mike, the time they took just chatting with us and all the little thoughtful details they add to make your stay so nice. Thanks again, guys you are great!
~Natalie

Room Tip: We had a a great room with a lovely view. I can't remember the room number but it was the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieKay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikepatsy2a, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
It was our pleasure to help you get the most out of your visit. We appreciate how confusing it can be when you fly in from abroad, are somewhat jet lagged, and have a finite amount of time in which to see the area. We are glad that we could help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
3.8 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crow How Country Guest House
Crow How Country Guest House
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill Country House

Property: Summer Hill Country House
Address: Hawkshead Hill, Ambleside LA22 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Hill Country House is situated between the popular and picturesque villages of Hawkshead and Coniston.The house dating back to the 1700's has been refurbished to a very high standard bringing together the traditional features of a large Lakeland residence with contemporary guest accommodation.The house overlooks the tiny hamlet of Hawkshead Hill and the south facing rooms look out on the surrounding fells. The renowned beauty spot of Tarn Hows is within easy walking distance.Summer Hill is an excellent base from which to explore the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District. You can leave your car in our car park if you wish, and after breakfast, served in in our dining room with its feature fireplace, set off to enjoy the area on foot.Return and relax in the guest lounge or enjoy a well-deserved soak in the four-poster spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Summer Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hill Country House Hotel Ambleside
Summer Hill Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing