We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Elder Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elder Grove
Ranked #29 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Elder Grove is a clean and modern furnished B&B with excelent breakfast menu beauifully cooked to your liking (try the scambled eggs1) Paul makes a lot of the produce himself to a high standard.
The friendly welcome is matched by the little added extra;s thst are available i.e maps,rucksack's and flasks to acompany the lovely packed lunches.
Vicky and Paul are environmentally aware and recycle where posssible.
Elder Grove has a quiet lounge along with a well stocked Bar which is nice for a night cap Steve only negative though on the place was that he wished they stocked a Jennings real ale instead of Jenning Cream!.
Elder Grove has a lot of nice touches in the room such as tea and coffee etc, and lovely bath and shower products in the en-suite.
Both Vicky and Paul are very knowledgable and helpful re places to go and walks etc.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-5 very spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190802Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

The couple who run this B&B work very hard and it certainly shows! The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. There was lots of helpful info about the area provided in the communal lounge and bar along with home made cakes available to purchase. The bedroom was clean and comfortable with good facilities. Lots of space and storage for all our walking kit! My only negative would be that the chest of drawers had a dodgy drawer in it. It is pretty much located in the centre of Ambleside (but still has parking) so great for walking to lots of shops and restaurants. The down side of this was that our bedroom overlooked a road which could get quite noisy from the traffic. As a base for exploring the lakes it was perfect, start the day with a hearty breakfast, buy a sandwich from one of the many bakeries down the road and then off you go!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The owners are very friendly and made us feel welcome straight away. The rooms were very nice; all facilities you would expect, spacious, and good bathroom with lovely toiletries. Excellent breakfast and lots of local produce. Good parking facilities on site and very near restaurants and pubs. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Fantastic location for walking and exploring the Lake District.
5 min walk into Ambleside town centre where there are loads of really good restaurants.
10 min walk from Lake Windemere.
Top breakfast and excellent walking snacks available as well.

Owners are very friendly with loads of information and tips for good walks, loads of maps to borrow... brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_UKCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Elder Grove is friendly, comfortable and of excellent quality. Vicki and Paul, the owners, provide for everything one needs.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We've just arrived back from a three night stay at Elder Grove in Ambleside. I would highly recommend it. The rooms are comfortable, breakfast is fabulous and the owners are lovely -extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed over the Easter break and I had my young daughter with me. She was thrilled to wake up to find an easter egg thoughtfully placed by the owners at her place at breakfast, and we also enjoyed the games in the bar area. The location is great - a short walk to the lke and a very short stroll to the town centre. Lots of helpful advice about getting around the lakes, restaurants and things to do. We'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offwegoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Comfortable and friendly B&B in an ideal location. We had a room on the top floor with a fantastic view overlooking Loughrigg fell. Room was clean and comfortable. We were looked after extremely well, nothing was too much trouble and they do seem to have thought of everything that guests might need. To cap it all the weather was also fantastic- they really did think of everything!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babs070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#18 of 103 in Ambleside
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#31 of 103 in Ambleside
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder Grove

Address: Elder Grove Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £89 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elder Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elder Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder Grove Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing