We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to red lion”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #50 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional Lakeland pub and B & B in the prettiest village in the Lake District providing a warm welcome, clean & comfortable accomodation and good, local food, honestly priced.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Visit to red lion”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excellent food all round, worth a visit, the starter of mini ribs is really worth ordering, one of the best we have ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheshiretravel0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great bar man”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived on a very busy saturday night and they had run out of nearly all the specials. There isn't a huge range of beers and by Wednesday when we went back they had run out of all the ales so had to resort to drinking Fosters! However the big selling point for this pub is the young bar man who apart from being good at his job was funny, informative and actually worth just going to this pub to chat with him. There were only a few of us in the bar but he got everyone chatting and was doing his best to sell tickets for the "ladies pamper evening". The fact that we bumped into him at another of the pubs on his evening off was funny but i guess in such a small place your options are limited. Food was excellent but just let down on the ale choices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monkey_Harris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hospitality, What is it?”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We walked the bar area, which was'nt busy, and were ignored asked for a table, "any table" and then asked for a menu
"the menu are at the end of the bar", what a lazy.......................

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00_Ang_809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect lake district retreat”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we were lucky to get two rooms on new years eve after bitter disappointment at a previous hotel, on arrival the bar was warm and friendly with the fire going and a good few people already relaxing, we were greeted and shown to our rooms which were exactly what you should expect in a country in, rustic but comfy, its not tatty or scruffy its an inn from the 15th century it has character and the bed is the best bed i have ever slept in. i love it here, have stayed many times before but over the last few years opted to stay at bigger hotels with pools etc, never again if i want to get away the red lion will be our destination in the lakes . Also would like to add the owners and staff are the nicest people i have ever met, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast is amazing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmytally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice dog friendly pub”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Nipped in here for a quick pint a few nights.
It was quiet but the staff were really nice and friendly.

Nice & cosy Sat next to the open fire

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanneLeighton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion Inn also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing